We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, Quiet, Beautiful and Very Clean !!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volcano Country Cottages
Ranked #10 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Artist House with his parents since there are 2 bedrooms, a living room/dining room, full kitchen, and very nicely redone bathroom. Sandy and Garret were both very helpful about the area and friendly to talk to about other parts of the island too. It was a bit rainy while there, but the natural surroundings , Hilo side and Volcano National Park were beautiful. I highly suggest VCC for your stay. It is a home away from home, esp. the Artist House. It is fully equipped with all utensils for cooking breakfast, making coffee, etc.. The fireplace at night is a nice way to hangout too in the living room. We look forward to returning here in the future. Mahalo.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank loves2vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 182 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2006

Artist cottage was very nice and was also impressed with the other newer cottages. You will not be dissappointed. Very private and quite. Loved the beautful well kept yards and clean rooms. Thanks for opting to put dehumidifiers in your rooms. It made for much more comfortable evenings. Also a hugh thanks for suggesting the "Big Island Revealed" tour book.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2006

First of all, the place was imaculate! Absoultly no mildew smell like you have at some other B&B's. The surroundings were lovely, and the hosts were super friendly and helpful! We would DEFINATELY stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tdrumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2006

In short, I'd definitely stay at this location in a future visit.

The cottage was located very close to the entrance of the Volcano National Park, which made planning our day hikes a lot easier.

The owners were very friendly and offered lots of suggestions for Volcano activities. The fruits and breads supplied for each morning's breakfast provided a nice start to the day.

The cottage was very clean and spacious. The full kitchen made it easy to cook our own food that we purchased at Costco's in Kona. Prices at the local Volcano store were quite expensive ($6.00 for a bag of Oreo's).

We only stayed 2 days in Volcano, but I think 3 days may have been better. If you plan on hiking to the lava flows, you need to start around 2pm. After a 45 minute drive, the 2 mile hike through the lava fields is very slow. Make sure you wear good shoes, have a lot of water, and feel comfortable walking on extremely uneven ground with lots of sharp edges. The walk back during night time is even slower. If you don't feel a need to see the Lava up close and personal, you can wait until the evening to see the lava from the distant location.

We are very grateful that TripAdvisor helped us locate this great Bed & Breakfast value.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank TravelingTurnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2006

Nice place, we were in the Ohelo Berry Cottage. Not bad, but a bit small, especially when we viewed the other houses. Do yourself a favor and upgrade. It's not that the Cottage was bad, just small and the others are much newer and larger, not to mention have their own washer/dryer.

The breakfast isn't gourmet, Costco muffins and some local fruit, but it did the job.

Garrett's helpful, if anything too helpful as he was bending over backward to answer questions for us.

The Thai place down the street was good as well.
Not alot to do there at night, but it's nice and cool and if the weather's not misty it's nice to relax on the porch.

Definitely recommend

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2006

We (50 and 53) stayed in the Lehua Blossom cottage for 3 nights in June of 06. The place was 1) immaculate, 2) quiet and 3) convenient to Vocanos Nat'l Park (1 mi). You can see lots of pictures of VCC on their site. Garret and Sandy had GREAT advice on things to see, hikes in the park, and places to eat. The Thai restaraunt (Thai Thai) was fabulous -- we ate there 3 times!

We loved the park and hope we can come back again. The VCC was a beatuiful place to wake up in and return to. The breakfast of fruit and coffe and muffins and oatmeal was great for us and we found ourselves having some of it at lunch.

This place is a great value

Advice: your at 4000' so bring a jacket.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Speaks1Language
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2006

We spent three nights in the Ohelo Berry Cottage in August 2006. We arrived around sunset, and Sandy greeted us and gave us a good orientation to the cottages and lots of advice about Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. We opened the windows to let in some fresh air (A/C is not provided nor needed at 4000 feet) but ended up letting in a good number of moths and other bugs, as there were no screens. We met Garret the next morning and got a lot more good advice and borrowed all the gear we'd need for hiking in the park (cooler, umbrellas, walking sticks, flashlights). Sandy even ordered Thai food and put it in the cottage for us to eat after our evening hike out to the lava flow. They don't provide much as far as housekeeping, but we didn't expect much. The breakfasts were in the cottage each afternoon, as promised. The wireless network didn't work well in the cottage, but was a strong signal outside of the office and in the parking area. We would highly recommend the cottages. Sandy and Garret run a great place, the location is ideal, and we'd stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jtdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volcano hotels
0.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
0.8 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#7 of 32 in Volcano
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
544 reviews
1.4 mi away
Volcano Acres Ranch Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Country Cottages

Address: P.O. Box 545, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785-0545
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: $75 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Country Cottages make paradise feel like home. The tranquil surroundings and cosy cottages help you relax and leave your world behind. We have several cottages to meet your needs, complete with a private bath, wireless internet access, hot tub access and usually a kitchen, living, and dining room. Breakfast is included and will be brought to your cottage. Our one-bedroom studio Ohelo Berry Cottage, sleeps one or two comfortably. Our two bedroom Artist's House will sleep up to four. The one bedroom Lehua Blossom Cottage and Ohia Forest Cottage will sleep four guests with a futon couch in the living room. Volcano Country Cottages sits on three breathtaking acres with hapu'u ferns, beautiful Ohia lehua trees and century old tsugi cedar trees. We are an excellent base for exploring the south east side of the island. You will be close to hiking trails in Volcanoes National Park and within walking distance of several wonderful restaurants in Volcano Village. Visit Hilo, Akaka Falls, and Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Country Cottages Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing