We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on the room..”
Review of Chalet Kilauea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chalet Kilauea
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Depends on the room..”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Okay, don't choose the Garden room. We heard noisy footsteps stomping overhead before we went to bed, and then again starting at 6am. This guy was pacing around with heaving footfalls and you have to wonder, what is he doing? And then at 7am we could clearly hear conversations in the office right through the wall next to us. The Garden room is on the ground level and we would not recommend it. We asked to switch rooms and they obliged. All the other accommodations are on the second floor and are perfectly pleasant...!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ReneeRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review Chalet Kilauea on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments and feedback. It's great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us once you moved rooms:) We apologize on the other guests' behalf for their noise level and inconsideration of others. However, it's great that we were able to accommodate a move for you to help the rest of your stay be more pleasant. Again, thank you and Aloha!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    130
    45
    19
    17
See reviews for
45
282
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheektowaga, NY
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Located minutes from Volcanoes National Park, my husband and I truly enjoyed our stay in the Treehouse suite at Chalet Kilauea.

The grounds are thoughtfully manicured. There is a hot tub which overlooks the property and the koi pond. A path winds around the pond. The property is exceptionally lovely.

After signing in, my husband and I took the outdoor stairs which led up to a beautiful covered seating area and the door to our suite. We entered and went down a few stairs to the kitchenette area and the bathroom. (This bathroom is HUGE! I never bumped elbows with my husband when we were getting ready in the morning. I have been in hotel rooms that were the size of this bathroom alone!) There was a door leading from the bathroom to a small seating area overlooking lush foliage. I took the opportunity to read out there in the evening before heading in for the night.

A spiral staircase led to the upstairs bedroom. A wall of windows gave the feeling of being in the treetops...lovely. The large flat-screen television was an unexpected bonus. The bed was big, the pillows were heavenly and the mattress and bedding were comfortable.

The suite was very clean...and quiet. We didn't hear anyone else during our entire stay.

The continental breakfast is fairly basic, but lends itself to being held in a room that is great for socializing with other guests. The only caveat...if you're a tall person, the lower ceiling may make for a bit of a claustrophobic dining experience.

The most important question to ask is, "Would I stay here again?"
The answer: "Absolutely!"

Room Tip: If you have a hard time navigating stairs, choose a different room to stay in...but definitely make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimber1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your lovely recommendation on the Treehouse suite. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and found the gardens here to be as special as we try to make them. The bathroom in treehouse is definitely a larger one which does make getting ready with two people sooooo much easier!!! We are glad that you enjoyed the room! Come back and visit again on any future trips to the Big Island. Mahalo and Aloha!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had a great stay at Chalet Kilauea. We were in the Jade Room which was upstairs with a view of the koi pond and gardens. The unit is not air conditioned but that was not a problem for us. A little side porch attached to the room gave enough ventilation along with the window in our room. We did not have the optional breakfast as it looked to be dry cereal and fruit which we had actually brought along with us. This is a great place to stay to visit the park.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms require carrying luggage. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to provide comments and feedback on Chalet Kilauea for the Jade room. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the room and the attached lanai. Jade definitely has a great view of the pond and gardens so it's great to hear that you appreciated the view!! We hope you will come back and visit on any future trips to the Big Island of Hawai'i!! Aloha and Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had a terrific time, rooms were spacious, clean, and with nice amenities. Each room is unique, we were in Tree house which is very cool, but requires navigating a winding staircase to go to the bathroom at night. If that is OK give it a try. Optional breakfast is so-so. Check-in was adequate. The volcano area and rain forest are a must see; I would highly recommend a night or two on this amazing part of the island, and if you go this is a top place to stay. Disclaimer: This entire area is rustic, this is not the Ritz, but as nice as you will get, and that is pretty darn nice.

Room Tip: Tree House requires navigating a winding staircase to bedroom, which is separate from bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LSquared_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Aloha and thank you for reviewing Chalet Kilauea. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Treehouse room and mahalo for your recommendation. It's wonderful to hear that you found the rooms to be clean and the amenities provided sufficient for your needs. We hope to see you again if ever in the area. Again, mahalo and aloha!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We chose to stay here because we were going to Hawaii Volcanoes Nat'l Park, and what's closer than Volanco, HI? It was a great place to stay for that because the park is only about 5 minutes down the road. If you aren't planning to go to the park, there isn't much point to staying up here as it's about 30 minutes away from everything else. There are only a few restaurants around, but they are pretty good, if a bit pricey. The hotel itself is very nice, although the room we were in (the Africa Room) could use a few updates (like getting rid of the purple sink/toilet/tub), but everything was clean and worked properly. The separate balcony with mini-kitchen (mini-fridge, microwave, sink) was great and we sat out there one morning to eat some pineapple. They don't have air conditioning, but you really don't need it since you are at around 4,000 ft elevation. We just left the window open and the provided fan on and we were comfortable, and there's virtually no noise except for the birds chirping outside and the rain. We thought the fact that they serve breakfast and don't just include it in your room rate is kinda dumb, but we did go ahead and pay for it since it was a decent continental breakfast. All in all, it was a great stay and we would recommend staying for 2-3 nights if you are planning to head to the National Park.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunnyjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your review of Chalet Kilauea!! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the convenience of our location to the National Park. I do agree that the restaurants are a bit pricey, however, for the area, it's about normal. While Volcano village may be remote, it's still a great spot for touring the entire island. Most anywhere you stay on the island requires some driving. With Volcano being central to the major tourist spots, it's a great spot to "set up camp" and drive to desired locations. To address your comment about breakfast not being included; the reason for this is that when we included breakfast (historically), guests usually felt that it was a disservice when added to the room rate. About 50% of guests we have staying here leave very early in the morning and do not get a chance to eat the breakfast. (Or they just choose not to.) If we continued to include in the room rate, the other 50% are not getting to use what they paid for. So, we offer the breakfast at cost (actually a little below our costs) to guests. In this way, guests have the option to pay for breakfast or not. I hope that explains a little as to why we provide breakfast as an option. Again, we thank you for your comments and feedback and hope to see you again. Aloha!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We highly enjoyed the bungalow. It was very private but only a short stroll through pretty bushland to the pond and big jacuzzi. The room was very plush and comfortable. The only thing I would mention is that the kitchenette is only a fridge and a microwave. There weren't any proper knives or big plates so cutting fruit or tomatoes for sandwiches was a bit tough. Minor comment though...we loved our stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank respect425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking your time to review Chalet Kilauea. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in the Hapu'u Bungalow. We always love to hear about our guests' experiences! Unfortunately, we don't provide large plates and anything more than the basic utensils (fork, knife, spoon). We try to provide the necessities for our average guests' needs, but aside from installing full kitchens, we are limited in what we can add to the cupboards without taking up more of your room space:) Again, it is great that you were able to enjoy the privacy and the surrounding forest. We hope that you will come back and visit if ever in the area. Mahalo and aloha!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed only one night in the Tree House suite and we loved it! We wanted something close to Volcano National Park and this was perfect. The layout of the unit is very unique with the bedroom upstairs and a winding staircase. Bathroom is huge and the dehumidifier kept things comfortable. It was a little cool when we were there so we didn't use the hot tub. This is a very romantic room and it was perfect for us, as we were in Hawaii to celebrate our anniversary. Staff is exceptionally nice and friendly and we were able to check in early. The breakfast is a great buy and the coffee was some of the best we had our entire trip. This suite is perfect for couples and feels much more secluded than it really is. We drove into Hilo for dinner, but we did visit Volcano Winery and got a bottle of wine which we shared on our little porch area. If we ever return to this area I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review Chalet Kilauea on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It's always great to hear about our guests' experiences and which rooms they enjoy! I definitely agree that the Treehouse suite is a romantic room and most guests would agree. The spiral staircase and loft- type room makes it "feel" like one is in a real tree-house. I'm so glad that you enjoyed it. The coffee is great as well, as we make the blend here at Chalet Kilauea. We even have previous guests that continue to purchase the coffee and have shipped all over the world. The staff here congratulates you on your anniversary and we hope you had an amazing vacation on the Big Island of Hawai'i!! Come back and visit on any future trips to Volcano. Mahalo and Aloha!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.8 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
846 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
22.6 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
23.9 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
535 reviews
22.8 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Kilauea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Kilauea

Property: Chalet Kilauea
Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Kilauea 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Kilauea Hotel is nestled in the heart of Volcano Village in a quiet, peaceful area. Chalet Kilauea Hotel is a small, boutique hotel offering custom showers and wet bars with microwaves, mini-fridges, coffee makers, and more. All units offer unique bathrooms with modern fixtures, cable TV, and natural artistic accents! Chalet Kilauea features a beautiful Koi fish pond, complimentary tea/coffee(3pm-5pm), free WIFI, and 24-hour hot tub in the Garden Gazebo. Daily housekeeping included. 1 minute from shops, restaurants, and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalet Kilauea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Volcano (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Chalet Kilauea Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing