We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful surroundings”
Review of Kilauea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilauea Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2006

We stayed at this bed and breakfast in August 2006 for 2 nights. We were exploring volcano national park. This b+b is 5 mins drive from the parks enterance. The rooms were vey spacious and well equiped. There was no television but we did not mind, we sat in the hot tub instead! Breakfast was superb and the staff are extreemly helpful. I would recommend this place to everyone wanting to get away from big hotels and relax.

2  Thank smithmiddlefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 949 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2006

The Lodge was a welcome respite after our stay at a mega resort on Waikiki. Felt like we were transported back East to a cozy Vermont B&B except that Kilauea Lodge is in the middle of a rain forest. Our upstairs Hale Aloha room was very comfortable and cheery with a lovely quilted bedspread. The heated towel warmer was a nice touch as it can get chilly even in July. The shower was a bit cramped. There was a common room downstairs with a TV. We saw some kids playing cards and a board game which I assume were provided. The hotel provides complimentary flashlights for hiking to the lava at night and umbrellas.

The full breakfast included in the room rate was quite good. We had blueberry pancakes (fluffy & delicious) and French toast made with 3 different types of sweetbread (yummy.) My only complaint is that breakfast is not served early enough (I think they start at 7:30 am) if you want to get out really really early for hiking. Dinner was also very good with some unusual offerings. There is a very relaxing & soothing atmosphere about the place. No TV in our room.

I don't usually like public hot tubs but this one was very clean and we had it all to ourselves. Just be sure to wear flip-flops as the paths to the outdoor hot tub are crushed lava rock.

The location is very convenient to Volcano National Park. Even though you are only about 5 minutes away, don't let the weather fool you. On the days we were there it was a light rain at the Lodge but just cloudy at the Park. Although fine for any traveler, I think this hotel would be most appreciated by someone who wants to get away from it all. We stayed only one night but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 4evertravlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2006

We stayed at the lodge for 2 nights, Jul 5th & 6th. We loved Kilauea Lodge. It is very convenient to Volcanoes National Park entrance (about 1 mile). The room was very comforatable and the breakfast that was included was more than enough to start the day.

Everyone at the Lodge, that we dealt with, was very nice and helpful.. I would not hesitate to stay there again or to recommend the lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mtavish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2006

I really enjoyed the Kilauea Lodge. We stayed in the "Cottage", which was charming, well decorated, and had nice touches like a gas fireplace and towel warmers. It is cool and rains a lot at Volcano, so the large umbrella that hangs outside the door was appreciated. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. The lodge is very close to Volcano National Park, and is convenient if you want to hike to see the volcano erupting after dark (which is unique experience!)

Dinner at the restaurant was excellent. It is expensive, but the atmosphere, service and food were all good. Even the wine list exceeded my expectations.

Breakfast is included with the room, and was also excellent. We had Hawaiian sweetbread French toast.

Prior to coming to the Kilauea Lodge, we had stayed at a huge oceanfront resort hotel. For comparison, I would not like to stay at the resort hotel again, but I most definitely would like to stay at the Kilauea Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VA_traveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2006

Tutu's cottage is a few blocks away from the Lodge that runs it and is a private cottage in the woods. Very cute and useful place. We were a foursome and so at $130 per couple or thereabouts, the 2 bedroom place was just the right price.

The kitchen is what you'd expect from a 2 bedroom, 1 bath house, but if you need a sharp knife, a garlic press or cheese grater, bring it yourself so you can enjoy a night of 'home cooking.' at the end of the road there is a small store to buy supplies. Breakfast at the Lodge is included but not thrilling.

My mom and i have trouble with some perfumes. the laundry room is in the inaccessible downstairs basement and the wafting powerfully perfumed fabric softeners was difficult.
the robes and linens had us drying ourselves on our beach towels and coughing thru the night.

After seeing the Volcanoes park hotel we felt BLESSED to have stayed at Tutu's.
The lodge restaurante is super cute and the food is the best to be found in the area.
For those on a path of expansion or eager for cardiac arrest, they have a huge slab of deep FRIED BRIE rolled in coconut. The salads and the miniature homemade bread were very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ratNparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2006

We stayed at this bed and breakfast as part of our honeymoon. We stayed in two different suites, the Cottage and the Hale Aloha room (we had to switch rooms because at the last minute we decided to extend our stay). Both rooms were beautifully decorated and homey with nice touches like a towel warmer (it gets rather cool in Volcano). The showers, however, were small with just barely enough room for one person--larger people may not be comfortable here. Also, the rooms do not have TVs (which may be a plus for some people), though there is a nice common room with a television. The breakfast that was included with our stay was wonderful and the staff was friendly and helpful. We also had one dinner at the restaurant which was superb, though expensive. There are other restaurants nearby, and hilo is a short ~35 minute drive away. The hotel is located within a 5 min. drive of the Volcano National Park. I would definitely stay here again, if I were to return to Hawaii.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank askmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2006

1  Thank sunshine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.8 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
991 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 21 in Volcano
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
1.2 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
531 reviews
54.7 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Lodge

Address: 19-3948 Old Volcano Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: $224 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kilauea Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Lodge is located in the quiet village of Volcano a mile from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The Park, home of Hawaii's active volcano Kilauea, offers miles of scenic overlook and trails. Romantic rooms and cottage are available with private bath, towel warmers, central heat and some with fireplaces. The off property homes have full kitchens, gas fireplace, TVs and phones. Full breakfast is included. Hot tub and Wi-Fi available on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Kilauea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilauea Hotel Volcano
Kilauea Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing