We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, small room, no reception desk on site”
Review of Lokahi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lokahi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed for one night in January 2014. The location is convenient for the volcano park, but there is no reason to stay for longer than one full day unless you have a specific reason to be in the area. We were a party of 3 (one couple and one other) so had booked a room with two double beds, which we were led to believe would consist of two separate rooms within the same apartment. The accommodation was basic, the two-bed room was basically a twin, not large enough for more than two people, and even small for two. In fact there were only enough cups, glasses, pillows etc for two people although it was a booking for three and presumably a twin-double-bed room should cater for up to four.

There was not even enough floor space for our 3 cases. Two small double beds, one bedside table, one lamp, one small table. One very loud fridge which we had to switch off to sleep. The furniture was old and meagre, for example no drawers and very little storage space for clothes. The curtains didn't cover all the windows so we had light coming in from the porch lights which we couldn't turn off. The bathroom was good, although the shower was very poor, took about 10 minutes to warm up and was a trickle anyway.

The room was not at all clean, there was old food in the fridge, every surface covered in thick dust. The only thing that seemed clean was the sheets.

What's worst is that the reception desk is in a separate building on the other side of town, is only open for a few hours a day (closed in the middle of the day and in the evening), and cannot be contacted by phone (we didn't have a phone in the room). We couldn't therefore contact anyone to ask about the problems we were having.

We had multiple (certainly more than 10) power-cuts during the night and morning, but we had no flashlight and no one to contact. The receptionist was not interested in our feedback at check-out. Overall we thought the value for money was very poor compared with more upmarket resorts that we had stayed in in Hawaii (even though we normally stay in budget hotels).

Room Tip: Reading other reviews it is clear that there are nicer, more spacious rooms available so I would rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrNB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Aloha and thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. First of all, I'd like to address the issue regarding a room booked with two separate rooms. The reservation was sent to us via email from a travel agent that the guest booked through. We were sent the following information on the room requested:
DATE: From 05-JAN-14 to 06-JAN-14 ( 1 nights )
CONTRACT NAME: GC-SWS TYPE: SPECIAL RATE / WEB CONTRACT
ROOM(S): 1 DOUBLE, TYPE: RUN OF THE HOUSE
BOARD: ROOM ONLY
3 ADULTS PER ROOM
Unfortunately, the travel agent that booked with us booked these guests in the wrong room, which was clearly not meant for these guests. While the travel agent may have told them it had two rooms, they clearly did not send that information to us. In fact, we do not have any 2 bedroom units. It is unfortunate that the travel agent gave these guests the wrong information, and also unfortunate that the hotel must take the blame. Furthermore, we cannot confirm or deny that there was food left in the fridge but can assure that we take all necessary steps to ensure that rooms are clean and ready for the next arrival. As for the utensils, cups, phones, etc..: we have all necessities in the guest storage area of that property, (including all of the above and much more) that any guest might need during their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 210 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

Clean, tidy, completely outfitted, conveniently located, quiet, a good continental breakfast, and good coffee. Just right for our second visit to Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park. We stayed in the newly remodeled Kalo Room. Queen bed and double bed side by side in this room, with nice linens, and a huge ceramic tiled shower. The jacuzzi is just outside the back door of this room, which looks out to the forest. The surrounding cloud forest is easily worth a visit by itself, even if the volcano is inactive or lava flow is not viewable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bud B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Aloha and mahalo for reviewing Lokahi Lodge on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the newly renovated Kalo room. Also, thank you for choosing us on your return trip to the Volcano National Park. It's great that you were able to immerse yourself in the beautiful rain-forest surroundings of Volcano. We appreciate your comments and hope that you will come back to visit for any future vacations to the Big Island. Mahalo and Aloha!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Big room, ideal for a small family. The view from the window is amazing. It's like you're in the middle of the jungle. You can have breakfast for 6 dollars. It's nothing fancy (bread, cereal, coffee, juice,..) but the fresh fruit they have is amazing. I would definitely recommend this place. Especially if you want to explore Volcano NP. It's only a 5 min drive to the entrance of the park.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Liesje12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Aloha and thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Naupaka room and appreciate your recommendation of Lokahi Lodge. The Naupaka room definitely has great views from the floor to ceiling windows and the surrounding rain-forest is amazing to see right from your room. It's great that your were able to enjoy the island's fresh fruits while you were here!! Again, mahalo for your review and comments and we hope to see you again on any future trips to Volcano. Aloha!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed two nights in "Kalo" room, which was spacious and tastefully decorated and the modern bathroom had the most enormous shower I have ever seen. The facilities were very good with a comfortable bed, fridge, microwave, crockery, even cloth napkins and a corkscrew!
The only gripe we have is that the complimentary coffee - which was the same as served for breakfast at Lokahi Lodge - was awful! The breakfast buffet there was fine and value for money.
Our room had a large ceiling fan, and we turned off the dehumidifier. As "Laura" mentioned, we too had an additional entrance from the wrap-around lanai. And definitely arrive before dark, even with good instructions it is not easy to find as there are no street lights.
Where we stayed there were three restaurants within walking distance, and it was only a few minutes' drive to the Volcano Park.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JohnChell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in one of our newly remodeled rooms and were able to make use of the large shower there. (One of my personal favorites as well) We always strive to provide all the amenities our guests may need while they are staying with us, so I'm glad you were able to make use of those. As for the coffee, we make our own blend of coffee here and it has become so popular with guests, that it has stuck around for years. We even ship our coffee to past guests as it is usually a "big hit" with most. However, all coffee drinkers are not created equal as we all have a taste for different coffees. I do too:) So, for that reason we provide Kona amenity coffee in the rooms as well. We hope that your vacation was a great one and that you will come back and visit if you are ever in the area. Mahalo and Aloha!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We recently stayed in the Olena room at the Lokahi Lodge for 1 night. It was the first day of the government shutdown, and we were really disappointed about not being able to see the HVNP. Because we had already reserved and paid for the room, we continued on with our plans to stay overnight at the lodge. We were very happy that we did.

I strongly support Chalet Kilauea's suggestion to arrive before dark. Sunset was quickly approaching, and had it been dark, I'm not sure that we would have found the offices where we pick up our keys. Also, the lodge itself is on a different property (different streets, etc.), so you want to give yourself enough time to get to that property before dark too. It was easy to find the lodge based on the Chalet's directions, and it had a very cozy feel. We were happy with the size of our room, and the bathroom (looked recently upgraded) was really nice. We especially appreciated the option to choose either the outside or inside entrance. We knew there were others staying in the other rooms at the lodge, but it was so quiet and peaceful. We did not hear any of the other guests at all. In the early morning, we loved stepping outside and seeing the lushness of the rainforest. It was quite beautiful.

The only recommendation that I would make to the lodge is to install ceiling fans or air conditioning. I realize that many lodging facilities in hawaii do not have a/c because of the tradewinds. I appreciated the humidifier in the room, but we still were not "cool" at night. We are from texas (the land of air conditioners everywhere you go), so perhaps we are biased. It definitely would have helped me rank the property "excellent" though...

Going back to finding the lodge and chalet properties....we ventured out at night for dinner and struggled to find our way back in complete darkness. I recommend paying very close attention to landmarks, as your GPS will likely not help you. Overall, though, I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: go during the day on your first time there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Aloha and thank you for recommending Lokahi Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the Olena room with all the beautiful scenery that surrounds, but very sorry to hear that you arrived on the day the parks were closed. It's great that you were still able to enjoy Volcano Village and all the serenity of our rain-forest. Also, as you stated in your comment, we don't provide air conditioning (as most places here don't) because as a general rule, it's COLD at night :) We usually need heaters, and while we have recently had unprecedented warm spells, it is back to cold nights again here in Volcano. We would love for you to visit us again on any future volcano vacations. Mahalo for taking your time to review us on Tripadvisor and Aloha!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Pamakani Room and bathroom at the Lokahi Lodge were beautiful. But, we would have liked to have a little more storage space for our clothes. We also liked the breakfast room and reception staff at the Chalet Kilauea. We were a little surprised about the distance between the Lokahi Lodge and the Chalet Kilauea, but it worked out ok. It is very conveniently located to the Volcano National Park.
Wilma and Jack Petrovich
Dunedin, Florida

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Mahalo for taking the time to review Lokahi Lodge. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and were able to see the National Park. For the majority of our guests, the luggage racks are usually sufficient for clothes storage. We are sorry to hear that you could have used more space for your clothes. As for the distance of Lokahi Lodge, the drive is only about 2 minutes to our office but it's location is generally preferred by guests as it is right next to the National Park. Again, we appreciate your comments and feedback and welcome you back for any future Big Island vacations. Aloha!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at this property in the Makalapua Room. We had just had a red-eye flight from Pago Pago to Honolulu; then on to Hilo-- had gone 32 hours without sleep...so we were very tired and looking forward to just "crashing". The owner was nice in letting us check in 45 minutes early. However, when we got to our room, it was very hot (uncomfortably so). There was a dehumidifier running when we got there (I thought my husband had turned it on, but he said it was already running when he opened the room). The windows were all closed and no a/c. It was so hot that we couldn't go to sleep. (My husband wasn't exactly a "happy camper" and I know that I should have read more carefully that it did not have an a/c when booking). I called and asked if there was a room with it, but they do not offer rooms with a/c. The explanation (and understandable I guess) is that they are at 3000 feet and it gets cold at night, so not really a need for one. We were advised to turn off the dehumidifier because that puts out a lot of heat, open the windows and turn on the little fan. We had already turned on the fan and opened the windows...but had not shut off the dehumidifier yet. So we tried that and I put the little fan in the bedroom window to draw some of the cooler air from the outside in. We sat outside for about 45 minutes, until we could stand to go back inside, take showers and sleep. I had to shut the window later in the night (not because of the coolness outside, but because there were people talking outside on the lanai). The 2nd day, the windows were left open, dehumidifier left off and it was not so bad after we came back from hiking in Volcanoes National Park. We ate lunch and went to see some more of the island, and back to the park at night. It did get cooler that evening. We left the windows open all night and it never got "cold" inside the room..but was.cool enough to sleep with the fan going. The 2nd day, we had two different instances of other guests trying to unlock our door (think they just mistook our room for theirs). No problem really because their key couldn't unlock our room anyway. Could hear a little noise from the other guests, but not a big problem. It had a microwave/frig in the room, a small table; bedside tables, a chair; comfortable pillows and king-sized bed. There were what appeared to be a lot of tiny black "ink stains" on the bottom sheet (that looked like bugs at first glance, but it wasn't). Had small tears in the blanket..but nothing bothersome. There is a hot tub and other guests used it, but we didn't. Great Lanai. They offer a breakfast (not complimentary), but we just had cereal/fruit in our room. My only suggestion to make it a more enjoyable stay would be to go over ahead of time, turn off the dehumidifier and open up the windows before guests arrive. I understand too the problem of the humidity in the area though -- it's just that even though it may be cooler on the outside...the room was still miserably hot when we got there. (And I do get the "altitude" bit --my daughter lived in Colorado at over 9000 feet, but they still had need of an a/c every once in awhile--or leaving all the windows on with a fan going to bring in cooler outside air). We had stayed at a great little B&B in Hilo in the past, but it was booked this time..and since the Volcano area is so close to the National Park, that is why I chose the Chalet Kilauea. It is a very pretty area. There is also a little store nearby should you need a few things. And other than the heat the first day... we did end up having a decent stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Aloha and thank you for reviewing your stay on Tripadvisor. We always welcome any comments and/or feedback from our guests. We are also sorry to hear that you had a "warm" welcome to your room. However, our front desk was right in their response that we never use air conditioning here. As with homes and other businesses in the area, the need for air conditioning is literally never. Our usual weather here is cold and we had an unprecedented warm season during the time of your stay which could not have been predicted. The usual room temperature is really cold. Furthermore, the dehumidifier is a necessity as well because of the high humidity in the area. Again, we thank your for your feedback and welcome you back on any future vacations to Volcano. Mahalo and Aloha!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
428 reviews
23.6 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Volcano Hale
Volcano Hale
#5 of 22 in Volcano
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 22 in Volcano
321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 22 in Volcano
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lokahi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokahi Lodge

Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: $70 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lokahi Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lokahi Lodge is nestled in the heart of Volcano Village in a quiet, peaceful area. The lodge is less than a mile from the entrance of the Hawai`i Volcanoes National Park and the many splendors and activities it has to offer. Lokahi Lodge blends modern convenience with country charm. Each of the carefully appointed guest rooms expresses warm aloha, delicately and beautifully furnished for your pleasure with cable TV, modern bathrooms with showers, and amenity centers with microwave, coffee maker, and mini fridge. This property fronts the beautiful and unique Volcano Village rainforest! The following is located on site: free WIFI and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lokahi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Lokahi Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing