We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great relaxing family vacation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great relaxing family vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Beautiful property! We (2 adults+2 kids) stayed in a 1 bedroom, ground floor, end unit on the 8th fairway of the Kings Golf course. Checking in, the lobby is beautiful, people friendly. 2 free DVD rentals/night. PSP to play them in the room. The room was large and gorgeous, especially the kitchen! Full fridge with ice maker! Kitchen was well equipped with cookware, dishes, utensils, etc, but you will need to bring/buy salt/pepper/spices and such. Tea not provided. Coffee provided, but wasn't good. If you are a coffee drinker, you can get great Kona coffee at the Island Gourmet(an ABC Store) at Queen's Market or there is a market at Kings Shops. Target just before Kailua-Kona sells coffee too-Toasted Coconut coffee in the morning on the lanai-yum! The only fault was that there was no microwave in our unit. I think there was supposed to be one. We hit Costco and cooked many of our meals. Room was cleaned once/week. Big bathroom w/shower only. King sofa bed was awesome for the kids, king bed for us. 2 salt water pools-big one at main building and smaller one by building 3. No floatation toys allowed for our toddler unless it was a life saving device. Concierge Greg was very helpful and gave us a list of great restaurants, activities, etc. which we tried and were very pleased. Had full access to Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel amenities (free parking) and discounts on Waikoloa golf courses. Free wifi too! Cats visited us on our lanai. Mongoose were seen around the property and herd of goats on the golf course! We saw about 20 of them! There is a kids club and games room and other activities. No babysitting offered by the resort, but they gave us a pamphlet for babysitting service. We didn't want to leave. It was sunny the whole week in Kona when there was rain in Hilo! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    409
    116
    36
    23
See reviews for
977
533
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

After staying in a 2 bedroom last year, I was a little concerned about our stay in a 1 bedroom this year. However, 3 adults and a baby had plenty of room. We made good use of the kitchen and outside grills, buying fresh fish in Kailua Kona (nothing better!), and fresh produce at farmers' markets.

Kings' Land has a lot of appeal and, in fact, we spent most of our time here rather than at the Hilton Waikoloa Village (another wonderful property). There are pools for infants (with gravel instead of sand - easier to clean), toddlers (slide and water spouts), everyone (with water slides), and adults only. We liked having a variety of classes to attend at no additional charge - yoga, zumba, water zumba, etc. Being able to check out movies was a plus after the baby went to sleep. We stayed over the 4th of July and the property included a buffet of fresh fruit, popcorn, and soft drinks, a nice surprise. Fireworks could be seen from our unit. Beautiful. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful both years.

It's also nice to be able to drive or shuttle to the Hilton Waikoloa Village at no charge. There's a wide variety of things to do and many more options for eating or shopping.

The only suggestion we'd have for Kings' Land is to expand the cafe/bar hours and selections. The cafe is quite limited by what is offered and the hours open. The bar has a special drink featured for a couple of hours every day and entertainment nightly. Met lots of friendly people there.

Will we return for a 3rd year? Most definitely!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chnich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the moment we walked into the lobby, we were treated like family. Check in was quick, even with going over the map of the facility. They offered free DVD & PSP rentals. When we walked into our 2 bedroom suite we were amazed! High end furnishings like on shows on HGTV! Stainless kitchen, dark carved hardwood floors, 3 TVs, granite countertops everywhere there is a counter. The master bath was fabulous. The tub isn't a jacuzzi tub, but it gives you a pulsating massage, too bad it isn't big enough for two! Since there isn't any ocean close by, we had a beautiful view of the golf course, pond, mountain views and wild goats. Peaceful even though they were having a college golf tournament! Great area to take an early morning walk. Will be spending 8 days in this facility this year and another 8 days on Oahu at Hilton Hawaiian Village.

Room Tip: The housekeeping service was fantastic, anytime we needed anything, they were quick to bring it. Did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJbabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

While my wife and I are not seasoned timeshare owners, we have used our HGVC points at several properties and Kings Land has to be one of the best.

The property itself is clean, feels new and is well-maintained. We were in building 11 which is the last one on the east side of the property. It's about a 5 minute walk to the lobby and pool.

When we drove up, the bellman greeted us and took all of our luggage and groceries (go to Costco after you fly in) to our room, and even put groceries in the fridge. Check-in was quick and easy. We didn't get hounded to attend the presentation, but we actually set it up in advance to save money ($200) on our snorkel cruise with Fair Winds which we booked before we arrived.

Our room was very nice and included flat screens in both bedrooms and the living room. The living room also included a DVD player and a Playstation 3 which we used to play Blue Ray movies which can be obtained from a kiosk at the front desk. It's similar to Redbox, but is free and actually had very new movies (it had "Oblivion" before Redbox/Netflix). Kitchen was well-equipped with fridge, oven, stove, microwave, dishwasher, blender. It included all the necessary pots/pans/dishes, etc. The master bathroom was great with a huge shower and a free-standing tub. The second bedroom had 2 double beds (or queens? - not sure) and the bathroom was also very nice. There was also a nice balcony with an outdoor sofa, table and chair with a view of the golf course and we could also see the ocean, though it's about a mile off the beach.

The pool is fantastic with slides, waterfalls and foggers as well as pool volleyball and basketball and a "beach" which the little ones seemed to like. There are several hot tubs and there is an adult pool if you want to just sit and relax. We didn't spend much time at the pool - our kids are both teenagers so we preferred to explore, snorkel, hang at the beach, etc. There is a nice bar and grill right there at the pool, but it's expensive. I paid about $11.50 for a Pina Colada and I doubt you could have lunch for anything less than $15 per person.

Towels are readily available for using at the pool and also taking to the beach. Just stop by the front desk or the area next to the pool and give them your room number and name and they'll give you what you need. You don't have to check them back in - just drop them off in the used towel bins, front desk, etc.

Also, they provide maid services once a week which was nice. We really didn't need any more than that. There is a washer/dryer and they provided plenty of detergent. Same for the dishwasher. We saved a BUNDLE by shopping at Costco and eating all breakfasts in the room and packing lunches and cooking dinners. There are BBQs set up for each building as well.

Bottom line - I would go back to Kings Land in a heart beat and would recommend it to anyone. I didn't even mention that you have full access to the Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel. You can hang at the pool and lagoon there, rent paddle boards, etc and charge to your Kings Land room just as if you were a hotel guest. If you are considering Kings Land and have the points - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grayhawk92677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The HGVC properties are typically quite nice, but the grand vacations club itself is horribly ran with little to no customer service. Between their constant nickel and dime fees, lack of care for the customer (ie. the owners), little to no communication and constantly rising fees you will learn very quickly that what you were sold is not what you are really buying into. Having been an owner/member for over 10 years and being an owner of several other Club/timeshares I can tell you HGVC is towards the bottom of the barrel when it comes to customer care.

That being said the kings landing is wonderful and you will enjoy every moment in Hawaii, just don't come home a new owner of the property. Rent a week, barrow from a friend just don't buy into it yourself.

Room Tip: If you want a breeze on your lanai don't stay on the ground floor. If you want to grill a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property. Let me first apologize for the customer service you experienced from our Club operations. I can honestly say that this is not a typical opinion. I have worked with many Owners who consider all aspects of Hilton Grand Vacations Club to be one of the best. I can assure you that your concerns will not go unheard, and they will be addressed appropriately.

I am glad to hear that you particularly enjoyed Kings' Land, as we do strive to be a well rounded company. Thank you again for these kind comments and your helpful tips.

Sincerely,

Wilbert Lee
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just got back from Kings' Land stay. We all had a really nice stay, including our 4 year old. Staff was very nice and maid service went the extra step. Kiddie, man-made beach with water slide was great. Only wished it were sand instead of gravel. Lots of dalily activities, although ended up too busy to try out any of them. Free shuttle bus to main resort and use of all it's amenities. Free parking at both properties too! Don't play golf, but brother-in-law said great deal for guests to play. Later flight out, so used "guest suite" after checkout. Very convenient. Basically, a small living room with full bath that you can reserve for an hour. Great to be able to swim and then shower and change after. Or, if your room isn't available when you arrive, use it as a nice, private area to relax and "freshen up".

Only negative, and a huge one at that, was the timeshare presentation we went to. Actually went to a presentation at their Waikiki property last year. The salesperson there was great. No pressure, and we almost bought with him. He made Kings' Land sound more suitable for us, so we decided to check it out. Our presenter/salesperson this time was horrible! He ruined what would've been a perfect vacation. After not getting the answers from us that he wanted to hear, he threatened us by saying "we can do this the easy, 90 min. way or we can be here 4 hours."

Wouldn't quite say it was a negative, but as a warning, the 1 BR unit we stayed at doesn't have an oven, just 2 burner cooktop, toaster, and microwave. Wish they had, at least, a toaster oven We got by fine, but an oven would've been nice to make meals easier. Believe the 2 BRs have an oven. Also, as others have mentioned, food options close in the early evening. But, it's easy enough to go to the main resort or to Queens Market. Both are stops on the shuttle. We loaded up at Costco after getting off the plane. Good place to fill-up your rental car before returning too, if you have a membership.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tifosi_Tak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Pretty good place. We liked the location and amenities. Pool facilities were awesome. Kitchen area has some limitations due to size and quality of appliances but everything worked and was fairly easy to use. I enjoyed my stay there but the two bedroom unit was a little tight for a family of 5. I preferrred the 3 bedroom unit we had the last time. That also had a little more room for the dining area and kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Robert Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
5.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
6.2 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
21.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
1.4 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations

Property: Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Address: 69-699 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5712
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations resort is a stunning hotel on the Big Island of Hawaii in the heart of Waikoloa. Reminiscent of a lush, Hawaiian plantation and nestled among championship golf courses and the beauty and serenity of the Kohala Coast. Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations hotel provides the perfect setting for your vacation in the South Pacific. Treat yourself to spectacular hotel accommodations with spacious one and two bedroom suites incorporating a casually elegant tropical style and featuring a superb variety of upscale amenities and furnishings. The suites offer all of the convenience of home including separate living and dining areas with wood-style flooring, a fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer and granite counter tops throughout. Enjoy flat-screen HD TVs, an enhanced entertainment sound system, and Wi-Fi. The master bedroom has a king bed, while the master bath has a luxurious sculptured tub and shower. Step out onto your own private lanai equipped with comfortable sofas and chairs, and enjoy the serene surroundings and tropical breezes of Waikoloa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings` Land By Hilton Grand Vacations Club Hotel Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing