We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot in Volcano!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kilauea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilauea Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect spot in Volcano!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed in the Pii Mauna House. Every detail perfect. Lodge a short drive away for delicious breakfast ( included). Lots of space and privacy for families traveling with older children or two couples. charming Volcano Winery right down the road. volcano park 1 mile away for hiking by day and the lava glow by night. Quiet, relaxing property - we will return!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnes J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    205
    27
    12
    5
See reviews for
235
387
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wichita
Level Contributor
255 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We spent two nights in Tutu's Place, a two bedroom house about a two minute drive from the lodge in a somewhat secluded setting. Tutu's Place is a pleasantly decorated restored older home, with surprisingly modern bathroom fixtures and a nice mix of antique pieces, original art, and modern furnishings and conveniences including a flat screen TV. Our family of four had plenty of space and the living room made it possible for those who felt like staying up later or getting up earlier to do so without disturbing the others. We only used the kitchen for coffee (which thankfully was provided) and to chill beverages; however, it was fully equipped. The house was very clean and comfortable. The house is treated as a bed and breakfast with daily housekeeping and a very nice breakfast served in the lodge's dining room. We were welcome to use the lodge's common room and spa; however, after spending a long day in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and returning to the park after dark, we enjoyed Tutu's Place in our spare time and didn't venture over to the lodge.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary1675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
296 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This house is owned and rented by the Kilauea Lodge and is only a short distance away in a quiet setting next to a golf course. The two bedrooms are divided by a lanai with your own private hot tub. Both rooms have sitting areas with a sofa and chairs. One side has a small kitchen with everything you need to cook basic meals. A complimentary breakfast at the lodge is included -- very substantial restaurant food selected off a menu. It is close to the National Park entrance and most hiking trails.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanLChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Our family stayed here for two nights so we could be close to the national park. It was in a lush setting. The kids thought the winding paths and trees and gazebo were neat. One rainy afternoon, we were able to hang out in the game room and play a couple of the board games they keep there. The cottage we were in was clean and neat. The only thing lacking was closet space, but we didn't really need it. The breakfast that came with our stay (ordered off of the menu) was yummy. Dinner was also nice. The area had a very unplugged feel (no TV's) and I felt instantly on vacation. My husband thought this would be a wonderful couples retreat, too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACEP925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed for one night only on our trip to Hawaii. Wonderful reception from the staff, well appointed room and good gardens to explore. We ate there that evening, the food and service was absolutely fantastic, great choice on menu, well cooked and presented. The wine list gave a good choice at reasonable prices and my wife said that the Mai Tai was out of this world. The place to stay when visiting the volcano.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
280 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I loved this small lodge with its incredibly beautiful setting, fabulous food (Safari Schnitzel is outstanding!) and lovely cottage rooms with traditional Hawaiian quilts and fireplaces. You'll wake to the song of native Hawaiian birds (which is almost impossible elsewhere on the islands.)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
167 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Cookie from Canada is right on in the review. Only thing was slight noise level ( I don't like hearing the neighbors in their rooms) but after hiking all day, eating the fantastic meals, sitting in the calm hot tub, you don't hear much. This is the ONLY place to stay if your going to the park.
Staff is very friendly, the chef, Ramon, is the owner with his wife and he cooks a mean Antelope Schnitzel I have to say. Wow.

Awesome place and we will go back when Pele invites us again!

Room Tip: Top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
388 reviews
1.8 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
294 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Lodge

Property: Kilauea Lodge
Address: 19-3948 Old Volcano Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kilauea Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Lodge is located in the quiet village of Volcano a mile from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The Park, home of Hawaii's active volcano Kilauea, offers miles of scenic overlook and trails. Romantic rooms and cottage are available with private bath, towel warmers, central heat and some with fireplaces. The off property homes have full kitchens, gas fireplace, TVs and phones. Full breakfast is included. Hot tub and Wi-Fi available on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Kilauea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilauea Hotel Volcano
Kilauea Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing