We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place to Stay”
Review of Kilauea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilauea Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was the perfect place to stay for a visit to VNP. Our room was exquisitely furnished, with plenty of room and extras such as umbrellas and area information provided.

The restaurant was very busy, which suggested it is the best in the area, which would not surprise, as we found the food to be very good, and reasonably priced.

Our only regret was not staying longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossco_of_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
There are newer reviews for Kilauea Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 926 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Lodge is small and charming and we had a great stay. It exceeded my expectations!

Room-We stayed in the honeymoon deluxe room and I was pleasantly surprised. It was on the second floor and had a comfortable king size bed, a fireplace, a nice shower, and a private balcony with a beautiful view of the rainforest. We are very hot natured and did not use the fireplace or heater. But we did not need air conditioning either.

Food- We had the breakfast included with the room and it was quite good. They had a special menu for guests, but you could also order off their full menu for an additional cost. I thought their free offerings were great. We also had dinner here one night and it was delicious and well priced compared to other restaurants we visited on the island.

We loved the Lodge's proximity to the national park. It was a short, easy trip at night to view the glow of the volcano, and this probably would not have been an option for us if we didn't stay in this area. I also enjoyed being surrounded by the rainforest here.

We'll definitely stay here the next time we visit the Big Island.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenj31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Kilauea Lodge has rooms at the main lodge and then separate rentals of houses near the lodge. We rented the Ola'a Plantation House and were really pleased with our choice. The living room was enormous with a nice gas fireplace. The house is either renovated (like the bathroom) or nicely maintained with historic charm. When booking I could not find many pictures of the interior so I posted a lot of photos.

Our only complaint is that there is no central heating so you have to use the fireplace and electric heaters - which are numerous. We did not feel comfortable leaving these on while we slept and were freezing our first night! We left everything on the second night and were fine.

Breakfast at the main dining room is included in your rate. We also had dinner there, not many options around, but luckily thought the food was good and were pleased with all of our meals. The dining room is charmingly rustic and historic.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank albtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We really liked this property. It was a great location for touring the Volcanoe National Park. We stayed in a one bedroom cottage with two adults and two kids, ages 9 and 13. We were very impressed at the start of our stay - the food was good, the decor was simple and clean in the cottage - comfortable beds. However, we were disappointed the morning we were leaving that the water was not working for showers/sinks and that the hot tub seemed to have a strange smell and was unusable. We were looking forward to hot tub and showers after the long hike the day before.

We wrote the owners and learned that there was an issue with their water pump that they had to repair. They have since also decided to purchase spare water pumps to keep for exactly this type of emergency.

The really best part was that they made this right by giving us a partial credit to our bill. We did really appreciate this kind of customer service and were glad that they responded in such a way.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilesDavisFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We are a family of 3 with a 10 yr old girl. We Arrived late on the day a Sunday night after a total travelling time of 16 hours involving 2 flights and a 1 hr drive from Hilo to Volcano. When we arrived I introduced myself and told them about the long trip and was made to wait for a while as the check in desk was the same as the restaurant and they were quite busy serving other patrons. When they finally attended to us we were simply asked for a credit card and given the key to our cottage to find for ourselves with our luggage, There was no welcome kit of information or nothing basically off you go and good luck...When we found our cottage we found it to be dirty and not welcoming and also realised that there was only one bed and a sofa bed which was undone. There is no phone in the cottage so I had to walk to the restaurant again to ask for the sofa bed to be made for my little girl. They were not very happy with my request and said they would send someone to sort it out. When this person arrived at our room she simply gave us the sheets and blankets and basically told us to do the bed up ourselves...outrageous! Breakfast is included in the tariff but beware of the nasty servers/waitresses...one of them told my little daughter off for looking at her funny...maybe she was funny!!!! If you can stay somewhere else please do. Location is good...15 to 20 minute drive to Kilauea and the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank locosfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and i stayed here 2 nights for our honeymoon while visiting the Volcano National Park. We had a great time! The rooms are beautiful and rustic-looking. The entire place is very "homey" and if you need anything, the staff is there to help. When you stay here, complimentary breakfast is also included each day, and it is delicious. You can order a picnic lunch for the next day which includes a sandwich, chips, cookie, and water - perfect for us during our day exploring the volcanoes. The staff also allowed us to borrow a cooler to keep our lunches cool during the day. My only complaint is that dinner at the restaurant was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CS1082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We called in to the Lodge on the advice of friends who live on the island on our way to see the volcano at night. The lodge is beautiful and the staff were great (particularly Kim). Food however was OK but very expensive for what it was. There was a lot of it but ordinary and the key lime pie was far to sharp. Shame really cause it would be a place worth considering again but not sure I'd make the effort.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.8 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
911 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 21 in Volcano
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 32 in Volcano
707 reviews
54.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
1.2 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Lodge

Address: 19-3948 Old Volcano Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: $179 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kilauea Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Lodge is located in the quiet village of Volcano a mile from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The Park, home of Hawaii's active volcano Kilauea, offers miles of scenic overlook and trails. Romantic rooms and cottage are available with private bath, towel warmers, central heat and some with fireplaces. The off property homes have full kitchens, gas fireplace, TVs and phones. Full breakfast is included. Hot tub and Wi-Fi available on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Kilauea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilauea Hotel Volcano
Kilauea Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing