We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time ever... great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolphin Quest

Dolphin Quest
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Quest Hawaii, located at the spectacular Hilton Waikoloa Village, brings people and dolphins closer than ever in fun, interactive dolphin encounter programs for all ages. This unique experience is on-of-a-kind on Hawaii's Big Island and is great for kids, adults or the entire family! Reservations can be made a year in advance. Dolphin Quest's Learning Center Lagoon, opened in 1988, was the first of its kind and inspired a new generation of large, natural habitats for marine mammals. A portion of the proceeds from your Dolphin Quest encounter program supports vital marine education, conservation and research.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First time ever... great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a blast on the Dolphin Quest.. my niece and nephew went crazy with joy and fascination! Being able to be so, so close to the porpoises was a thrill in itself... They all seemed to be well cared-for dolphins, so that added to our joy!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancekull01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    895
    239
    88
    31
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

A very fun and informative experience. A little a pricey consider we were hotel guests. The dolphins appeared to be well looked after and happy. Lots of stimulation for them. The cost of photos wasn't as bad as we was expecting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jade K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“It was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Dolphin Quest at the Hilton Waikoloa was a wonderful experience. Being up close with the dolphins, and being able to pet them, and do some tricks with them was an experience we will never forget. The staff at the Dolphin Quest were friendly, helpful, and didn't mind answering questions you might think was dumb. They made our first trip to Hawaii a most memorable one.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Veronica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pricey - experience good but overpriced - don't count on great photos”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had been looking forward to the swim with the dolphin experience at Dolphin Quest at the Marriott. If you book yourself, it is fairly pricey at over $200 for about 20 minutes in the water with the dolphins. (Note - someone in our group said that since only 1 of them was booking, DQ offered them a big discount for the scond person to do it too -- net try that before booking both of you). There can be at least 6 people in the group so you get limited time with the dolphin since even though there are many trainors around, only 1 works with 6 of you so that means only 1 dolphin.

But don't count on getting any good pictures taken of you. They have guys who are supposed to video the experience and take pcitures of you but even thought we told them we were very interested in photos and videos in advance, but the two guys just spent much of the time chatting and they messed up and missed getting clear photos of me and my friend at the three key moments when you are with the dolphin (feeding a fish, "hugging" it, and "dancing" with it). Also - to try to speed things up if they know you know others in the gorup, then they pair/group you up for activities and pictures - net you can't even get one of your own even if you don't live with the others. Also they cater to kids so if you have kids in the group that you are in the water with, then they will get more of the time interacting with the dolphins.

Net not the experience I was expecting. I'd recommend doing the dolphin experience at Discovery Cove at Sea World. More of a hands on, quality. personalized experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I experienced Dolphin Quest with my 5 year old son and it was fabulous and emotionally overwhelming! Trainers are amazingly accomodating. My son was a bit scared so they let me stay after and have my own private interaction with a couple of the dolphins. Brought tears to my eyes! Incredible! Worth every penny!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Quest also viewed

Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Dolphin Quest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing