We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Romano's Macaroni Grill
Ranked #39 of 68 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Inspired by Italian trattoria cuisine, culture, and conversation, Romano's Macaroni Grill has been proudly serving unforgettable meals that leave a lasting impression to our deserving guests since 1988 - with knowledge, care and Italian charisma infused in everything we do. At Romano's Macaroni Grill, we know that for our guests any night out is a big night out - and it is our responsibility and privilege to treat it as such. That's why we start every meal off right: With a bottle of wine at the center of the table, while you explore our menu of expertly handcrafted rustic dishes and Italian classics. Warm distinctive touches, like our signature honor system wine and bustling open kitchen, create a memorable, sensory experience that you'll remember long after you leave the table.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

All I can say is that we were excited to have lunch here and we were let down pretty quick! We sat at least 10 minutes before anyone asked if we had been helped. Our waiter wasn't knowledgeable of gluten free dishes and had to go back to the kitchen a few times. The food came promptly and it was average.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmsl1368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    255
    194
    119
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place for a bite”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Had dinner here once on our trip and really enjoyed it.

Sat outside where view not great as in shopping complex but still nice to sit outside while in Hawaii.

We both had the Ahi tuna special and thoroughly enjoyed it. the place is a bit on the high side for price but not bad considering the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GordKend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staten island
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband was ecstatic to find a Romano's Macaroni Grill amongst all of the expensive restaurants in the Big Island of Hawaii. We thought it would be good for dinner as we were in the Queen's Marketplace on the Fourth of July to see the fireworks. However, we were both disappointed in the food. It is not at all like the Romano's that we go to in New Jersey. The menu is more limited. The food was pricey and average. It was just ok-I would have preferred to have gone to another local restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teacher41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callahan, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The food was quite good, but not great and the prices were high for what you got. Of course every place in the area is overpriced.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank C0rgi_M0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Even with limited options in this area - skip this one.”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Doesn't get much easier than to prepare a decent lasagna - Romano's couldn't even get that right. Just yuck.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jenngg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 
 

Been to Romano's Macaroni Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing