We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth visiting again and again”

Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 69 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
392 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Worth visiting again and again”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We only go here during the Sunday and Monday 1/2 price specials. Even then your bill can be expensive. But, we have never been disappointed with the food and the service is always very responsive and quick. The Sansei Shrimp Dynamite is one of the best things of the menu!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bczican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    317
    144
    61
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, CA
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Another great Sansei”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have enjoyed Sansei on the other islands and looked forward to trying Sansei in Waikoloa. We were not disappointed!

Sansei offers a 50% discount off sushi on Sunday and Monday, and a 25% discount Tuesday through Saturday. We went on a Tuesday night and the restaurant was semi-full instead of crazy and noisy as on 50% off nights. That lower noise level was good - however costs can add up quickly if you are hungry and an extra 25% off of the sushi would have been nice.

We had the Panko Ahi, Dragonfly Roll, Tuna Crunch and 2 orders of the Takah Sushi Special. They were all delicious. We ordered a bottle of Ferrani Carano Chardonnay ($45.00) to enjoy with it and our total was $138.00 before tip.

Moralani was our waitress and she was great explaining all of the rolls and had lots of good suggestions.

We will return next trip!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good food.”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great sushi. If you order by 6pm food is 25% off. Good deal. Certain days they have 50 % off but heard there is a line out the door you have to stand in by 4:30.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank grecojj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the Best Japanese I've had!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you are in the Waikoloa area, Sensei is a must try! I've had a lot of japanese food and Sensei is definitely one of my top fav's.
There was a line up out the door when we got there and a halfen hour wait for a table, but no wait if we wanted to sit by the sushi bar so we took it.
Atmosphere is great, service was great and food was amazing.
Menu is quite big and we were really hungry so we ordered like 10 different items. Starting with mango crab salad, miso fish, beef sashimi, tuna and salmon sashimi, couple chef recommended rolls, soft shell crab.. can't remember the rest but after we finished, we had to order 10 more items! Definitely had to walk the food off after but was worth every bite! Hope you enjoy Sensei as much as I did!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vangirl604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sunday Happy Hour was fabulous”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had been hearing about the Sunday and Monday happy hour specials so decided to give it a try. We got there early and waited in line. It was a pleasant wait with the hula show going on nearby. What a nice surprise the food was. They really only do one sitting so get there early, all food must be ordered by 6pm to get the 50% discount and it doesn't apply to all menu items, but there are lots of choices. We ordered everything we wanted, our high light being the calimari salad, but really everything we ordered was fabulous. They even had Kona Fire Rock on tap, a plus for me. Great service, great food and 50% off, you just can't go wrong. Worth every penny. Mahalo and aloha.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CLARKBARTWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar also viewed

 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing