We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Chalet Kilauea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chalet Kilauea
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Chalet Kilauea over the weekend. It was a wonderful visit. The first night we stayed in Volcano Hale and the next night we stayed in Chalet Kilauea. The room at Volcano Hale had a wonderful skylight and we could see the stars at night and then in the morning we could watch the clouds passing by while lying on our bed. The bathroom which was shared with two other rooms was clean and had a huge shower. We had a nice chat in the morning with a couple from Manitoba Canada. The Treehouse Suite at Chalet Kilauea is wonderful and unique with am amazing spiral staircase. The room has a beautiful large Jacuzzi bathtub which was very relaxing. Both bedrooms were immaculate and comfortable. The staff could not have been more pleasant and neither could our stay. The breakfast was simple but delicious and was a great way to start off the morning.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mehu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Aloha and thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We are so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to stay in two of our properties! We hope that you will come back and visit again. Thank you and have a great day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    126
    43
    18
    17
See reviews for
45
276
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hilo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Just really neat! Breathe the air and appreciate where you come from. It was a great place to stay when spending special time with my fiance. The area is close to outdoor areas and not very populated!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawaiidavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to review Chalet Kilauea. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is great that you were able to immerse yourself in the surrounding beauty of Volcano and the serenity that our village offers. We hope to see you again on any future vacations to the Big Island. Mahalo and Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We do not normally comments hotels unless extraordinarily good; this will be our 1st exception, thanks to the rudeness of the manager on duty overnight.

After (and before) quite some snorkeling/hiking/diving, we decided to spoil ourselves a bit for 1 night and get a room with Jacuzzi; price: 140$ (30$ more for the Jacuzzi inside). We arrived there a bit "late" (after 17.30) and the reception was closing already. We got the keys but when we entered in the room we discovered that there was no Jacuzzi. Well, no problem, we thought. Maybe a mistake or, because we arrived "late" they gave the room away already. We decided to call the manager on duty overnight (BTW the phone in our Continental Room was not working) to either ask a room switch, or a 30$ refund (30$ for Hawaii is NOTHING, believe me). Rather than make a customer happy, he decided to keep us 1.30h at the phone (12$ bill) telling us that it was not his problem, that websites like Orbitz are parasites and sell rooms with outdated images and information, that we should not complain and we should have paid more anyway etcetcetc. Cutting a very long phone-call short, he preferred never say sorry (not even once) and blame us/Orbitz for a wrong booking, rather than a much simpler room switch, or partial refund.
NOT RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AVPES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to review your stay on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately, there was a misunderstanding during a conversation you previously had with an employee here at Chalet Kilauea. We do in fact have jacuzzis in SOME of the rooms we offer. However, the guest did not book that category of rooms with Orbitz and we kindly tried to explain that to him. The mentioned jacuzzi is shown below from Orbitz:

From orbitz: "Amenities across the properties may include elements such as a fully-equipped kitchen, wood-burning fireplace, Wi-Fi, Jacuzzi, LCD TV, lava-rock waterfall shower, koi pond or forested surroundings"

I do understand where the guest may have been confused, but we do not state anything misleading in this statement. Amenities may include a jacuzzi only states that some rooms have them and some don't. I apologize for any confusion this may have caused our guest. Also, unfortunately for both parties, we were sold out that night and could not accommodate the guest with the room they demanded. Furthermore, the guest was threatening an employee and was asked multiple times to leave the property. Due to the severity of the demanding guest, we had to ask the guest to leave, (something we have not previously had to do). The guest became belligerent and continued threats. We offered a full refund if the guest agreed to leave, which they refused to take. The guest eventually hung up after we informed him that we would be calling law enforcement to have him removed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed in the bungalow and loved it, we really wish we could have stayed for more that one night. There is a nice patio outside with a chiminea which sadly we couldn't get to work.
The room is lovely with a little kitchenette with a microwave and seating area. Not a major grumble as they do have heaters in all rooms but a blanket would have been nice on the bed as we were a bit cold when we woke up.
5 minute drive from visitor centre and the thai restaurant we ate at.

It is cooler here so a jumper is required and raincoat. We didn't get time to try the communal hot tub but looked nice.

Breakfast is cereal, bagels, bread, white, brown and sweetbread, fruit, jam's etc, hot and cold drinks, I can assure you it will be the cheapest meal you will eat in Hawaii. It was very nice and filled us up
Loved my stay here thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clairebooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Aloha and thank you for reviewing Chalet Kilauea on Tripadvisor. We appreciate any comments and/or feedback that you may have. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree, it's a bit cooler here, considering that we are at a higher elevation. We always try to provide guests with everything they may need, including the provided heaters and extra blankets near the beds. It's great that you enjoyed the continental breakfast with all the island's breads and fresh fruits (and I agree, you won't find much cheaper than this / a coffee at starbucks is close to the same price:). We hope that you will come visit us again if you're in the area. Mahalo and Aloha!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were in the fern forest chalet and enjoyed it immensely! Spacious and charming inside and out! King-size bed, Jacuzzi tub, waterfall shower surrounded by forest, large living room, tv, small kitchenette and very close to Volcanoes National Park.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Aloha and thank you for reviewing Chalet Kilauea! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our charming Hapu'u Bungalow and all it has to offer. Hapu'u is one of the favorites of past guests, and we receive many compliments for the little "touches," such as the custom waterfall shower. We hope to see you again on any future vacations to Volcano, Hawaii. Mahalo and Aloha!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This B&B was just right for two days of exploring Volcanoes National Park. It's a five-minute drive from the visitor center, and the staff was very helpful with information about park and the few dining and grocery shopping options in the very small town of Volcano. We stayed in the Continental suite, which has a minifridge and a few plates and utensils and was very convenient for packing picnic lunches. The continental breakfast buffet was inexpensive and perfect for our needs.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank puffinmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Mahalo for taking your time to review Chalet Kilauea on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Continental room and that our staff was able to help you with activities in the area. I would agree that the Chalet Kilauea Hotel is unique and quaint like a B&B, and we appreciate your lovely comments about your stay with us (and glad that you enjoyed our continental breakfast as well)....Again, thank you for reviewing our hotel and we hope to see you again the next time you visit the Big Island of Hawaii. Aloha!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This place is very close to the Volcanoes National Park and was perfect for an overnight stay in Big Island. Even though we reached around 8 pm in the night, our room was set and we were left with a welcome letter containing directions and key to our room. We stayed at the Garden Room at Chalet Kilauea (Note that each room is unique) and this particular room had a romantic feel to it. Awesome decor with a small private garden that's parts of the entrance to the room. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nchaplot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for reviewing Chalet Kilauea on Tripadvisor. We always welcome any comments or feedback from prior guests and we thank you for taking your time to do so. We are pleased to hear that you had a great experience in our Garden room and were able to enjoy the private entrance and garden area specific to that room. Anytime you are in the area, please come visit again and check out one of our newly remodeled rooms at the Chalet Kilauea!
Aloha! and Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.9 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
1.8 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
22.6 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
23.9 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Kilauea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Kilauea

Property: Chalet Kilauea
Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Kilauea 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Kilauea Hotel is nestled in the heart of Volcano Village in a quiet, peaceful area. Chalet Kilauea Hotel is a small, boutique hotel offering custom showers and wet bars with microwaves, mini-fridges, coffee makers, and more. All units offer unique bathrooms with modern fixtures, cable TV, and natural artistic accents! Chalet Kilauea features a beautiful Koi fish pond, complimentary tea/coffee(3pm-5pm), free WIFI, and 24-hour hot tub in the Garden Gazebo. Daily housekeeping included. 1 minute from shops, restaurants, and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Chalet Kilauea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Volcano (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Chalet Kilauea Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing