We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable base to explore the Volcano Park from”
Review of Lokahi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lokahi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Thiviers, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A comfortable base to explore the Volcano Park from”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed two nights in "Kalo" room, which was spacious and tastefully decorated and the modern bathroom had the most enormous shower I have ever seen. The facilities were very good with a comfortable bed, fridge, microwave, crockery, even cloth napkins and a corkscrew!
The only gripe we have is that the complimentary coffee - which was the same as served for breakfast at Lokahi Lodge - was awful! The breakfast buffet there was fine and value for money.
Our room had a large ceiling fan, and we turned off the dehumidifier. As "Laura" mentioned, we too had an additional entrance from the wrap-around lanai. And definitely arrive before dark, even with good instructions it is not easy to find as there are no street lights.
Where we stayed there were three restaurants within walking distance, and it was only a few minutes' drive to the Volcano Park.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JohnChell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in one of our newly remodeled rooms and were able to make use of the large shower there. (One of my personal favorites as well) We always strive to provide all the amenities our guests may need while they are staying with us, so I'm glad you were able to make use of those. As for the coffee, we make our own blend of coffee here and it has become so popular with guests, that it has stuck around for years. We even ship our coffee to past guests as it is usually a "big hit" with most. However, all coffee drinkers are not created equal as we all have a taste for different coffees. I do too:) So, for that reason we provide Kona amenity coffee in the rooms as well. We hope that your vacation was a great one and that you will come back and visit if you are ever in the area. Mahalo and Aloha!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    69
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
54
104
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We recently stayed in the Olena room at the Lokahi Lodge for 1 night. It was the first day of the government shutdown, and we were really disappointed about not being able to see the HVNP. Because we had already reserved and paid for the room, we continued on with our plans to stay overnight at the lodge. We were very happy that we did.

I strongly support Chalet Kilauea's suggestion to arrive before dark. Sunset was quickly approaching, and had it been dark, I'm not sure that we would have found the offices where we pick up our keys. Also, the lodge itself is on a different property (different streets, etc.), so you want to give yourself enough time to get to that property before dark too. It was easy to find the lodge based on the Chalet's directions, and it had a very cozy feel. We were happy with the size of our room, and the bathroom (looked recently upgraded) was really nice. We especially appreciated the option to choose either the outside or inside entrance. We knew there were others staying in the other rooms at the lodge, but it was so quiet and peaceful. We did not hear any of the other guests at all. In the early morning, we loved stepping outside and seeing the lushness of the rainforest. It was quite beautiful.

The only recommendation that I would make to the lodge is to install ceiling fans or air conditioning. I realize that many lodging facilities in hawaii do not have a/c because of the tradewinds. I appreciated the humidifier in the room, but we still were not "cool" at night. We are from texas (the land of air conditioners everywhere you go), so perhaps we are biased. It definitely would have helped me rank the property "excellent" though...

Going back to finding the lodge and chalet properties....we ventured out at night for dinner and struggled to find our way back in complete darkness. I recommend paying very close attention to landmarks, as your GPS will likely not help you. Overall, though, I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: go during the day on your first time there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Aloha and thank you for recommending Lokahi Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the Olena room with all the beautiful scenery that surrounds, but very sorry to hear that you arrived on the day the parks were closed. It's great that you were still able to enjoy Volcano Village and all the serenity of our rain-forest. Also, as you stated in your comment, we don't provide air conditioning (as most places here don't) because as a general rule, it's COLD at night :) We usually need heaters, and while we have recently had unprecedented warm spells, it is back to cold nights again here in Volcano. We would love for you to visit us again on any future volcano vacations. Mahalo for taking your time to review us on Tripadvisor and Aloha!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Pamakani Room and bathroom at the Lokahi Lodge were beautiful. But, we would have liked to have a little more storage space for our clothes. We also liked the breakfast room and reception staff at the Chalet Kilauea. We were a little surprised about the distance between the Lokahi Lodge and the Chalet Kilauea, but it worked out ok. It is very conveniently located to the Volcano National Park.
Wilma and Jack Petrovich
Dunedin, Florida

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Mahalo for taking the time to review Lokahi Lodge. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and were able to see the National Park. For the majority of our guests, the luggage racks are usually sufficient for clothes storage. We are sorry to hear that you could have used more space for your clothes. As for the distance of Lokahi Lodge, the drive is only about 2 minutes to our office but it's location is generally preferred by guests as it is right next to the National Park. Again, we appreciate your comments and feedback and welcome you back for any future Big Island vacations. Aloha!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley, TX
Level Contributor
220 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at this property in the Makalapua Room. We had just had a red-eye flight from Pago Pago to Honolulu; then on to Hilo-- had gone 32 hours without sleep...so we were very tired and looking forward to just "crashing". The owner was nice in letting us check in 45 minutes early. However, when we got to our room, it was very hot (uncomfortably so). There was a dehumidifier running when we got there (I thought my husband had turned it on, but he said it was already running when he opened the room). The windows were all closed and no a/c. It was so hot that we couldn't go to sleep. (My husband wasn't exactly a "happy camper" and I know that I should have read more carefully that it did not have an a/c when booking). I called and asked if there was a room with it, but they do not offer rooms with a/c. The explanation (and understandable I guess) is that they are at 3000 feet and it gets cold at night, so not really a need for one. We were advised to turn off the dehumidifier because that puts out a lot of heat, open the windows and turn on the little fan. We had already turned on the fan and opened the windows...but had not shut off the dehumidifier yet. So we tried that and I put the little fan in the bedroom window to draw some of the cooler air from the outside in. We sat outside for about 45 minutes, until we could stand to go back inside, take showers and sleep. I had to shut the window later in the night (not because of the coolness outside, but because there were people talking outside on the lanai). The 2nd day, the windows were left open, dehumidifier left off and it was not so bad after we came back from hiking in Volcanoes National Park. We ate lunch and went to see some more of the island, and back to the park at night. It did get cooler that evening. We left the windows open all night and it never got "cold" inside the room..but was.cool enough to sleep with the fan going. The 2nd day, we had two different instances of other guests trying to unlock our door (think they just mistook our room for theirs). No problem really because their key couldn't unlock our room anyway. Could hear a little noise from the other guests, but not a big problem. It had a microwave/frig in the room, a small table; bedside tables, a chair; comfortable pillows and king-sized bed. There were what appeared to be a lot of tiny black "ink stains" on the bottom sheet (that looked like bugs at first glance, but it wasn't). Had small tears in the blanket..but nothing bothersome. There is a hot tub and other guests used it, but we didn't. Great Lanai. They offer a breakfast (not complimentary), but we just had cereal/fruit in our room. My only suggestion to make it a more enjoyable stay would be to go over ahead of time, turn off the dehumidifier and open up the windows before guests arrive. I understand too the problem of the humidity in the area though -- it's just that even though it may be cooler on the outside...the room was still miserably hot when we got there. (And I do get the "altitude" bit --my daughter lived in Colorado at over 9000 feet, but they still had need of an a/c every once in awhile--or leaving all the windows on with a fan going to bring in cooler outside air). We had stayed at a great little B&B in Hilo in the past, but it was booked this time..and since the Volcano area is so close to the National Park, that is why I chose the Chalet Kilauea. It is a very pretty area. There is also a little store nearby should you need a few things. And other than the heat the first day... we did end up having a decent stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Aloha and thank you for reviewing your stay on Tripadvisor. We always welcome any comments and/or feedback from our guests. We are also sorry to hear that you had a "warm" welcome to your room. However, our front desk was right in their response that we never use air conditioning here. As with homes and other businesses in the area, the need for air conditioning is literally never. Our usual weather here is cold and we had an unprecedented warm season during the time of your stay which could not have been predicted. The usual room temperature is really cold. Furthermore, the dehumidifier is a necessity as well because of the high humidity in the area. Again, we thank your for your feedback and welcome you back on any future vacations to Volcano. Mahalo and Aloha!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Clean and confortable , great location . The room was very nice. The location was convenient to Volcano Park as well as several nearby restaurants.
It is also priced correctly. Definitely in line with the quality and location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RomaCarpediem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments and to share your experience at Lokahi Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!!! Aloha and Mahalo!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It is always exciting and fun to visit the volcano in Hawaii's national park. It is also advisable to stay the night in order to maximize your enjoyment of the area. We stayed at the Lokahi Lodge in the town of Volcano. Since the Volcano House renovation, prices have increased substantially and we found that is was not worth the price. Lokahi Lodge in nearby volcano is roughly 5 minutes from the volcano and headquarters. The Lodge is very nice with clean and comfortable rooms, courteous staff, wonderfully beautiful and peaceful surroundings, and necessary amenities like internet access. It is also priced correctly. Definitely in line with the quality and location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation of us and your review on Lokahi Lodge. We are always happy to hear that our guests' enjoyed their stay with us. We strive to keep our prices competitive for our location, yet still provide great places to stay. Aloha and mahalo for your comments and welcome you back for any future getaways to the Big Island of Hawai'i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Tripoli
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My daughter was recently married on the Big Island and we spent a few days here, pre wedding, exploring the Volcano area. We were a fairly large group, a mix of friends and family some of us had met before and others had not. I believe we actually occupied all of the rooms in this building. For our size group the venue was perfect, it was as if we had rented a private home with a separate bed/bath for each family to ensure privacy and yet had the use of the common areas when we wanted to mingle. Family and friends came together or spent time apart as we wanted and all of the party commented on what a perfect start it was to the wedding. The grounds were pretty and the rooms were very nice. The baths appeared to be recently remodeled using stone and tile to give a "high end" appearance. The units and common areas were clean and nicely appointed. The common area computer did a good job keeping some of the children occupied in the evenings and the wi-fi was useful for our personal devices. The lanai which wrapped around the entire building was accessible from most of the rooms and was a nice place to gather at night. The hot tub was small but very welcome to soak tired muscles after a day of hiking in the park. The location was convenient to Volcano Park as well as several nearby restaurants and a local farmers market. The nearby Tai restaurant was good and we brought takeout back to set up in the common area for our own private buffet. I rated the service as good, only because we really didn't utilize it much. All and all I would highly recommend this property to anyone - especially larger groups who want to combine "private time" and "group time". It was perfect for us and a great kick off to a very special time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank figmentslf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
First of all, congratulations to your family on the wedding; and thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with Tripadvisor. We always welcome and appreciate any feedback that may be helpful for both Lokahi Lodge(Chalet Kilauea Collection) and for future guests. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a good time with family. Best wishes to you and your family and mahalo for staying with us at Lokahi Lodge!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.0 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
1.2 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Volcano Hale
Volcano Hale
#5 of 19 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lokahi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokahi Lodge

Property: Lokahi Lodge
Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lokahi Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lokahi Lodge is nestled in the heart of Volcano Village in a quiet, peaceful area. The lodge is less than a mile from the entrance of the Hawai`i Volcanoes National Park and the many splendors and activities it has to offer. Lokahi Lodge blends modern convenience with country charm. Each of the carefully appointed guest rooms expresses warm aloha, delicately and beautifully furnished for your pleasure with cable TV, modern bathrooms with showers, and amenity centers with microwave, coffee maker, and mini fridge. This property fronts the beautiful and unique Volcano Village rainforest! The following is located on site: free WIFI and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Ctrip TA and HotelsClick so you can book your Lokahi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Lokahi Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing