We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,387)
Filter reviews
2,387 results
Traveler rating
1,552
586
165
51
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,552
586
165
51
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsserenity poolgolf coursefull kitchenwater slidesbedroom suiteadult pooltime sharestayed in buildingwasher and dryermain poolwild goatswaikoloa villagepool areamaster baththe main hotelshuttle servicegrand vacation
Filter
Updating list...
1,992 - 1,997 of 2,387 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2011

This is a perfect place to stay with a family - the units are well-appointed and comfortable. We stayed in one that had recently opened, so we must have been among the first to stay in the building, (I believe Building #9). It was peaceful, and we loved having our morning coffee on the lanai, overlooking the golf course where wild goats would roam, while Mauna Kea loomed in the background. That said, after about day 3 or 4, we wished for a view of the ocean...Amenities are spectacular at Kings Land: for one, the free-form pool complete with grottos, waterfalls, volleyball, a kids' area and an adult-only area - it was spectacular. But note, if you like beaches, you won't get one at Kings Land. We drove up to Hapuna Beach, a public beach about 25 minutes north.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2trvl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Kings Land accommodation was impressive. It was also incredibly quiet - just what we needed for our first week of vacation. The location is away from the hub of Waikoloa beach resort area so plan ahead, restaurants are not within walking distance and not a lot of choice. Our 1 bedroom unit (#9205) had an amazing kitchen - that said, when the kitchen is this nice, its expected you'll be cooking. Also very nice BBQ areas between each building. Go to Costco and Safeway in Kona stock up on the essentials for the week. Also go to the farmers market in Kona to get fresh fruit and vegetables. There is a small grocery store in Waikoloa, but prices are higer and less selction. The resort is very spread out so you will be walking a distance to the Club House/Pool area.
The pool area was wonderful. Occupancy was only about 50% so we often shared the adult pool late in the day with 1 or 2 other couples-we each had our own hot tubs. Children's area is near by, but layout is such that you don't hear or see kids playing. Daytime was more busy but still very enjoyable. We took advantage of the shuttle and went to the H-Waikoloa Beach Resort - a must see spectacle! Take the canal boat ride to see the resort from end to end. We spent the day at their huge super pool next to the ocean but found it very busy and noisey - a large contrast from the quiet relaxation at Kings Land.
We usually stay in Kona but had a mix up in our reservations and booked Kings Land last minute - what a find! We go to the Big Island for a week, then shopping in Honolulu for a week. Next year we plan to stay more days at Kings Land.
Plan ahead and know that this is not a busy hyped-up resort and is a little off the beaten path. It has all the amenities of a big resort but is truly a relaxing retreat.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hopero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We were extremely pleased with our one week trade at HGVC Kings Land in early Dec, 2010. We are very picky about our trade properties, and Kings Land did not disappoint. We were in building one, second of three floors. The condo was very clean and modern. Very nice artwork throughout. Hardwood floors in kitchen area. Granite, etc in kitchen and bathrooms. Comfortable furniture and bedding. Master bath was huge and guest bath was also large. A/C worked without a problem. Our unit was also very quiet, either due to excellent construction, or the fact that early Dec is not a busy time in Hawaii. Maid service only comes once during the week, but we did not view that as an issue. As an fyi, there are no ocean views, as the property is probably about a mile inland. So most views are golf course views from the condo. As a guest at HGVC, you have access to all the facilities at the Hilton Waikoloa Village about a mile away. So you can go there for the day, use their pools, beach area, watch the dolphins, etc. and no charge for parking. The pool area at HGVC is beautiful, and there is a large separate adult pool which again was very nice and quiet for relaxing and reading. Also a nice hot tub at the adult pool area. There is a nice bar and deli area in the center of the pool complex, open air, with 4 big screen tvs. Service at the front desk, bar, deli, pool towel room, etc was excellent. Also a small work out room. There are plenty of nice restaurants within two miles of the resort, some moderately priced, some expensive. We had meals at the golf course grill, Buzz's, Merriman's, and an outdoor beach grill at the Fairmont about 4 miles up the road. All were excellent. Plenty to choose from. Overall we would give an A+ to this resort and would look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bg66delt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Just for the record, we the other HGVC properties we have stayed at (and are comparing elements to are: Las Vegas, Orlando & Marco Island).
Here at King's Land, we had a one bedroom premium suite with king bed, amazing washroom and wonderful living space.

Room: 5205, building 5

We learned that buildings 8 - 11 were built in July 2010 so you may want to request those as they may be newer. We found out the main difference between the plus & premier rooms is that the plus has a jetted tub, higher ceiling and water spout inside the fridge for filtered water.

Here's a review of our room:

Bed: fabulous Hilton quality
ihome: for your iPod as the alarm clock
Tv: amazing HD box with hundreds of channels, full DVD & stereo set up - we popped a USB stick of mp3s and played it thru that system - awesome.
Bathroom: awesome new separate tub, great spacious shower for 2 without a door bur the water doesn't go on the floor and stays in the shower.
Toilet is behind separate glass wall- very nice. Bathroom total sq ft is about 200.

Kitchen: fabulous new amenities with everything you could need - even Tupperware. Only thing we were missing was BBQ utensils for the BBQS outside.

Laundry was stacked and worked great and it was nice having a storage closet.

Facilities:

Computer room: one computer & a printer, which is all you need - free printing.

Gym: pretty good- precor card equipment; 5 treadmills, 4 elipticals, 1 stepper - all had built in TVs, free headphones. Large weight set with good range of sizes, and a stretching seat.
Wonderful view of pool while working out.
Gym bathrooms: amazing! (see pic) Showers with free body wash, soft towels and lockers - ideally the type of washroom you want to use after checking out and spending a day at pool before you fly home.

Pool: wow - it was the best pool in Waikoloa village and we tried 5 of them. Don't waste time swimming at the Hilton hotel or the other HGVC down the road and just stick here. The adult pool was quiet and peaceful and if you want even more peace try the serenity pool between building 3 & 4.
Waterslides are great - even fast for us adults!
Hot tubs: there's about 4 of them - all nice
Pool staff: fabulous service - needed help finding a plug at the pool to use laptop while suntanning and they helped search one down, brought umbrellas over and they were very pleasant each morning no matter which employee was working - they got to know us by name.

Great hall: movies play in this room every Monday night, also makes for nice meeting place.

Front desk staff: wow - highest service at a Hilton we have ever experienced.
They were fabulous upon check in - the bell desk guy greeted us and once we mentioned our last name he said you must be Steve & Rachel. Sure he had a cheat sheet, but nice touch, then the front desk girls were wonderful. They even scanned a doc for me at no charge and emailed it me. Most hotels would charge.

Luggage storage: free and as a bonus there was a walk in fridge to store perishable items for the day from your unit.

Timeshare presentation: very well informed salesman, no pressure and educational. However salesman was obviously biting his lip once we declined. FYI: buy all timeshares resale to save about 70% of your money.

Restaurants in Queens Marketplace:
Food court was a fabulous affordable option and pleasantly surprised subway had the usual $5 footlong special - no upcharging over here.
Dairy queen was there. The non-brand name options ( Thai, noodle house) were priced high for a food court.

Charley's Thai: Bring your own booze - they don't serve any. Dishes are great at an average price.

Macaroni: comparable to Alice Fazooli's in Canada - average Italian food.

Abc island market - only grocery store for miles yet good value on some items by the time you get in your car and pay for gas. Ground beef was $3.99/lb and ahi tuna was $28/lb to give you an idea of prices. Wine was expensive for some brands, yet alcohol was averagely priced. Vegetables were overpriced but all and all it's not a bad option to grab last minute needed options. Best to buy things in Kona at Costco/ Safeway before you come.

Location: 15 minute drive to the best Beaches on the Island, Hapuna, Mauna Kea & my new fav, 69 Beach off Puako Road.

LOVED the whole place and we'll definitely return soon!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Ringettechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

This was our favorite place to stay on our honeymoon. We stayed in the deluxe 2-bedroom suite and it was amazing. The bathtub in the master bath was fit for a queen. You could comfortably fit 4-6 people in this unit.
The pool was beautiful with many waterfalls, waterslides and small pools to escape to. We stayed here mid-week and it was very quiet. The food was delicious but a tad on the expensive side. But fortunately the unit had a full-size fridge and kitchen so we were able to stock up at the market. The fitness center was state-of-the-art... but we were honeymooning to the fullest extent so we did NOT use it at all.
We will definitely refer anyone to this hotel and we will be back soon!

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
3  Thank hilarybecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews