We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kings' Land by HGVC - Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Morris County, New Jersey
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Kings' Land by HGVC - Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

My family and I stayed at Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations Club for two weeks and thoroughly enjoyed our stay once again. The entire resort is in tip top shape. The landscaping has matured but isn't overgrown. The staff bustles around ready with smiles and an "Aloha". We were greeted by name and made to feel like we had returned home after a long trip.

We arrived late on Tuesday night and were relieved to find out that the outdoor Bistro at the main Clubhouse building offered a buffet breakfast every morning which meant that we could eat breakfast the next morning before venturing down to Costco to stock up the refrigerator for our stay. We received coupons at check-in which allowed us to buy one buffet and get one free but I think we had to use them within a certain amount of time after check-in.

The buffet is regularly priced at $12 and consists of white rice, roasted breakfast potatoes, pancakes, scrambled eggs, Portuguese sausage, bacon, fresh fruit (pineapple, papaya, honeydew and cantaloupe melons), muffin bread that changed daily. Everything was delicious and we were able to go up for seconds.
We took advantage of the buffet on our last day before checkout also since we had to head right to the airport to catch our flight home.

I can't say enough good things about this resort. We especially loved that the bathrooms were stocked with Kohala Spa products instead of the Crabtree and Evelyn products. Not only are the products from Kohala Spa better quality but the packaging is easier on the figures as the tops to the Crabtree and Evelyn products have a tendency to cut finger tips.

More good news: Happy Hour has been extended to 7:30pm all summer with entertainment including some hula dancing on the weekends. The bistro is open longer also.

Here are a few tips to help you enjoy your stay at Kings' Land or anywhere in Hawaii for that matter:

1. Recycle Recycle Recycle. If you don't know what to recycle, ask the front desk or recycle it and let housekeeping figure it out. Wash it out before you recycle.
2. Keep your thermostat set to a reasonable temperature. 69 isn't reasonable.
3. Do NOT feed the feral, stray cats. Not only do they become a nuisance and hang around expecting more, but if you feed it, it will poop and you do not want the gardens surrounding each building to start smelling like cat waste cooking in the sun. Also, what they don't eat attracts mongoose.
4. When you leave your chair at the pool, take your towel with you and return it to the bin at the Pool Service Desk. This allows the chair to dry and then be used by another guest.
5. Say Hi to Billy at the Bar. He loves to talk. And Shay at Pool Service Desk. Actually, all the staff love to talk and visit. Say hi to all of them. And smile and wave if the little Club Cars go by with a staff member in them.

We also noticed that machines were breaking up the lava across the way so we signed up for an owner's update. We told Mike, the sales person who met with us, that we were absolutely NOT interested in moving up to the next level, but he had to tell us about the "GREAT" deal they were having on the Kohala Suites since so many of those owners traded in their shares for Kings' Land.

He gave us the owner's update on what's happening at Kings' Land and showed us the great deal at Kohala but we opted out and were on our way in a little over an hour. We probably would have been out of there even earlier but we like to talk about Hawaii and Hilton and Kings' Land and where we think HGVC should concentrate their efforts, namely the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Well, Myrtle Beach in South Carolina is their next focus, so that's good enough for now.

So the good news is that the ground has been broken for the next phase of Kings' Land. Smaller units will be built which will be available for lower point values (8400). Once they're done, the pool area will undoubtedly become more crowded but that's ok because it was basically empty most of the time while we were there.

We just love Kings' Land and we hope you will too. We stayed in our favorite unit 3102 because we like the garden lanai and easy access to the grill areas. We love to watch the wildlife (except the cats since we are cat owners and seeing starving cats is not fun).
We spent many evenings watching the sunsets and stargazing from the unbelievably quiet adult pool.

If this review has been helpful, please let me know. Also, let me know if you have any questions about the resort.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank njaloha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    408
    116
    36
    23
See reviews for
973
532
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our family enjoyed our stay. Rooms and living area were very comfortable. But let's face it; you're in HI so you really don't spend much time inside! The pools were nice - but the kids actually prefered the pools at the Hilton more because the water slide there was more fun and the pool much larger. Plus,more food choices at the Hilton pool. We were glad that the Hilton allowed free parking and access to their pools to those staying at Kings Land. We liked the location- close to Kona. So why stay at Kings Land when we were at the Hilton more often? For us, we like the size of the timeshares - having two bedrooms, living area, and kitchen. Btw, to stock the kitchen, there is a good local supermarket in Waikoloa Village - about 7 miles away. Much cheaper than the market in Queensland. Overall, loved our visit to the Big Island and found Kings Land to suit our needs.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love_HNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this Hilton GVC for a week in June. The check-in procedure was flawless and our accommodations were excellent with a lovely view of the golf course. The grounds were flawlessly maintained and the saltwater adult pool was quite enjoyable. There is a beach, shopping, and dining all within less than a mile from the resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We visited Kings' Land for a family vacation (6 adults). On arrival, we were greeted by several staff members. It really made us feel welcomed. The hotel is breath-taking!!! From the registration area, to the pool, to the rooms. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. One of our TVs wasn't working and within 5 minutes, someone was there fixing it. There was a list of on-site activities that were great for all ages. During happy hour, they had a guy that sings and plays a guitar... he was great!!! The pools were wonderful! We had could swim at the main pool area or take a dip in the pool near or room. I really liked the option that we had the option to go to the main Hilton hotel and participate in activities there. All the staff was extremely friendly and didn't mind helping the guests out. I have so many good things to say about this resort. The only bad thing I can say is that the floors are a little thin. We could hear the people upstairs every time they walked. It didn't really bother us because we were enjoying our vacation!!!!

Room Tip: Book way in advance. It's very hard to get a 3-bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivydvyn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We are Big Island residents. We use our timeshare points for when we travel and use open season about 5-6 times a year, and we always choose Kings Land over the other 2 properties available in Waikoloa offered by HGVC. We've stayed at all 3 properties, but Kings Land is the newest, largest and with a kiddie pool that adults like me can actually have a great time at. Our kids want to play in the pools all day if they could. The pools are also salt water (not the jaccuzies) for those of you who don't like smelling like chlorine for days. Rooms are large and the 2nd bedroom has 2 double beds, unlike some other properties with a single bed. Master bath is huge and very well designed. Balconies are furnished with a couch, chair and coffee table which adds another space for entertaining. We always have to tear ourselves away from this property when its time to leave and make the 20 min. drive home, always planning to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 808travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Co
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed at Kings Land in June 2011 for 7 nights. From check in to check out, we received excellent treatment from every employee we met. We were in a 2BR Premier room on the 3rd floor of Building 4. I believe there are now 11 3 story buildings. All buildings have elevators. Our master bedroom has a king bed and the bathroom is huge with a very large walk in shower (no door) and the premier units have what is best described as a champagne claw foot bathtub. It has little jets in the bottom for tiny bubbles to gently massage. The second bedroom had 2 beds and was away from the master. Very nice! Our lanai overlooked the Serenity Pool and the golf course. This resort is not on the beach but we did not have a problem with this because of the fabulous amenities at the resort and the fact that many beaches are within a very short drive. The room was beautifully appointed with upscale appliances in the full kitchen and upscale furniture inside and also on the lanai (we had a comfy couch and easy chair on the lanai!). Televisions were large flat screens with Bose sound systems. The dining table has 6 chairs. The kitchen is stocked with dishes and utinsels for 6. We did our grocery shopping at the Queens Market (you can take the free shuttle there) which is a bit more expensive than shopping in Kona (yes, there's a Costco in Kona) or in Waimea but it was convenient. Their meat are great and the rest of the grocery store is alright but without a lot of variety.One of the meals we'd wanted to have was ham and the store doesn't sell ham. Otherwise, no complaints. Kings Land is a 100% non-smoking property. There are several swimming pools and even is a very nice "adults only" pool which is quiet, and a bit warmer than the other activity pools. Our granddaughters loved the slides and the in pool volleyball and basketball. We never had a problem finding comfortable beach chairs poolside. We ate at the poolside restaurant/bar several times and always had excellent service and food and drinks. Be sure to try the tropical cocktail of the day at Happy Hour. The bar tenders come up with some really good drinks we'd never tried before. There are always activities on property for all ages. One of the nice touches is the shower and locker room by the pool for guests who have a late night flight but want to spend their last day in paradise on property. We used the free shuttle many times. It comes every half hour and goes to all the other Hilton properties in the area as well as the two shopping districts. Very nice and user friendly. This is an upscale HGVC property but did seem very well worth the extra points.

Room Tip: Go for a "premier" room for an end unit or 3rd floor. You might also ask for a room close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mumsie2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

We had a fabulous stay at the Kingsland. Located near the golf course. It was just a hop and skip to the hotel where you could use all of their amenities. Don't forget to check out the lagoon at the hotel. Great place for the little ones to learn how to snorkel as it is shallow and no current or waves. Our suite was quiet, clean and huge. It had one BR with two queens and master suite that had its own huge bathroom. It also had a fully equipped kitchen. We ate breakfast every morning and it saved us a lot of time and money. Take time to visit town the first day of your trip to go to the farmers market, get groceries, and rent snorkel equipment. At the farmers market you can fine a fabulous supply of fruits, nuts and cheaper souvenirs. Try the huge avocados. They were yummy. We really did not use the other ammenties much as we were so busy doing other things but they do have grills, a workout room and a couple of nice pools. Do not leave the island without going to see the manta rays. Conquer your fear of snorkeling in the ocean at night and you will have a surreal experience you will never forget. The hotel was nice and I would definitely recommend it to families and people who don't need a lot of night life type of activities.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stormy161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
5.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
6.2 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
21.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
1.4 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations

Property: Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Address: 69-699 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5712
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations resort is a stunning hotel on the Big Island of Hawaii in the heart of Waikoloa. Reminiscent of a lush, Hawaiian plantation and nestled among championship golf courses and the beauty and serenity of the Kohala Coast. Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations hotel provides the perfect setting for your vacation in the South Pacific. Treat yourself to spectacular hotel accommodations with spacious one and two bedroom suites incorporating a casually elegant tropical style and featuring a superb variety of upscale amenities and furnishings. The suites offer all of the convenience of home including separate living and dining areas with wood-style flooring, a fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer and granite counter tops throughout. Enjoy flat-screen HD TVs, an enhanced entertainment sound system, and Wi-Fi. The master bedroom has a king bed, while the master bath has a luxurious sculptured tub and shower. Step out onto your own private lanai equipped with comfortable sofas and chairs, and enjoy the serene surroundings and tropical breezes of Waikoloa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings` Land By Hilton Grand Vacations Club Hotel Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing