We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Dolphin Quest

Dolphin Quest
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Quest Hawaii, located at the spectacular Hilton Waikoloa Village, brings people and dolphins closer than ever in fun, interactive dolphin encounter programs for all ages. This unique experience is on-of-a-kind on Hawaii's Big Island and is great for kids, adults or the entire family! Reservations can be made a year in advance. Dolphin Quest's Learning Center Lagoon, opened in 1988, was the first of its kind and inspired a new generation of large, natural habitats for marine mammals. A portion of the proceeds from your Dolphin Quest encounter program supports vital marine education, conservation and research.
RICHARDSON
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We loved swimming with and snorkeling with dolphins in their natural environment! It was especially endearing because newborn dolphins were present and super cute. The crew was friendly, helpful and knowledgable and made our experience one to remember!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BamaGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    918
    245
    89
    33
    27
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura County, CA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Experience, but...”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a great experience in being able to spend some time up close with the dolphins. The dolphins and the trainers were all very sweet and helpful, especially with our kids as this was a new experience for them. Having said that, I have two areas that I was a little disappointed with. For the price you pay, I was not expecting to have to share our time with other families. There was 4 of us and they do each group with 6 people, so we were grouped together with 2 other people that were in a completely different level of experience (they were an older couple, whereas we had 2 small children). With that said, I would say more than half the time in the water was spent just waiting for our turn. The other issue is that the pictures and video were not that great. The couple with us did not purchase the video, yet our video had about as much footage of them as us. I would definitely recommend the experience overall, but I would have someone on the side doing your own pictures/video.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank VCAngels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First time ever... great fun!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a blast on the Dolphin Quest.. my niece and nephew went crazy with joy and fascination! Being able to be so, so close to the porpoises was a thrill in itself... They all seemed to be well cared-for dolphins, so that added to our joy!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancekull01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A very fun and informative experience. A little a pricey consider we were hotel guests. The dolphins appeared to be well looked after and happy. Lots of stimulation for them. The cost of photos wasn't as bad as we was expecting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jade K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“It was great”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Dolphin Quest at the Hilton Waikoloa was a wonderful experience. Being up close with the dolphins, and being able to pet them, and do some tricks with them was an experience we will never forget. The staff at the Dolphin Quest were friendly, helpful, and didn't mind answering questions you might think was dumb. They made our first trip to Hawaii a most memorable one.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Veronica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Quest also viewed

Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Dolphin Quest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing