We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Charming, Affordable”
Review of Volcano Hale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Volcano Hale
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Loved staying here. We stayed in the Malia room. It had a nice size bed, very clean, nice bathroom (there were 3 rooms on this ground level but we rarely had to wait for bathroom usage and it still felt pretty private). Easy access to outside. I wish all our vacations had an option like this!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Char440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Aloha!! Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We always appreciate any feedback or recommendations from our guests that will help us make Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection) even better for future guests. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again on any future "Volcano vacations"!!!! Best wishes to you and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 242 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

My stay in the Malia room was more than I could have ever hoped for. This was my home away from home while I spent the days and early evenings with family for the week. Everything I needed was at my finger tips and a trip to the grocery store gave me simple meals tucked in the shared refrigerator utilizing many of the shared pots & pans and dishes. Everyone in the hale was friendly and always generous in cleaning up after themselves. A perfect perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: I preferred the ground floor, lugging only myself to the second floor kitchen and additional bath wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RondeneW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and were able to utilize Volcano Hale as a place to spend quality time with your family. Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we hope to see you again for any future Volcano vacations. Aloha and Mahalo!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was not to excited about sharing a bathroom with 3 other rooms but it turned out fine. There is a large living area and kitchen with 3 bedrooms. Only one other bedroom was rented and they were two young ladies from S. Korea who were very nice and interesting. We also met a couple downstairs from Denmark and ended up having dinner with them and going back to the volcano at night to see the red glow. The room is very private and the gardens surrounding our house were gorgeous - we stayed at Volcano Hale. They have several houses they rent but you have to pick up your keys at a central location. They serve breakfast at the central location for $6.25 and it was fresh fruit, fresh breads, cereal, juices and great coffee. Very nice people.Very reasonably priced for Hawaii.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rags12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We needed a place for one night before flying out of Hilo Airport. It was Merrie Monarch Festival week and rooms were scarce for miles around. We took the only room offered to us, at a very reasonable price, and didn't expect much. Sharing a bathroom with two other rooms on our floor presented no challenges and sharing kitchen facilities allowed us to interact with other guests.
Everything we needed was provided and our stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We loved this cute little place. Our room on the top floor was small but comfortable and we only shared the bathroom with one other room upstairs. I was worried about sharing a bathroom but it was never really an issue. Also, the bathrooms are very nice and spacious. Even though there are several other houses close by, and we were worried about noise since we slept with the windows open, but noise was never an issue. The house is only about a five or ten minute drive to the entrance of Volcano National Park, so it's a perfect place to explore the park.

My only complaint is the rigid check in time. We got to town an hour and a half early hoping to get into our room a little early and found the door locked and lights off. I know we only had to wait a little more than an hour, but we had just been snorkeling and really just wanted a shower at that point, and instead we had to wander around Volcano Natl Park in our swimsuits, coverups and flip flops. Mildly annoying, but I also understand this is probably a small family run kind of place, and they probably don't have the ability to staff the building all the time. It's just something others should be aware of.

Room Tip: We were upstairs in the Ohia room. It was a little small, but worked for our needs, and it was also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Beautiful home with cute rooms that each have their own personality. The surrounding area is stunning. Very quiet even though other houses are close by. One of our fave things to do is get all settled into the room then walk down the road at night and do a romantic stroll. Very close to the Volcano National Park!!!

WARNING: Do not use the 2nd floor shower....it doesn't have any pressure and it takes forever for the soap to be washed off.

Room Tip: Lokelani room is nice and on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panthurdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Tidy rooms, shared kitchen that was always communally respected. An eclectic mix of pleasant and non-intrusive guests. There were at least 3 bathrooms on the two floors we saw (for maybe six rooms) and we NEVER had to wait for a bathroom, all of which were modern and clean and spacious. Beautiful grounds and lovely people, minutes away from Volcanoes National Park. Friends stayed at a nearby "shabby" location and paid much. At $60 a night, reserve early! We will definitely be here again should we return to the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volcano hotels
0.3 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
0.8 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#7 of 32 in Volcano
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 22 in Volcano
317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 22 in Volcano
1,011 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#14 of 32 in Volcano
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Hale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Hale

Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: $64 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Volcano Hale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cute budget property for travelers in search of comfort at a great value! This charming, historic, fully renovated 1912 property is complete with 3 floors and 4+ accommodations offering cable TV. Amenities include: free WIFI, common full mini kitchen for quick meal creations, and 2 clean, fully-stocked common bathrooms with showers. This property is perfect for travelers with an independent spirit in search of eco-friendly accommodations! Our sharing aspects uniquely provide the smallest impact upon the surrounding rainforest ecology. Back to Mother Nature, low-impact vacationing. 1 minute from shops, restaurants, and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Volcano Hale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Volcano Hale Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing