We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Sushi and other stuff”

Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 69 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very good Sushi and other stuff”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We dined at Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar on the last night of our vacation. We wish we ate there earlier because the food is good enough to warrant a return visit. The restaurant has a huge menu so there's lots of other choices if you're not a sushi eater. They also have a nice selection of beers and sake.

We tried the tempura vegetables, a number of the sushi rolls, ramen noodles and udon noodles. Everything was very good. Prices are reasonable but the specialty sushi rolls can drive up the total of your bill.

Service was OK but could be improved. Our server looked pretty busy so perhaps the restaurant is a bit short staffed.

The restaurant is busy at dinner time so reservations are a must. You can do it on-line and the process works great. The restaurant is larger than it looks and tables are close together so it is a bit noisy. The back section of the restaurant appeared less noisy than the front room.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TwitchyEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    317
    144
    61
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Go Hungry!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Apparently there are a few of these throughout the island. If so, they need to replicate themselves everywhere. The food order was quick, and the food itself was prepared in NO time. I want to say we sat, ordered, ate and left within 45 minutes! It was a touch on the salty side but it was good. I'm not familiar with POKE but fell in love with it...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank zipidydoodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A really nice meal with the family”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Went on a Tues night during the 25% off any menu item (well, almost anything) time and ordered a cross section of items like rolls, crab/shrimp ravioli, edamame, filet mignon, salmon and shrimp, and other items. Everything was very well prepared, had nice presentation, fantastic service and the food came out really quickly. If I had to identify one thing they could improve, it would be that the edamame came out pretty chilly, instead of hot. Perhaps that's how they do it in HI, IDK, but I like it steamed/hot. It didn't ruin our experience and compared to everything else, it was not a big deal. Parking is free and convenient at the Queens Market Place, so it's easy to get to.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barkwood66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Service Inconsistent but Food Worth It”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We ate here twice while visiting the Big Island even though the service wasn't great our first time because the food is really delicious. Lots of vegetarian options and all of our dishes were well seasoned. We recommend ordering a bunch of small plates and sharing for best value. The wok vegetables with chili butter are amazing!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeter928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love love love”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We went to Sansei in Waikiki and twice on Maui. Can't get enough. The DK's Crab Ramen is one of the top 5 dishes. I've eaten in my life! Amazing Asian truffle broth. Many other award winning delicacies to try. Must try!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jambro2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar also viewed

 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing