We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Waikoloa
Post
Inbox
Search

“Expensive but kids loved it”

Legends of Hawaii Luau
Ranked #14 of 62 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Experience the most popular Luau on Hawaii Island - Legends of Hawaii. Under a magical Hawaiian night-sky and swaying palms, our Big Island Luau features exotic dance, music and entertainment for the whole family with hula & fire dancers and a lavish Hawaiian buffet.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A good standard show and interesting cultural information. The kids loved the dancing and fire-eating. The food was actually very good, but I did think overall it was quite expensive for what it is.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank rachaelr559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 649 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2020

You are at long tables in front of the stage and after dinner, they invite the kids down to sit in the front for all but the fire juggling parts. We've been to a couple of luaus and the lead female dancer was among the most precise and graceful I've seen. The man who juggled the fire was fantastic as well. The others were good and enthusiastic so it was a fun show.

The food was served buffet style with each table called up in an orderly fashion. Salads were first, then vegetables, poke and meats. It's strategic -- when you don't know what is coming, you tend to fill your plate with things early on and then you don't have room for the more expensive items. There is poke on the buffet so if you like that, save room (not saying the salad is bad -- in fact it was fresh and the dressings were good... ). The pork is at a separate table with the rolls. Coffee and desserts were in the back right corner. You can go up to the bar for drinks or if you are in the alii section they bring them to you. The server who sat us was not our server for the night and we didn't know that anyone would bring the beverages so we got our own initially. They put an appetizer on the table and later some mini cupcakes... because you are sharing things at a long table they may be out of your reach. We were in between two larger groups and they'd moved them toward the far ends of their groups. We eventually had the server bring us some -- don't be afraid to ask. Also, the desserts in the corner are different from the mini cupcakes on the table. The alcoholic drinks were very weak and some were super sweet. If you don't like one, switch it up. Most come in a non-alcoholic version and if an adult in your group wants one of these, ask your server to bring it in a full-size glass. The non-alcoholic ones apparently are put by default into a kid-size cup.
Local crafts are on display before the show so you can walk around to see them. It looked like they all had a way to charge purchases.

The place for the luau is to the left of the Makai towers at the Hilton (literally 2 minutes out the door past the flamingos).

At least on the night we were there the performers were available after the show for photos or questions.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank MomfromMaryville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

This is a good Luau to go to with kids because they serve them first, and there is always something happening to keep them entertained. The tickets are a little pricey, but overall a great experience.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michelleneuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2019

We really enjoyed this dinner and luau show. We were soglad it was included in our package as we would probably not have spent the money to purchase it separately. I absolutely loved the Parker ranch short ribs and had two big helpings by forgoing the shredded pork. The show was very nice - in particular I enjoyed seeing the cowboys "paniolos" and the fire dancer - he accidently dropped a fire stick which was unusal to see but we enjoyed finding out that they too can make a mistake. My only down side was that the photos were sold only as a package at $50 each and I personally thought it was too much and not worth it. Maybe you could consider a digital CD package that includes the show and food photos and emu ceremony including the pictures of the party (people) for $35 or $40 it would be worth it! It was hard to get good photos not being near the stage and with the dark of the night. We thought it was nice to call the kids "Keiki" to come and be near the stage and then to dismiss them before the fire dancers portion - thought this was excellent. The luau food portions and selections were good also with the desserts and coffee. The drink bars were also fine.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Monte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2019

The food at this luau was excellent! The show was good. The setting was okay. Not on the beach so that is a bit disappointing. Also the seating isn't great. Was hard to see if you were in the back

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Dlneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legends of Hawaii Luau also viewed

 

Been to Legends of Hawaii Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing