We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very accomodating” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volcano Hale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Volcano Hale
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
279 reviews
277 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“very accomodating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2008

i booked a room at volcano hale because it was the lowest price that i saw for a stay near volcano national park. the location was excellent, just 2 miles from the park on a very quiet residential road. there are 6 guest rooms in the house, with a shared large kitchen, living room and sun porch/eating area. overall the house was very nice- only complaint is that the kitchen could've been cleaner. it can be a nice place to stay assuming that the other guests are nice. when i stayed there, a group of 12 college kids and other guests were in the house. it was overbooked in my opinion, with kids sleeping on the floor on mats
when i asked for a change to one of their other houses, the receptionist was extremely understanding and upgraded me w/o charge to one of their lodges which was obviously pricier and more luxurious. the service by the reception desk was exceptional and friendly. there was a computer for common use, free. they gave the impression that they really care about their guests!! it was a good experience.

  • Liked — price, location customer service
  • Disliked — volcano hale was overcrowded
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    89
    27
    19
    10
See reviews for
32
113
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
L.A.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2008

This is a 3-story house that has been remodeled and various bedrooms given titles. We were sent to Nene, on the bottom floor, which was pretty small and had mildewed curtains. It was fairly cold and the walls were very thin. Bathroom was close but shared. The office upgraded us to the Lodge, the upper floor room, which was great. Another problem was that no one in town knew where this house was. The office for the properties is on Wright Road. You have to go there to check in. If you want breakfast at Volcano Hale you have to pay for it separately. Hilo is 28 miles from the Park and you might want to stay there, especially if the lava flows are not in the park itself, because you can't get to them in the park when that is the case.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaKool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Volcano Hale has always been a shared bathroom facility. All guests booking this property know the arrangement with the bathrooms. The facility is a great service to those searching for comfort and relaxation at a very very reasonable price. In regards to moldy curtains: Minor mold can occur at any facility located within a rainforest with very high humidity year-round. That being said, we take concerns like this very seriously! Shortly after this review, we employed several anti-mold systems at property. In particular, dehumidifiers in certain rooms, anti-mold paints & fabrics, etc.. Mold is a “second resident” in Volcano Village at Volcanoes National Park. We are in a rainforest; the perfect environment for molds. In staying with us, I would not be concerned about the rooms or the property since we have addressed the issue and have had absolutely no incidents in years. As a general public notice, I would, however, think about your sensitivity to molds vis a vis the National Park and surrounding area. You will undoubtedly encounter some mold in the park or on other rainforest trails as: rainforest is a beautiful, natural system of growth AND decay. You will not, however, encounter any with Volcano Hale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2008

As others have said in reviews before, we chose the Volcano Hale for two reasons. 1, it is so close to Volcanoes National Park you can be there in 5 minutes 2, it was cheap and appeared to be cheerful from the website.
We stayed in the Malia room for the rate of $70 per night. Our budget per night during our holiday was no more than $100 per night. Accomodation seems to be very expensive in this area so we thought this was very reasonable.
Basically we should have stayed in Hilo, or forked out the money to stay somewhere else in Volcano.
The room stank of damp. We wanted to leave the windows open, but couldn't as there were no security screens. Also, you check-in at another property up the road, so there is no one to speak to on site about any problems you might have. I'm glad we only spent one night here. The shower could have done with a clean as well.
Hilo is about half an hour away and offers more choice of accomodation. If I knew then what I know now I would have stayed there instead. I would recomend others to do the same!

  • Liked — Lots of towels in the shared bathroom
  • Disliked — Smell of the room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sublimerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Volcano Hale has always been a shared bathroom facility. All guests booking this property know the arrangement with the bathrooms. The facility is a great service to those searching for comfort and relaxation at a very very reasonable price. Sometimes other guests are not as considerate (or clean) in common areas as they should be; this is very rare. The vast majority of the guests at the facility are just like you and me: very nice and pleasurable. We do perform a cleaning of the common areas once per day.

In regards to damp: Dampness can occur at any facility located within a rainforest with very high humidity year-round. That being said, we take concerns like this very seriously! Shortly after this review, we employed several dehumidifiers. This issue has been addressed; we have had absolutely no incidents in years.

The facility is a historic, turn-of-the-century property. That being said, many windows without screens have been replaced to meet modern demands. Many more will be replaced in the coming months. We are diligent about preserving the historic feel and value; we are also diligent about guest comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bozeman, mt
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2008

We stayed in the Ohia Room which is at the top of the house. The beds were comfortable and the windows full of green view of ohia (as promised in the name). The house has a nice kitchen and pretty sitting areas- very nice if you enjoy old style houses like I do. The bathroom was a bit humid, but shower worked fine. Character and charm- for romantic poets and naturalists. Maybe not so much for the 'high maintenance' traveler who expects everything to be perfect. Go to a chain if you want that. Stay here if you don't mind a bit more of an adventure.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bluephacelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2008

My husband and I spent one night at Volcano Hale. All I can say is I am glad it was just one night!. We stayed in the "Nene" room. The room was very small, had a queen bed, an outdated heater that belongs in a museum (you can feel the heat only if you 6 inches from it) and nothing else worth mentioning.

The biggest problem with this room was the smell. It smelt like no one had been in there for months and then a lot of cheap air freshner had been used to mask the dank smell. With a lot of diffcullity we managed to get one window open to air out the room but it didnt help much. The house is creaky and I woke up everytime someone in the floor above me decided to walk around, or use the rest room.

The drapes in the room were stained and the room overall was dirty. I think all they clean there are the sheets.

Ours was a last min trip and we didnt have choice in the accomodation available. This place was available, was cheap (now i know why!) and strangely, had great reviews!!!!!.

The three rooms on our floor shared one bathroom. The bathroom was clean, was well stocked with towels etc. The house in general was pretty, and did not have that smell. In fact I did consider sleeping on the couch!!

I'd rather spend double of what i spent here and stay in a clean, well aired room that does not stink. Will never stay with them again.

  • Liked — price, but i'd rather pay more for a decent room.
  • Disliked — Dirty, stinks, horrible place
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ejpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2007

The chalet and other properties are very quaint and cozy. The location is ideal for visiting Volcano sites and is very reasonably priced. Free internet is a bonus and the food is great. Were very helpful to store our luggage for almost 4 days while we were backpacking mauna loa so that we didn't have to leave it in our vehicle, very much appreciated!

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Shared bathroom
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank doby_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, SC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2007

I am a 46yo female flight attendant traveling to the Big Island for the first time and accompanied by my 13yo son. My one goal was to visit the park. This property is ideally located for that, very very close to the park entrance. One thing is that, having traveled to the islands many times, I am invariably shocked at the lack of knowledge many visitors have, so at the risk of offending those who have already glanced at a guidebook...This is not the island for beach-lovers or those who want somebody to bring them drinks while they sit in their chaise lounge chair. You folks will be sorely disappointed. While you can get a spot in one of the big resorts up on the northwest coast, Maui offers much more that way and for better prices. The Big Island is more for nature and earth-science lovers. If you show up at Volcanoes National Park in flipflops and running shorts, the staff will treat you with respect but you can tell it is a challenge for them. I brought a bathing suit and never put it on. I hope you get David, a geologist from UH Hilo, as your guide for the 45-minute walk-around, very easy for those flipflop types. You will be tempted to visit Volcano House restaurant at the park to eat and look out over to the crater. Forewarned: The prices are high and the food is godawful. I should have just ordered two drinks, enjoyed our view and left. Wear sturdy shoes and jeans, esp. at the park. It does get cool, and if you get close to steam vents or hot lava you will get singed if you are not covered. You MUST rent a car on the Big Island, and to get to the most interesting beaches, or even just to get close, it must be 4WD. All that said, on to the property; for the price, esp. with the rental car deal, it can't be beat. Bring your alarm clock to make your flight in case you can't get cellsignal. No phones or TVs in rooms and baths are shared but clean. Be polite and quick and leave no trace of yourself. In a way, it's very European. Breakfast was put out very promptly and the frig seemed available for those who wanted to buy snacks at one of the stores in the nearby village. Breakfast was fresh sliced fruit, juices, coffee, tea, milk, dried cereal in mini boxes, sliced bread, butter and jam. There may be wireless signal, but I did not bring a laptop and neither did anyone else that was there at the time, so I wouldn't know. Don't think there is a computer in some lobby or something. Now, it is a 3-hr drive from Kona (KOA) where my airline flies, and because of a 2-hr delay out of LAX, we arrived in Kona at 11 pm and not to the B&B til about 2am. They left keys and directions at their office at Inn of the Volcano, Volcano B&B is just down the road a bit. The road from Kona to Volcanoes is a long, dark, twisty-turny road with very few services, so go to the bathroom and grab water at every stop you see heading out of Kona on Hwy 11. Hwy 11 circles the island and it was on the way back to Kona, in daylight, when we were truly able to take advantage of what it offers. We stopped at Punuulu (spelling?) the black sand beach, for about an hour and it is not to be missed. But private condos abut it, there is nothing but a little souvenir/bait stand, otherwise it's just the beach, sky, ocean and you, no amenities or hotels, etc. We stopped at the Punuulu Bakery on 11 (you can't miss it) for a passionfruit-creme filled malasada (yum) and groovy souvenirs and saw the monkeypod tree Twain planted next to the Shirakawa motel. There are funky little coffee farms with coffee stands out front, fruitstands as well. You will drive thru a very beach-bum type area that is fun and then on to Kailua/Kona and the whole Waikiki-type scene at Alii Blvd. I wouldn't miss that, it's just that all I need is a day of it, that's enough. Eat there at Splasher's, they make a 1-pound burger in various forms that is truly great, also divine onion rings, good prices and people-watching. UFO Parasailing is great on the pier in Kona. Again, Alii Blvd. borders a beach that is no sand, only black lava rocks. So don't bring a blanket and book.

So schedule some time for your trip to Kona after you see the park. We did manage to drive to Hilo a couple of times and it's fun and smaller, much homier than Kona and much closer; if you can fly into Hilo to get to the park, do it. We toured a coffee roaster on the side of the road, also the Mauna Loa factory, fun with kids. If you get into more downtown Hilo, try Cafe Pesto (recommended by Frommers) for a pizza. Fantastic and reasonable.

In Volcanoes Village, there is the Lava Rock Cafe, don't miss it, and for a few bucks you can log on to the internet and check your email. Their Continental Drift breakfast was fabulous and prices great. At the store next door you can rent a video to watch at Volcanoes B&B living room, get gas for your trip around the island, buy quilting supplies at the little art and souvenir store. At another little spot there is another store run by an Asian couple, with a wonderful flower shop on the porch and it is a great pleasure to see. Good place to gather stuff for a picnic at the park, which apparently is popular for locals to do. There is a restaurant next to this little store but we didn't go.

I brought a little scented candle for the room and it made it very nice. Open your windows and listen to the rain on the leaves of the rainforest that surrounds your home in Hawaii or as it lands on your roof. When I go back to the park I will stay at Volcano B&B.

  • Liked — Affordability, caring staff in Valerie, location, location, location!
  • Disliked — There's not a thing to say to this question. Maybe partner with Budget instead of Thrifty.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ToniVitanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volcano hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
1.1 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#12 of 31 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Hale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Hale

Property: Volcano Hale
Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Volcano Hale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cute budget property for travelers in search of comfort at a great value! This charming, historic, fully renovated 1912 property is complete with 3 floors and 4+ accommodations offering cable TV. Amenities include: free WIFI, common full mini kitchen for quick meal creations, and 2 clean, fully-stocked common bathrooms with showers. This property is perfect for travelers with an independent spirit in search of eco-friendly accommodations! Our sharing aspects uniquely provide the smallest impact upon the surrounding rainforest ecology. Back to Mother Nature, low-impact vacationing. 1 minute from shops, restaurants, and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Volcano Hale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Volcano Hale Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing