We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tree House - Don't book it”
Review of Chalet Kilauea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chalet Kilauea
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2007

We stayed in the Tree House room: what a very, very strange room. From the front door, you walk into the bottom floor which is a small, all-marble floor kitchen, which then leads into an enormous all-marble floor bathroom. The bathroom was supposed to have a two-person jacuzzi but there is NO WAY that two people could sit comfortably in the jacuzzi (unless you are two small children). There is a fireplace in the bathroom, but it's set on a thermostat and kicks off automatically most of the time (so maybe you get it to stay on for a whopping 5 minutes). If you decided to buck-up and try to have a romantic interlude in your enormous, ice-cold marble-floor bathroom, there is no way to dim the lights. Your choices are either full-blown flood lights or pitch black darkness. To get upstairs, you have to go up a very narrow and steep winding staircase (that seems rather rickety). On the positive side, the upstairs has a bedroom with a nice view of the rainforest canopy. However, if you have to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, you've got to go down (and back up again) the rickety, steep staircase, and there are no night lights. Again, your choices are either flood lights or complete darkness, neither being good options in the middle of the night. We paid WAY too much money for this room -- a total of about $295 for one night -- a total rip-off. The staff has been very friendly but this is definitely a place we will not stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank anakapuana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 413 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2007

This place was kind of weird. Our family (two adults in our late 40s and 2 teenage boys) stayed in the Continental Lace suit. The front door opens up into the bathroom! The main bedroom is off one side of the bathroom and a small sitting room with a trundle bed is on the other side of the bathroom. The sitting room was very small for our 2 boys (age 19 & 17) to comfortably relax in. I found it very strange to have to have this bathroom as the center point between the 2 rooms! Our bed was confortable but we were woken up in the early morning (it was still dark) by deliveries to the kitchen, which was directly below us. Our suite did open up onto a large communial sitting area, which was lovely. Breakfast was pretty good although you are not offered a choice of foods. Staff was friendly. The location is terrific -- very close to the volcano. I really wanted to like this place because it was unique and funky but I found the suite itself (which also had quite a few dead bugs) to be lacking.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LillianLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

.. then come here b/c everything seems authentic.
only rated a 1 b/c wouldn't let you rate a zero.
I think i once saw this place in a nightmare....
but it is a step up from anyplace you'd find in hilo...
better off driving to the park from the other side of the island, nothing on this side of the island is able to be rated anything more than a 1...

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank liq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

We stayed one night in the Treehouse Suite and it was the oddest place. The first floor is ALL marble--a tiny "kitchen" and a gigantic bathroom. Upstairs is the bedroom, which looks like a wood cabin.

It was fine, just strange.

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank scb_wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

Stayed first night on Hawaii at Inn at Volcano to be near the Volcanoes National Park. Stayed in Continnental suite, with the kids sleeping on daybed and trundle in what would otherwise serve as a parlor/sitting room. Outside door opens into the bathroom, which is tricky, as there are no partitions for the parts of the room. It has a large jetted tub, nice after a long plane flight. Interior door off the bedroom opens to a hall which leads to a "family room" with a fireplace, plenty of games, and a computer with online access you are welcome to use. We arrived too late for afternoon tea. The property has a bit of a worn look around the edges, could use some paint here and there, update bathroom fixtures, but it is quaint and charming. Bed quite comfortable. A few more dead bugs in the window casings than is preferable. Breakfast is included, and served in a dining room overlooking their pond. Tasty food, accomodations made for the kids' palates. They chose the menu, but some other guests asked for french toast and were obliged. Service was pleasant.
Location is perfect for heading into the park; we didn't do a night trip as there was no accessible lava flow while we were there. They do sell flashlights and water if you go when the lava is reachable.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubbleslt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

We spent two nights in the Garden Room while on our honeymoon. We had more than enough space, a super comfy bed, private lanai (but it rained so we didn't get to use it) and a huge bathroom including 2-person shower. The only (only) irritation was the sound of foodsteps from the room above us. This is a cozy B & B and the staff was really friendly. Breakfast was really yummy, both days it was fruit followed by a main item such as feta omelette and then a dessert such a sorbet. It was a really nice change of pace compared to the resorts we had stayed at on other islands. We would definitely come back! We'd also recommend eating at Thai Thai in Volcano Village!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank joh103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2007

We stayed in the smallest room: Out of Africa.
It had a flatscreen tv, big closet, a bathroom bigger than most standard bathrooms and amazing themed decor.

They had a common lounge with high speed internet access, a fireplace, tv, dining table, games, magazines, cd's, wraparound couch etc.

Outside is a shared kitchen stocked with plates, cutlery and cups and supplies to make tea and coffee etc.

It also has a Koi pond outside and a gazebo with a jaccuzzi, open til 9p.

When we checked in, we were poured juice drinks which was very different and pleasant. We were also given a tour of the Chalet.

Its a 5 min drive from the volcano park.

The only thing that wasnt so great was I noticed a mildew'y kinda smell, but it wasnt noticable until I actually thought about it.

Just be aware that this place is a bit cooler, but they provide heaters.

I totally recommend it.... Clean, comfortable, convenient with wonderful extra ammenities.

Ive attached a bunch of pics.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ThanksForReplying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.8 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
991 reviews
23.9 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
558 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
22.5 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
22.8 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Kilauea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Kilauea

Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Volcano
Price Range: $93 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Kilauea 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Kilauea Hotel is nestled in the heart of Volcano Village in a quiet, peaceful area. Chalet Kilauea Hotel is a small, boutique hotel offering custom showers and wet bars with microwaves, mini-fridges, coffee makers, and more. All units offer unique bathrooms with modern fixtures, cable TV, and natural artistic accents! Chalet Kilauea features a beautiful Koi fish pond, complimentary tea/coffee(3pm-5pm), free WIFI, and 24-hour hot tub in the Garden Gazebo. Daily housekeeping included. 1 minute from shops, restaurants, and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalet Kilauea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Volcano (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Chalet Kilauea Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing