We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a very special place--wish we could have stayed longer.”
Review of Kilauea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kilauea Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2009

We spent one night at Kilauea Lodge (in the Honeymoon room) in early December. We traveled to the Big Island from Kauai. We loved the place! Our room had its own small balcony overlooking a beautiful garden area. The room was very comfortable and cozy, and the common area was very welcoming. We had reservations on the Kona side beginning the next day, but were wishing we had planned to stay two nights instead of just one. The staff gave us very accurate and helpful guidance about visiting the lava viewing area (about an hour+ drive), and encouraged us to make dinner reservations when we returned. The restaurant is excellent. It was very crowded, and most of the people there appeared to be locals. The National Park is minutes away, but if you aren't interested or have already toured the park, there are some very interesting art and shopping spots in the Volcano area.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (985)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 820 of 985 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2009

A beautiful quilt awaits you as you open the door to your room....flowers from the garden too! Spacious rooms, patios or balconies...we had a fireplace too. Quiet, romantic, great, great, great french toast and coconut syrup for breakfast, as a choice! Very near the National Park entrance and the very good Kiawe Kitchen for excellent pizza and salads! Can't wait to return!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

The Lodge has clean, spacious rooms, not damp, cold or moldy. I love the high skylight ceilings in the bathroom, the rocking chair in front of the gas fireplace, the cozy bathrobes, and comfortable beds. Breakfast is included, love the papaya with lime and great coffee. I've eaten in the restaurant a few times for dinner and it is the best food in Volcano. Service is always very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soakedinoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

We stumbled onto Kilauea Lodge thanks to The Big Island Revealed. We stayed one night at the Volcano House and switched the next night to Kilauea Lodge. The rooms are lovely, updated, and tucked into the rain forest about 2 miles from the Volcano National Park. No mildew. Best feature: the fabulous dining room. They serve the best meals we've had (dinner and breakfast) BY FAR on the Big Island.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Oh dear. I'm about to provide a different view from those of most other reviewers but there you go. We were very impressed with the setting and ambience of the lodge; it has a lovely feel and the gardens are well tended and large. We found all the staff friendly and helpful e.g. torches provided for the evening volcano watch. We felt however that some apsects of attention to detail were lacking and more could be done to consider customer needs at the price charged. Our room, No.6 was spacious but there was very little drawer space and the wardrobe was full of bedding so couildn't be used for hanging clothes; our sink drainer didn't function but fortunately we had our own travel one. The restaurant dinner we had one evening was good but service was a bit slow. We rate the breakfast for the B&B customers as very poor. To provide a fairly rigid choice and less than the cheapest walk-in menu selection is not good. I was then not amused to be reminded of the fact on the B&B menu that a gratuity was not included; you don't do this when breakfast is included in the overnight charge.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaiBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

A former YMCA lodge didn't sound too inviting, but the many negative reviews of Volcano House (in Volcano National Park) on TripAdvisor led me to choose Kilauea Lodge instead, located in nearby Volcano Village. It turned out to be delightful--a large, attractive, well-furnished room, friendly staff, hot tub, beautiful landscaping, excellent breakfast, and all within a five minute drive of Volcano National Park. It was so much nicer than staying at the motel-like lodge in the park itself as well as less expensive. Of the 4 places we stayed on the big island, all of which were very nice, this was my favorite.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petitbois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We stayed at this property just for one night while on a 6-night vacation on the big island. We highly recommend splurging for a night at the volcano if you can - it allows you to see the volcano with plenty of time to spare verses trying to race up to the volcano in one day.
Kilauea Lodge is a wonderful place to stay - very comfortable setting with a bed-n-breakfast kind of feel. Staff was very helpful and welcoming and the accomodations were well worth the price. Nothing terribly fancy, more like the coziness of your own living room.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingsland_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
418 reviews
53.7 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.3 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 22 in Volcano
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#6 of 32 in Volcano
431 reviews
54.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Lodge

Address: 19-3948 Old Volcano Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: $223 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kilauea Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Lodge is located in the quiet village of Volcano a mile from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The Park, home of Hawaii's active volcano Kilauea, offers miles of scenic overlook and trails. Romantic rooms and cottage are available with private bath, towel warmers, central heat and some with fireplaces. The off property homes have full kitchens, gas fireplace, TVs and phones. Full breakfast is included. Hot tub and Wi-Fi available on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kilauea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilauea Hotel Volcano
Kilauea Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing