We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Waikoloa
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
72
49
50
27
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
72
49
50
27
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews power outlets hgvc members hilton grand vacations huge complex boat ride local fish your luggage burger and fries coffee machine parking fee beautiful resort front office beautiful room our night stay hilton village two double beds island gourmet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Hank Davis had great suggestions. We were able to see all the sites and enjoy several local places too. His short cuts saved us valuable time to see more and do more! I would love to come back with more friends.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank 270jeanneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The first night had loud music outside our window.
We moved rooms to a quieter room but it smelled.
They sold us a "family trip" at a great deal and then later told us that each child over eighteen was $50 each, amounting to $100 per night!

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank BoardingPass240421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGrandVacations, Resort Director at Ocean Tower By Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I apologize for any inconveniences you experienced while you were here. We will definitely work to improve in these areas and ensure any pricing concerns are reassessed appropriately.

Wilbert Lee
Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020

$40 daily resort fee is total rip off. Offered local phone. Who needs that. WiFi service is poor and classes are not what I am interested in. Boats don’t run or only one so wait can be 45 minutes. Cost of food and drinks is outrageous.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
2  Thank rickp863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGrandVacations, Resort Director at Ocean Tower By Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear much of what we offer at our property did not meet your expectations. We are in the process of renovating our tower, hopefully you will return and have a much more positive experience.

Wilbert Lee
Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020

Firstly, let me get the good out the way. The location and the resort setting is beautiful. Now that’s done...
The Bad - This resort is pretty much exactly as has been reviewed. We stayed in the Ocean Tower. The rooms are very dated, it smelled very damp and whilst big the layout was odd. For such a large room the bathroom is tiny. The bed wasn’t very comfy but that’s always personal preference I think.
The view from the room was great but directly outside every room door is some trees with some wonderful but INCREDIBLY loud birds. It’s a nice experience once but waking up to that daily isn’t enjoyable.

The parking is VERY expensive and far from the ocean tower. We don’t mind walking at all but this is a long walk. You can take the train but the timings of these varies throughout the day/night.

The food isn’t great and incredibly expensive. Drinks choice is good but again expensive. Charging $40 per person for breakfast Per day is just absurd!

We asked for a microwave one day (As this was quoted as being in room already) and were quoted $30 for this service. Which honestly is just odd. I’ve never had that before.

We asked about why everything costs so much (on more than one occasion) and the response back from staff was always “because they can”. This was just a major turn off for us. It felt less like a vacation and more like a constant drain.

Would defiantly not recommend this resort to anyone as timeshare owners or just on vacation. Such a shame, it could be amazing given the location and amenities.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
1  Thank Itislizard146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGrandVacations, Resort Director at Ocean Tower By Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for reviewing our property. I apologize for the shortfalls you mentioned. We will be sure to share your comments with the appropriate managers. We are in the process of a major renovation over the next few years which will definitely enhance the already great views from many of our rooms. We hope you might return to experience these changes.

Wilbert Lee
Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020

The staff was very helpful and friendly, but the sofa bed was extremely uncomfortable and no one could sleep on it. If you like to go out of the resort and see the island, plan on long trip to the parking lot to get to your car. The beach at the hotel is less than average, but there are great beaches nearby, but you have to drive to get to them.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank monibridger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGrandVacations, Resort Director at Ocean Tower By Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and helpful suggestions. I apologize for the uncomfortable sofa bed, we will work on changing these out as the process of our tower renovation moves forward. It is great to see you enjoyed our services and cleanliness. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Wilbert Lee
Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews