We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volcano Country Cottages
Ranked #10 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights in Jan. 2012.
We did not book in advance (we rarely do that while traveling) and arrived quite late at Volcano Country Cottages by chance.

Our intention was to stay here 1 night, but we were so pleased we decided to stay 2 more nights.
The owners were very friendly and helpful. They showed us what the best places to visit were, what to avoid and what clothing to take, as the weather can be quite different on various parts of the island.
The cottage was beautifully arranged, and the breakfast was tasty.

We definately recommend this place!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for your great review! We are glad we had room for you and are always happy to extend a stay. We love to share the island and after many years of being visitors and now residents of the island we have LOTS of local knowledge to share. This is a BIG island and you will visit many climates in a day, thus the various clothing suggestions. We are at 4000 feet and you will most likely go all the way to the ocean and back, a typical 15-20 difference in temperature.
We are happy you enjoyed the cottage and the breakfast and decided to stay longer. We enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again if it works out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 182 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed 2nights & wished we had at least 2 more. We stayed in the cute & quaint Berry Cottage. We loved it. Garret is an amazing "trip advisor". He arranged a lava walk with Andy for us. Unlike other guides , Andy was in no rush to get us back to our car. It was the highlight of our trip . If you are able to do this hike it is a Must do. The beautiful gardens & relaxing atmosphere is a perfect place to unwind after hiking in Volcano State Park which is less than 10 mins away. We had fresh fruit and a wonderful freshly baked loaf placed in our room daily for breakfast. The best fluffiest robes I've ever had, it was like being wrapped in a teddy bear, comfy bed, great porch to sit and listen to the birds, & view the gardens! Sandy & Garret are perfect hosts Garret can offer advice on activities that interest you and make the necessary arrangements if required. Everything he suggested to us did not disappoint He even gave suggestions for Kona. Mahalo Sandy & Garret.
Stuart & Karen
Alberta , Canada

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Shawfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Aloha and mahalo nui for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed the cottage and found the robe and bed to be comfy as well. The birds are amazing here and it is relaxing to sit on the lanai and enjoy their songs.
The lava hikes are amazing (not for the faint of heart) and we are pleased that Andy did such a great job! We trust you enjoyed Kona and the remainder of your trip.
We look forward to having you stay with us again (perhaps a longer stay?). A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The accommodations are clean and pleasant. Rooms heat right up with the space heater if you need it. The hot tub worked well, but they keep it a bit cooler than I like (38C ~ 100F). Garret and Sandy are both knowledgable and extremely helpful. They went out of their way to help us get a package via UPS at their place. The location is excellent. A 5 minute drive to the park, but quiet and peaceful, especially in the beautifully tended gardens. Thai restaurant, laundromat market next door.

Breakfast is delicious fresh fruit, coffee, juice, and eggs you can prepare as you like. The rooms are not brand new, so expect to see some wear. It is absolutely clean and comfortable.

Whatever advice they give you- take it! They know the whole island, right down to the mile marker of each turnout.

Room Tip: The Artist's House is perfect for a family or 2 couples traveling together. It is the closest to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dozy_sandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for taking time to write such a lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed the gardens and the Thai restaurant as well. Our location near the National Park is always a plus for those needing to take a break in the middle of their busy day, or just wanting to make the most of their day without too much extra driving.
We are always happy to help with the extras when we can. So glad your package arrived prior to your departure! Take care and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in march 2013
Four cottages in the middle of a rain forest - close to Volcano National Park ( 5 minute drive)
Beautiful grounds (landscape), hot tub, breakfast served every morning, great and knowledgeable owners taking care of the place.

Pros: Great location in Volcano, close to National Park, Thai Thai restaurant, post office, general store. Beautiful grounds (enchanted forest feel), great hosts,, fresh breakfast (eggs, butter, milk, juice, fresh fruit and banana bread), very clean cottages, comfortable beds, nice kitchen, bathroom and living space.

Cons: NONE - its the perfect place to stay while in Volcano area.

Room Tip: Any of the four cottages is a great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller187B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Aloha and mahalo nui for that wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and all the "extras" in the area. Being close to the National Park yet in the beautiful rainforest is certainly a blessing we love to share. A kitchen is always handy for making a picnic lunch or just for preparing snacks while relaxing on the lanai (porch.)
Mahalo for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We hope you are able to return some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in the Lehua Blossom cottage and it was a nice little cozy cottage. There is no wifi but it's a short walk to the main office to use the connection there. There's also no t.v. or telephone in the cottage. Which was fine with us since we were hardly there. It did get cool at night but there was a space heater which warmed up the cottage nicely and we just moved it into the room we were in. We were also close to the volcano park, about a 5 mins or so drive. There is no grocery store around so make sure you stock up in Hilo before heading down. And the only restaurant in town was a Thai restaurant right next door (expensive). Sandy was a great help and full of information. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning (papaya, apple banana, pineapple, 4 eggs, butter, milk, coffee, orange juice, oatmeal) The cottage was spotless and well maintained. We packed a lunch to bring with us to the Volcano park and there was an ice pack in the freezer for us to use with our cooler bag. But if you don't have one they have a cooler you can use for the day. We also forgot something in the cottage and Sandy was nice enough to mail it to us. We had a very pleasant stay. Thanks Sandy!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoohBearRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for such a kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage comfortable, breakfast delicious, and the ice pack for your cooler handy. . . Our houses are built like mainland homes with insulation to help keep the house warm once you get the heater going. We are at 4000 foot elevation so it can get cool! There is plenty of greenery around making it difficult for wi-fi to reach all the houses. The office is not too far away and easily accessible.
Mahalo for taking the time to write such a kind review and we hope to see you again! A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay on a spontaneous trip to see the volcanos national park. Well worth the drive and a great spot. Te hosts were excellent and shared several secrets of how best to see the park, restaurants and other things to do and see on our trip back to Kona. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Mahalo for your great review. Spur of the moment trips can be exciting. We are happy we were here for you to provide a relaxing place after your day of adventure. Hopefully you will be able to stay longer and enjoy the rest of the property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Sandy and Garret are wonderful hosts! they have several cottages on their property which is In the village of Volcano very close to the entrance to the national park. the cottages are spotlessly clean, well stocked and very comfortable. The best part was the wonderful aloha spirit of the hosts, who are generous with their time and intimate knowledge of the area. mahalo!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IMB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for such a great review. As we have said before, we love sharing the island with our guests and providing as much information as they like regarding the area.
Our aim is for our guests to have a clean comfortable place to stay. Adding the joy of living here is just our natural way. It's always nice to hear we have reached that goal. . . Mahalo nui and perhaps we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volcano hotels
0.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
0.8 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#7 of 32 in Volcano
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
544 reviews
1.4 mi away
Volcano Acres Ranch Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Country Cottages

Address: P.O. Box 545, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785-0545
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: $75 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Country Cottages make paradise feel like home. The tranquil surroundings and cosy cottages help you relax and leave your world behind. We have several cottages to meet your needs, complete with a private bath, wireless internet access, hot tub access and usually a kitchen, living, and dining room. Breakfast is included and will be brought to your cottage. Our one-bedroom studio Ohelo Berry Cottage, sleeps one or two comfortably. Our two bedroom Artist's House will sleep up to four. The one bedroom Lehua Blossom Cottage and Ohia Forest Cottage will sleep four guests with a futon couch in the living room. Volcano Country Cottages sits on three breathtaking acres with hapu'u ferns, beautiful Ohia lehua trees and century old tsugi cedar trees. We are an excellent base for exploring the south east side of the island. You will be close to hiking trails in Volcanoes National Park and within walking distance of several wonderful restaurants in Volcano Village. Visit Hilo, Akaka Falls, and Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Country Cottages Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing