We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, tranquil, stunning”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volcano Country Cottages
Ranked #9 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 night stay here. When we arrived in Hilo it was raining and as we drove we weren't sure what to expect as it was as miserable as the UK. But these cottages offer a tranquil hideaway of your own and a great base for exploring this side of Big Island. We were made to feel so at home by Sandy & Garrett & we can't thank them enough. We enjoyed the evening 10 minute drive to see the "glow" at the Volcano National Park, late evening hot tub relaxing, cooking in the lovely kitchen and enjoying the cottage as much as the location. We slept so soundly in this paradise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabster49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Aloha and mahalo nui for your kind words. We do our best to help provide a peaceful and restful place for our guests, sounds like we succeeded. We do get plenty of rain (we are in a rainforest) but you are just minutes from the Kau Dessert. There are many micro climates and Garret is usually successful at pointing you to the drier ones when necessary. The glow is amazing and we are delighted you were able to view it. . . So glad you enjoyed your stay here and trust the remainder of your trip went as well. Take care and a hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 182 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the cottage. I never knew what quiet and peaceful was until coming here. We really enjoyed speaking with Garret and Sandy. Garret was very knowledgeable regarding the area and helped us plan our stay. We will definitely be making a trip back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kutedoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Mahalo nui for sharing your experience with us. We do love to share the island and Garret does an amazing job of helping those who wish advice on what to see and do. It always makes us feel better when we are able to help you enjoy and make the most of your limited time on the island.
We normally say "our little piece of paradise", but yes, it could be "peace" of paradise as well. So glad you found it to be quiet and peaceful. This is truly paradise!
Looking forward to seeing you again! A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

It was our pleasure to stay in the Artist House in late August. The cottage was immaculately clean, the kitchen was well stocked with the necessary crockery and utensils and linen. The gardens and grounds are beautiful and learning about the various plants from Garret added to our enjoyment. The hot tub was an unexpected bonus and delight. Breakfast provisions were provided each day being a platter of fresh fruit, different types of home made bread and fresh eggs. Garret's local knowledge was invaluable. He gave us some great advice about different sites and activities - as well as suggested order, and approximate visit times to maximize our time in the area. Sandy and Garret have rich local knowledge that they willingly share when asked. The Artist Cottage was charming set in a beautiful and tranquil location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nan_Wehipeihana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Aloha and mahalo nui for sharing our little piece of paradise. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and all of Garret's advice regarding sites to see. Garret loves to share his garden and pass along the the particulars of the plants. We both love the island and wish to share it with our guests, giving them suggested timelines for activities they may be interested in, leaving them to pick and choose as time allows.
We do our best to provide a delicious breakfast and are glad that you found the kitchen to have all the necessary utensils and crockery.
We trust you enjoyed your visit to the other side of the island and look forward to a return visit if time permits! A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Volcano Country Cottages! We really appreciated Garret's time and knowledge in planning our activities so that we could maximize our time in this beautiful part of the Big Island. The night time Lava walk was a fantastic experience! The grounds are lovely, and the cottage was very comfortable. A great stay. thanks!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank CanTravelMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Mahalo nui for your kind words. We are happy we were able to help you enjoy your stay to the max. Garret is an excellent "guide" with much detail to help avoid, the "did we miss it?" or "are we there yet?" questions thay can go with some stops along the way. The lava hike, though not for the faint of heart, is a not to be missed adventure. So glad we were able to help line it up.
Mahalo again for your kind words. Perhaps we will see you again! A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in the spacious, clean, and well supplied Artist House while exploring the volcanoes area. Garret and Sandy were very knowledgable and helpful; they have created beautiful gardens in the rain forest around the cottages, and did everything they could to contribute to a great experience. Their breads and fresh fruits are delicious, too! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartoncreek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Aloha and so glad we were able to accommodate your family and provide the knowledge and comfort you needed. The local fruit here is so fresh and full of flavor, the breads (made for us by a great friend) area a great addition too. Mahalo for your kind words and we are thankful you enjoyed your stay! Take care and a hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Garret and Sandy are the perfect hosts for your visit to the Big Island. We stayed in the Ohelo Berry cottage, which was really pleasant and cozy. The cottages are perfectly located for really easy access to the park (approx. 5 minutes). Moreover, the fresh fruit and bread each morning were delicious, and it was so relaxing to hang out in the Jacuzzi after a day in the park. You will not find a better value anywhere. Indeed, we enjoyed our stay so much we decided to extend it by another night!

I cannot emphasize enough how helpful Garret's advice was each day. We had a general plan of what we wanted to do, but Garret provided invaluable information about where to eat, places to visit, how to get places, and other such advice -- all of which he customized based on our interests. We tend to like to make our own plan and start going in the morning, but it was well worth taking the 20 minutes to talk to him each morning for his advice. He really provides great insight into both the touristy and non-touristy places and excursions.

This place is a wonderful gem while staying on the Big Island. (Plus, it is right next to Thai Thai, which is a fantastic restaurant).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shurv1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Aloha and mahalo nui for taking the time to write such a nice review. Garret is amazing at tailoring the day to your interests. He takes the time to find out what you like to do and what you wish to see while here. He does his best to steer you in that direction, throwing in a few other sites you may not be aware of.
Our closeness to the park is a great advantage as it allows you to return and rest for a bit if need be. You are not spending too much time driving to and from the park.
Mahalo nui and hope to see you again if you return to the Big Island. A hoi hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Garret and Sandy were so helpful in planning the best way for each of us to see the Volcano based on our abilities. Really appreciated their insights. The Artist House was wonderful. Clean and comfy. The breakfast was awesome, fresh eggs, milk, great local fruit and mouth watering sweet breads!
Thanks for the stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabsAppleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Aloha and mahalo nui loa for such a great review. We do always try to assess what our guests are capable of and interested in so they we don't send them someplace they won't enjoy. So glad you enjoyed the local sweet bread, we get many compliments on it.
Mahalo for taking the time to write this review, we always appreciate it. A hui hou! ('tl we meet again.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volcano hotels
0.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
0.8 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#6 of 32 in Volcano
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#14 of 32 in Volcano
267 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 22 in Volcano
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Country Cottages

Address: P.O. Box 545, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785-0545
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: $75 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Country Cottages make paradise feel like home. The tranquil surroundings and cosy cottages help you relax and leave your world behind. We have several cottages to meet your needs, complete with a private bath, wireless internet access, hot tub access and usually a kitchen, living, and dining room. Breakfast is included and will be brought to your cottage. Our one-bedroom studio Ohelo Berry Cottage, sleeps one or two comfortably. Our two bedroom Artist's House will sleep up to four. The one bedroom Lehua Blossom Cottage and Ohia Forest Cottage will sleep four guests with a futon couch in the living room. Volcano Country Cottages sits on three breathtaking acres with hapu'u ferns, beautiful Ohia lehua trees and century old tsugi cedar trees. We are an excellent base for exploring the south east side of the island. You will be close to hiking trails in Volcanoes National Park and within walking distance of several wonderful restaurants in Volcano Village. Visit Hilo, Akaka Falls, and Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Country Cottages Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing