We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lokahi Lodge”
Review of Lokahi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lokahi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lokahi Lodge”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Clean and confortable , great location . The room was very nice. The location was convenient to Volcano Park as well as several nearby restaurants.
It is also priced correctly. Definitely in line with the quality and location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RomaCarpediem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments and to share your experience at Lokahi Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!!! Aloha and Mahalo!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    72
    25
    9
    5
See reviews for
55
109
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It is always exciting and fun to visit the volcano in Hawaii's national park. It is also advisable to stay the night in order to maximize your enjoyment of the area. We stayed at the Lokahi Lodge in the town of Volcano. Since the Volcano House renovation, prices have increased substantially and we found that is was not worth the price. Lokahi Lodge in nearby volcano is roughly 5 minutes from the volcano and headquarters. The Lodge is very nice with clean and comfortable rooms, courteous staff, wonderfully beautiful and peaceful surroundings, and necessary amenities like internet access. It is also priced correctly. Definitely in line with the quality and location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation of us and your review on Lokahi Lodge. We are always happy to hear that our guests' enjoyed their stay with us. We strive to keep our prices competitive for our location, yet still provide great places to stay. Aloha and mahalo for your comments and welcome you back for any future getaways to the Big Island of Hawai'i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Tripoli
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My daughter was recently married on the Big Island and we spent a few days here, pre wedding, exploring the Volcano area. We were a fairly large group, a mix of friends and family some of us had met before and others had not. I believe we actually occupied all of the rooms in this building. For our size group the venue was perfect, it was as if we had rented a private home with a separate bed/bath for each family to ensure privacy and yet had the use of the common areas when we wanted to mingle. Family and friends came together or spent time apart as we wanted and all of the party commented on what a perfect start it was to the wedding. The grounds were pretty and the rooms were very nice. The baths appeared to be recently remodeled using stone and tile to give a "high end" appearance. The units and common areas were clean and nicely appointed. The common area computer did a good job keeping some of the children occupied in the evenings and the wi-fi was useful for our personal devices. The lanai which wrapped around the entire building was accessible from most of the rooms and was a nice place to gather at night. The hot tub was small but very welcome to soak tired muscles after a day of hiking in the park. The location was convenient to Volcano Park as well as several nearby restaurants and a local farmers market. The nearby Tai restaurant was good and we brought takeout back to set up in the common area for our own private buffet. I rated the service as good, only because we really didn't utilize it much. All and all I would highly recommend this property to anyone - especially larger groups who want to combine "private time" and "group time". It was perfect for us and a great kick off to a very special time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank figmentslf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
First of all, congratulations to your family on the wedding; and thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with Tripadvisor. We always welcome and appreciate any feedback that may be helpful for both Lokahi Lodge(Chalet Kilauea Collection) and for future guests. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a good time with family. Best wishes to you and your family and mahalo for staying with us at Lokahi Lodge!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Clean and comfortable for the money, great location with warm and comfortable accommodations. We were a bit unnerved by the window on the outside door to the room from a security perspective. The owners might want to consider some curtains for the windows or more traditional security doors.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venturer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Aloha and thank you for reviewing Lokahi Lodge on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the feedback and recommendations you provided us. I would also like to make you aware that during some recent updates we made to Lokahi Lodge, curtains were added to the room. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again on any future Volcano vacations. Aloha and Mahalo!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

What a great place to stat in the Volcano area. Clean, spacious, and charming - a nice change from the mega resorts on the coast, and a solid value for the price. We would stay here again. Our teenagers loved having separate beds in their room, too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfdogparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Mahalo for your review!!!! We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Please visit us again on any future vacations to Hawaii!! Again, thank you and Aloha!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights and it was perfect for our needs. Room was clean but quite dark. Beds comfortable. Microwave, fridge and coffee maker handy but would have appreciated more table space and difficult to wash pots in sink in bathroom. Excellent location for visiting volcano, especially at night, so close and no long drive after your visit. Overall would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magsLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Only stayed there for one night but I found the place lovely. Maybe I was exhausted to stay in big resort type hotels... but it was small, cute and room was big, well equipped with free wi-fi. Reception was few minutes by car away. My only complaint is that we missed breakfast which end, imo a little bit early (9am). But nice place - not expensive and peaceful! I recommend it without hesitation!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KplusM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.0 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
403 reviews
1.2 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
861 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
866 reviews
0.7 mi away
Volcano Hale
Volcano Hale
#5 of 19 in Volcano
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lokahi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokahi Lodge

Property: Lokahi Lodge
Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lokahi Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lokahi Lodge is nestled in the heart of Volcano Village in a quiet, peaceful area. The lodge is less than a mile from the entrance of the Hawai`i Volcanoes National Park and the many splendors and activities it has to offer. Lokahi Lodge blends modern convenience with country charm. Each of the carefully appointed guest rooms expresses warm aloha, delicately and beautifully furnished for your pleasure with cable TV, modern bathrooms with showers, and amenity centers with microwave, coffee maker, and mini fridge. This property fronts the beautiful and unique Volcano Village rainforest! The following is located on site: free WIFI and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Lokahi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Lokahi Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing