We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
New Milford, United States
1 review
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

If you prefer quiet and you want to avoid crowds, you will prefer King's Land over the other local big resorts. This resort has pools with slides and a pool-side bar like the big resorts but without the Vegas style glitz and crowds. The room was a single bedroom with a king size bed and a living room with a pullout couch, tv and playstation 3 (I think since I didn't use it). There was a full size well equiped kitchen and full size refrigerator. There is a near by grocery store in the queens marketplace to stock your fridge. Our room looked out over the golf course.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Devon Kristophe... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,184
    424
    118
    37
    24
See reviews for
1,010
549
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
san jose, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I have stayed at many resorts, and by far this blew all of them away. The service, staff, housekeeping were above and beyond friendly and humble. Reservations for dinner they took care of, car service they took care of, bar service fast and speedy, hospitality of all staff members were excellent. Very attentive in asking if we need anything. Pool staff were fast getting drinks and food to us. Bar staff were so talkative and friendly. check in was only 2 mins, and they gave me an upgrade for free because the room i paid for wasnt ready. House keeping staff very attentive in all areas. Highly recommend this resort and am planning on staying here again next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank Keoni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Wife and I stayed here for a week after the holidays. New 2 bedroom unit (our building opened 2012) with full kitchen, nice lanai, large flat screen in both bedrooms and living room. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bar/restaurant a little crowded during playoff games that weekend, but food quality was good and fair prices for Hawaii. If you want to cook in your condo, bring salt and pepper and any spices you'll need. Also coffee filters. Overall, first class facility in a nice resort setting with upscale shopping and restaurants and beach access a 5 minute drive away.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank tbrandt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Everything about the Kingsland is great, but....you cannot turn the air conditioning below 68 degrees. Also the a/c turns off when nobody is in the room during the day. We like to sleep in a room at about 65 degrees. It made it difficult for us to get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I went with my wife in October 2013, as she always wanted to go to the Hawaii islands. The general experience was TOP. We arrived late that night, which cause us a little stress to reach the lobby area as the the road once you get into the complex is kind of dark, and the GPS did not have updated details of the roads.

Once we got there we were received by friendly staff who gave us the general information about the resort. I must say that the lobby area was very nice, and at the same time matching what you would expect from a beach resort.

The room was very nice, with separate bedroom from the kitchen and hall. The kitchen, by the way, was in excellent condition, although it lacked an oven (which made us return a frozen pizza that we bought in a convenience store, located less than two miles away, with everything you may need).

Room Tip: Breakfast area is full of birds trying to get your food. Better take it to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar Rojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

I read at least 40 reviews before making reservations and it paid off. We were at the HGVC as a time share promotion for 6 nights. I'm recommending the "older" apartments (6 years old) and specifically building #5, third floor because it's very close to all the pools, faces the golf course, workout facility and outside bar/restaurant, and has a gas grill. (In time share lingo the 3rd floor at this property is the most expensive and takes more points if you're an owner.) If you have small children you might prefer the 1st floor BUT there are bands of ferral cats (4-6) that roam the property and are cared for by a local organization). These older apartments are beautifully referbished with full kitchens plus a one bedoom is approx 900 sq ft. versus approx 500+ in new buidlings 21 & 22 (2-3 years old) that are across the street from all the services, back up to a wasteland of lava rock and DON'T have stoves in the one bedrooms. (If you buy a time share, bldgs 21 & 22 appear to be the least expensive). I was insistant on the "older" building we stayed in based on other travelers reviews. They originally placed us in bldg. 21 where they are trying to sell more time shares.
Use your Hilton pass given at time of check in to park free at the hotel towers and charge to your account throughout the Hilton property. If you're driving stop at the valet as you leave the hotel for a free parking pass or it's $17/day.
To fully enjoy your stay on the island, a rental car is a must. If not part of your package, get a Dollar Rental Car at the Kona airport. Apparently the best deal. The Hilton free shuttles are easy enough to get around and follow an every 30 minute pick-up from various Kings' Land buildings to every place on the 65 acre property. You can take a "boat" after 2 p.m. that runs throughout the property but we didn't. There was sufficient parking wherever we went so driving/parking was never a problem.
The various swimming pools at Kings' Land were very nice and never crowded. The adult only serenity pool is a good place to chill out. Swimming at the lagoon (hotel towers) was great fun and full of beautiful tropical fish and several large turtles that may come up to you if you're snorkeling. There is a small beach at the lagoon and we managed to find 3 chairs together (we're a couple traveling w/adult daughter) no matter what time we arrived. If you want a "free" umbrella I'm guessing you have to get there very early in the a.m. You can rent ($50/day) two chairs with a cabanna and they were always available. You can rent all sorts of water sports equipment at the lagoon. Snorkel equipment is $60/week at the lagoon or pay $25/week at the Queens shopping center snorkel shop. The lagoon is a perfect day for families or couples. (I spent 4 days on the Great Barrier Reef a year ago so I know what great fun looks like in the water). I was saddened and outragged to see 13 dolphins crowded in a fairly shallow small area ajacent to the lagoon so people could pay to take pictures with the animals. Quite a few people we met commented on how awful this was. ... (I plan to take this issue further).
If you're cooking in an apartment the best place to shop for groceries is Costco approx 4 miles south of the airport. (Kings' Land is approx 19 miles north from the airport). There's also a large Safeway slightly closer south of the airport and open 24 hours a day. (Safeway prices are high but better than the Hilton property). Both are tucked away off the main road so ask for directions or use a GPS.
As you would expect, Hilton restaurants are pricey. (read other reviews for details). We ate at Roy's at the King center. Five star prices with 3.5-4.0 star quality. It was satisfactory but nothing special. (To be fair I live in L.A. near the beach). For good music, tasty food, reasonable prices, terrific service, full bar, right on the water, a place to swim in the ocean or just lounge around with your feet in the sand, go to Lava Lava Beach Club. More geared for adults than families with young children. Shorts, jeans... whatever you like to wear works. It's around the cove from the backside of the Marriott and you'll find a sign across the street from the King shopping center.
We had a really good time at HGVC and could have used another 2 days.

Room Tip: Insist on the "older" buildings facing the golf course. I don't recommend the hotel t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. Initially we had 5 nights reservation at the Hilton Waikaloa Village but had to cancel that and book 2 nights near volcano and 3 nights at the Kingsland. I am very glad we did that. Absolutely loved the property. Great amenities, fully equipped kitchen, fantastic restroom and most importantly very good privacy. Parking is free and you get to park right in front of your suite! Being guests here you get to use all amenities at the Hilton Waikaloa Village also along with free parking. If you have kids but don't want to stay in a small room then I would definitely choose Kingsland. You will have full kitchen no matter which suite you book and washer/dryer. Also you get to rent new movies for free. There is game room as well. You will not regret staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
5.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
21.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
6.1 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
1.4 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations

Property: Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Address: 69-699 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5712
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations resort is a stunning hotel on the Big Island of Hawaii in the heart of Waikoloa. Reminiscent of a lush, Hawaiian plantation and nestled among championship golf courses and the beauty and serenity of the Kohala Coast. Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations hotel provides the perfect setting for your vacation in the South Pacific. Treat yourself to spectacular hotel accommodations with spacious one and two bedroom suites incorporating a casually elegant tropical style and featuring a superb variety of upscale amenities and furnishings. The suites offer all of the convenience of home including separate living and dining areas with wood-style flooring, a fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer and granite counter tops throughout. Enjoy flat-screen HD TVs, an enhanced entertainment sound system, and Wi-Fi. The master bedroom has a king bed, while the master bath has a luxurious sculptured tub and shower. Step out onto your own private lanai equipped with comfortable sofas and chairs, and enjoy the serene surroundings and tropical breezes of Waikoloa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings` Land By Hilton Grand Vacations Club Hotel Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing