We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Volcano Hale
Nearby Hotels
Kilauea Lodge(Volcano)
$199
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Crater Lodge(Volcano)(Great Value!)
$150
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Inn(Volcano)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
$122
$65
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Village Lodge(Volcano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
91
96
29
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
96
29
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomother guestsshared facilitiesthe kitchentop floorbudget accommodationsnational parklarge common areabasic roomquiet roadvery pleasant stayguest housethe big islandstayed one nightshort drivetwo nightsbackpackers
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 247 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We are a young couple and stayed for 2 nights in the Malia room on the groundfloor.The price- quality ratio is great, clean room, good bed, clean shared bathrooms: 1 on each floor.
We did not use the common living area much, but it looked like all you may need is there, and it had a fireplace.
The lady at the frontdesk is very nice and gave us some good advice on sights to see.
Breakfast for $6 was fine: we had lots of fresh fruits, coffee bit funky cinnamon taste.
All in all we had a great stay, and I would recommend this B&B, especially when visiting the volcano park, since the village is very quiet. Although we had a great cocktail and dinner at Kilauea lodge: great service and food!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is an awesome place to stay when you are in the southern part of Big Island - especially considering that it is only about five minutes from Volcano National Park. It is located on an obscure side road which has little traffic, thereby little road noise. Thus far, every visitor who has walked in has made very complimentary statements about how nice this place is. It has a bathroom on each floor which is shared by the three guest rooms on that floor. Thus far we have seen absolutely no problems with this arrangement, and the bathrooms are newly reconditioned and beautifully appointed. All three floors share a well equipped kitchen with all the amenities. This place is also the cleanest lodging that we have stayed in. Considering the modest prices, Volcano Hale is a winner!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kahali room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night and found it to be clean and located on lush grounds. We were on the ground floor in the Elepaio room. There was a king sized bed that was hard and fairly uncomfortable with a headboard that banged into the wall with any small movement. We finally jammed a pillow between the headboard and the wall to solve the problem. The TV VCR combo had no remote so my husband watched TV sitting on the floor at the foot of the bed. Normally we don't watch TV on vacation but the village literally closes by 9 pm. The walls are paper thin we heard every conversation and footstep from the bedroom above us (hardwood floors) and people dragging their luggage around at 6 am. The shared bathroom worked out fine for us, like the sign in the bathroom says the house was built in 1912 and hot water takes its time getting to the bathroom. (8 min no joke)
We opted for the $6.00 continental breakfast it was priced right. Fresh fruit, bagels, toast, cornflakes, juice and coffee.
We knew it was budget accommodations but the poor sleep quality was disappointing.

Room Tip: Stay on the upper floors it might be quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiffanyeShanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in the Lehua (I think that's how it's spelled) room, on a floor shared with 2 other rooms. There was a wood burning fireplace in the common area, plenty of pots, pans, plates, etc. in the kitchen, and overall lots of character. I would highly recommend this place, especially for the price, but I will warn that we were promised a complimentary breakfast which was actually $6 + tax...don't know if that is a policy that recently changed or what.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I spent 3 nights in the Lokilani room in the Volcano Hale property. It is just down the street from the main chalet. The room was small but very clean. Beautiful, clean and well stocked shared bathroom was not a problem. There is a main floor dining area with well stocked kitchen. The grounds are beautiful and it is sooooo peaceful here. I went to sleep with the sound of the rain in the forest.
This is a wonderful place to use as a base for exploring the volcano or driving north to Hilo and other coastal places. The village of Volcano is very quaint. The Thai restaurant was very good.
Great little village to stock up on supplies for a road trip (Macadamia nut chocolate chews in the general store are the best) or check out the neat art gallery. I would highly recommend this place as a great peaceful escape to enjoy the Hawaii's Big Island

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niceexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews