We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for volcano”
Review of Lokahi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lokahi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location for volcano”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights and it was perfect for our needs. Room was clean but quite dark. Beds comfortable. Microwave, fridge and coffee maker handy but would have appreciated more table space and difficult to wash pots in sink in bathroom. Excellent location for visiting volcano, especially at night, so close and no long drive after your visit. Overall would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magsLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    72
    25
    9
    5
See reviews for
55
110
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Only stayed there for one night but I found the place lovely. Maybe I was exhausted to stay in big resort type hotels... but it was small, cute and room was big, well equipped with free wi-fi. Reception was few minutes by car away. My only complaint is that we missed breakfast which end, imo a little bit early (9am). But nice place - not expensive and peaceful! I recommend it without hesitation!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KplusM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The room is in a larger facility with 4 total rooms and a large sitting area for guests. The place is older and has some maintenance issues. Room was ok but cramped wit 2 double beds it it. The main office is at a different location and this makes thigns difficult if you need anything. They do have a little breakfast you can purchase but it is at the main office location. There is a covered patio that goes around the building which is nice to be able to sit outside. No view but it is outside. The person who greeted us the next day at the main office 9we checked in after office hours) was not real friendly and got us checked in and gave us a map of the area. Our main reason for staying was it's being close to the Hawai'i Volcano National Park entrance. Beds were very hard. I would not recommend this for more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fogelsville, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed for only 1 night and wish we had stayed longer. Lodge is less than 2 miles to Volcano National Park Visitor Center. Lodge was clean, neat and comfortable - nothing fancy but the price was very resonable. The Makalapua Room had a king size bed with private bath. I really liked that they had a common area for travelers to chat and relax. I loved waking up in the moring and hearing the sounds of the rainforest!!!! Our continental breakfast was at the Chalet - great fruits, sweet breads, cereal with coffee and good teas. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed one night here and found the room to be amazingly clean, much cleaner in fact than the Hilton Hawaiian Village, where we had been staying on Oahu.
The decor was dated, but considering we are here to see a volcano thousands of years old, it seemed appropriate. The beds were hard, but unlike other reviewers we found the bedding (including the comforter) to be clean and fresh smelling. There were amenities like a fridge, microwave, coffee pot and some plates/utensils in the room, plus a nice HD TV. The bathroom was clean and well stocked with shampoo and other toiletries, good water pressure in the shower. The walls were a bit thin, we could hear water running, but no voices or TV noise from other rooms. The property was quaint and well maintained and had some beautiful plants & flowers. Great proximity to Volcanos National Park, and a good value (we paid $106 for the night). We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, but I would suggest it as breakfast at the area cafe's was expensive compared to what we were paying on other parts of the island. A nice place to stay for a night or two, maybe not for an extended time as I could see where the beds could get a little too uncomfortable. If you are here to see the sights and not hang out in a hotel room, it is perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at the Lokahi Lodge and were somewhat disappointed. We expected a lovely and enchanting place but found the beds as hard as the floor and terrible bedding. They had a coffee maker but no coffee in the room. The breakfast was mediocre. At least they should have yogurt with the limited selection of fruit and breads.
Cost not including breakfast was $ 113. Location to The volcano was excellent though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ehshelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The rooms on the ground floor are OK but not great. The accomodations are fine for the price (95-115$) but the style is outdated. They appear to be renovating some of the rooms so this could change. The rooms are clean; however, there was a very bad smell that was not mold-related. Apart from that OK overall. OK for one night or two to sleep, but I would stay there longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeDassin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.0 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
406 reviews
1.2 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
889 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
899 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Volcano Hale
Volcano Hale
#6 of 20 in Volcano
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lokahi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokahi Lodge

Property: Lokahi Lodge
Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lokahi Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lokahi Lodge is nestled in the heart of Volcano Village in a quiet, peaceful area. The lodge is less than a mile from the entrance of the Hawai`i Volcanoes National Park and the many splendors and activities it has to offer. Lokahi Lodge blends modern convenience with country charm. Each of the carefully appointed guest rooms expresses warm aloha, delicately and beautifully furnished for your pleasure with cable TV, modern bathrooms with showers, and amenity centers with microwave, coffee maker, and mini fridge. This property fronts the beautiful and unique Volcano Village rainforest! The following is located on site: free WIFI and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Lokahi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Lokahi Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing