We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of Dolphin Quest

Dolphin Quest
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Quest Hawaii, located at the spectacular Hilton Waikoloa Village, brings people and dolphins closer than ever in fun, interactive dolphin encounter programs for all ages. This unique experience is on-of-a-kind on Hawaii's Big Island and is great for kids, adults or the entire family! Reservations can be made a year in advance. Dolphin Quest's Learning Center Lagoon, opened in 1988, was the first of its kind and inspired a new generation of large, natural habitats for marine mammals. A portion of the proceeds from your Dolphin Quest encounter program supports vital marine education, conservation and scientific study. TripAdvisor Certificate Excellence winner for the last 6 years (2012 to 2017)!
La Mesa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

A very professionally run operation with dolphins' health and safety come first....with said I could enjoy the terrific up close and personal encounter with a dolphin...I will never forget it.. my gift to me for my 69th birthday and worth it. Fascinating mammals, gentle and loving, powerful and playful and the trainers were the same! Trainers gave excellent information, directions and clearly loved their work with the dolphins. We each got to kiss and hug a dolphin...what more could you ask for!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    961
    252
    89
    34
    27
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Do it”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Dolphin Quest was a very educational experience. It is not swimming with dolphins.. You learn about them while in the water. The trainers are patient with all ages. Don't miss this!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripgoer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Kind of exciting but overrated”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Very expensive and my son loved swimming with the sea turtles even more (free) that come in each day from the ocean to the lagoon.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My 2 girls did the Dolphin Trainer for a day. Expensive but worth every penny for the pictures and the memories. and the Trainers a extremely educated and just wonderful

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing, but a conflict of conscience”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This will be short n sharp, and I write this understanding that we all have different positions on animal welfare etc etc.

First up, these animals are amazing, and I could not take the smile off my face while I was in the lagoon with these beautiful creatures. And it was a totally different experience than when swimming/snorkling with wild specimens.

I rate this as Very Good purely for selfish reasons and because it was fantastic just touching, feeding, and swimming with them.

But - I agree with some of the reviews below.... I wonder about the pool size, and the separation etc etc. But the handlers did say they rotate the groups with human interaction to one possibly 2 45minutes sessions a day. I am more concerned that they are not part of a larger breeding or conservation effort, and that the last time they opened up the gene pool was 4 years prior.

As far as the service aspect. The check in, availability of someone at front desk to help you guide your way to and through the "process", was pretty lack lustre. And the guy at the desk was very uninterested.

The handlers though.. were very friendly and informative, and were softly assertive in guiding people into the correct handling and interaction with the dolphins.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank buffstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Quest also viewed

Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
Puako, Kohala Coast
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Dolphin Quest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing