We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a night or 2”
Review of Lokahi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lokahi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The room is in a larger facility with 4 total rooms and a large sitting area for guests. The place is older and has some maintenance issues. Room was ok but cramped wit 2 double beds it it. The main office is at a different location and this makes thigns difficult if you need anything. They do have a little breakfast you can purchase but it is at the main office location. There is a covered patio that goes around the building which is nice to be able to sit outside. No view but it is outside. The person who greeted us the next day at the main office 9we checked in after office hours) was not real friendly and got us checked in and gave us a map of the area. Our main reason for staying was it's being close to the Hawai'i Volcano National Park entrance. Beds were very hard. I would not recommend this for more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 205 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed for only 1 night and wish we had stayed longer. Lodge is less than 2 miles to Volcano National Park Visitor Center. Lodge was clean, neat and comfortable - nothing fancy but the price was very resonable. The Makalapua Room had a king size bed with private bath. I really liked that they had a common area for travelers to chat and relax. I loved waking up in the moring and hearing the sounds of the rainforest!!!! Our continental breakfast was at the Chalet - great fruits, sweet breads, cereal with coffee and good teas. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed one night here and found the room to be amazingly clean, much cleaner in fact than the Hilton Hawaiian Village, where we had been staying on Oahu.
The decor was dated, but considering we are here to see a volcano thousands of years old, it seemed appropriate. The beds were hard, but unlike other reviewers we found the bedding (including the comforter) to be clean and fresh smelling. There were amenities like a fridge, microwave, coffee pot and some plates/utensils in the room, plus a nice HD TV. The bathroom was clean and well stocked with shampoo and other toiletries, good water pressure in the shower. The walls were a bit thin, we could hear water running, but no voices or TV noise from other rooms. The property was quaint and well maintained and had some beautiful plants & flowers. Great proximity to Volcanos National Park, and a good value (we paid $106 for the night). We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, but I would suggest it as breakfast at the area cafe's was expensive compared to what we were paying on other parts of the island. A nice place to stay for a night or two, maybe not for an extended time as I could see where the beds could get a little too uncomfortable. If you are here to see the sights and not hang out in a hotel room, it is perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at the Lokahi Lodge and were somewhat disappointed. We expected a lovely and enchanting place but found the beds as hard as the floor and terrible bedding. They had a coffee maker but no coffee in the room. The breakfast was mediocre. At least they should have yogurt with the limited selection of fruit and breads.
Cost not including breakfast was $ 113. Location to The volcano was excellent though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ehshelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The rooms on the ground floor are OK but not great. The accomodations are fine for the price (95-115$) but the style is outdated. They appear to be renovating some of the rooms so this could change. The rooms are clean; however, there was a very bad smell that was not mold-related. Apart from that OK overall. OK for one night or two to sleep, but I would stay there longer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeDassin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

It's not awful. But it also needs a lot of work to catch up with the times. The wallpaper was peeling in places, the lighting was terrible, and the sheets were absolutely awful. The comforter in our room was terribly stained to the point that I didn't want to touch it, which was easy enough to do since we had two beds. The bathroom was impeccably clean, as was the general room, but I felt that it really should be updated in order to bea really top place to stay.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank dynagrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed one night in the Makalapua Room, and wished it could have been more. This delightful lodge is an old guesthouse comprising four guest rooms and a large communal lounge. The house has been fully modernised, while retaining the old world decor and charm. The room and bathroom are small, but fully appointed and spotlessly clean. The king size bed was firm but comfortable. The owners provide a great breakfast at $6 per head at the central office, which is a short drive (unfortunately too far to walk) away.

After the heat and noise of Honolulu it was pure pleasure to experience the cool peace of Volcano. Some may prefer the razzamatazz of Waikiki or the glitz of a 5-star, but this suited us down to the ground.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sapientpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.0 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
991 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 21 in Volcano
949 reviews
0.7 mi away
Volcano Hale
Volcano Hale
#5 of 21 in Volcano
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 21 in Volcano
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lokahi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokahi Lodge

Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: $93 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lokahi Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lokahi Lodge is nestled in the heart of Volcano Village in a quiet, peaceful area. The lodge is less than a mile from the entrance of the Hawai`i Volcanoes National Park and the many splendors and activities it has to offer. Lokahi Lodge blends modern convenience with country charm. Each of the carefully appointed guest rooms expresses warm aloha, delicately and beautifully furnished for your pleasure with cable TV, modern bathrooms with showers, and amenity centers with microwave, coffee maker, and mini fridge. This property fronts the beautiful and unique Volcano Village rainforest! The following is located on site: free WIFI and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lokahi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Lokahi Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing