We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Volcano Hale
Nearby Hotels
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
$165
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$157
$140
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arnott's Lodge(Hilo)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$316
$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kalaekilohana(Naalehu)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
91
96
29
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
96
29
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomother guestsshared facilitiesthe kitchentop floorbudget accommodationsnational parklarge common areabasic roomquiet roadvery pleasant stayguest housethe big islandstayed one nightshort drivetwo nightsbackpackers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 247 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My stay in the Malia room was more than I could have ever hoped for. This was my home away from home while I spent the days and early evenings with family for the week. Everything I needed was at my finger tips and a trip to the grocery store gave me simple meals tucked in the shared refrigerator utilizing many of the shared pots & pans and dishes. Everyone in the hale was friendly and always generous in cleaning up after themselves. A perfect perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: I preferred the ground floor, lugging only myself to the second floor kitchen and additional bath when necessary :-)
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RondeneW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and were able to utilize Volcano Hale as a place to spend quality time with your family. Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we hope to see you again for any future Volcano vacations. Aloha and Mahalo!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was not to excited about sharing a bathroom with 3 other rooms but it turned out fine. There is a large living area and kitchen with 3 bedrooms. Only one other bedroom was rented and they were two young ladies from S. Korea who were very nice and interesting. We also met a couple downstairs from Denmark and ended up having dinner with them and going back to the volcano at night to see the red glow. The room is very private and the gardens surrounding our house were gorgeous - we stayed at Volcano Hale. They have several houses they rent but you have to pick up your keys at a central location. They serve breakfast at the central location for $6.25 and it was fresh fruit, fresh breads, cereal, juices and great coffee. Very nice people.Very reasonably priced for Hawaii.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rags12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We needed a place for one night before flying out of Hilo Airport. It was Merrie Monarch Festival week and rooms were scarce for miles around. We took the only room offered to us, at a very reasonable price, and didn't expect much. Sharing a bathroom with two other rooms on our floor presented no challenges and sharing kitchen facilities allowed us to interact with other guests.
Everything we needed was provided and our stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We loved this cute little place. Our room on the top floor was small but comfortable and we only shared the bathroom with one other room upstairs. I was worried about sharing a bathroom but it was never really an issue. Also, the bathrooms are very nice and spacious. Even though there are several other houses close by, and we were worried about noise since we slept with the windows open, but noise was never an issue. The house is only about a five or ten minute drive to the entrance of Volcano National Park, so it's a perfect place to explore the park.

My only complaint is the rigid check in time. We got to town an hour and a half early hoping to get into our room a little early and found the door locked and lights off. I know we only had to wait a little more than an hour, but we had just been snorkeling and really just wanted a shower at that point, and instead we had to wander around Volcano Natl Park in our swimsuits, coverups and flip flops. Mildly annoying, but I also understand this is probably a small family run kind of place, and they probably don't have the ability to staff the building all the time. It's just something others should be aware of.

Room Tip: We were upstairs in the Ohia room. It was a little small, but worked for our needs, and it was also pretty quiet. It was a little stuffy when we first walked in, but once you open the windows there is really good window circulation.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Beautiful home with cute rooms that each have their own personality. The surrounding area is stunning. Very quiet even though other houses are close by. One of our fave things to do is get all settled into the room then walk down the road at night and do a romantic stroll. Very close to the Volcano National Park!!!

WARNING: Do not use the 2nd floor shower....it doesn't have any pressure and it takes forever for the soap to be washed off.

Room Tip: Lokelani room is nice and on the 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panthurdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews