We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lodge - very convenient”
Review of Kilauea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilauea Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
219 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice lodge - very convenient”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed here as part of our 30th anniversary trip. We had the honeymoon room (#11) for three of the nights, but had to switch to another room (#1) for the 4th night. The honeymoon room was very nice, with a very comfortable bed and a wood burning fireplace. The location could not have been better, with close proximity to the park and the convenience of the lodges dining room. Breakfast, included in the price of the lodging, was very good. We were less impressed with the second room. The bed was less comfortable and the room was quite cold, even using the supplemental heater and the gas fireplace.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kuznitz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    216
    32
    13
    5
See reviews for
262
430
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheridan, Wyoming
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We didn't stay at the lodge, but did have new year's eve dinner there (nine of us), and lunch a couple days later (two of us). Great waitress on NY Eve; she really added to the festive feel and helped us celebrate. Drinks were fun, e.g. lilikoi (passion fruit) cosmopolitans and margaritas, and the food was good with some interesting options (antelope anyone?). We didn't have the same great service for lunch unfortunately and it made a difference. Seemed pricey for lunch, but there isn't a lot of competition in the locale.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t2davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This place was perfect. Perfect location right outside Volcano Park, maybe 1mi away. SUPER clean rooms. The lodge is more like a series of cottages. The restaurant onsite is excellent - get reservations if possible and be prepared to have a wonderful meal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MindyS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Caanada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We chose to book a table at the Lodge's restaurant based on an excellent review in Lonely Planet's guide. Our experience far exceeded our expectations as the menu, food and service were just topnotch.

Room Tip: Make sure your reserve as it fills up very quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques_Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
330 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 587 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

While the property itself is quaint and charming, our experience was marred by the haughty, insulting and unwelcoming demeanor of manager Teri. Following an email complaint, the owner said it would be addressed, but our visit was already tainted beyond repair.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Kilauea Lodge exudes quality through and through. We stayed in the Hale Aloha Building, in the Honeymoon Delux suite. My heart and soul instantly came alive. Charming, homey and romantic all rolled into one great room. Woodburning fireplace, comfortable four post king bed, vaulted wood ceilings, decorative finishing touches.

Breakfast in the main building was an additional treat. The dining room combines a lodge setting with sophistocated elegance. Your choice of a generous selection of a la carte breakfast entrees. Your eyes will delight in every detail of beauty from the artwork on the walls, fine interior workwork and decor.

If I could move in permanently to Kilauea Lodge I would. It's that kind of place. Fortunately I have one day of wonderful memories.

Room Tip: Stay in the Honeymoon Delux room if it's available. It's worth every dollar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Analeah11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
316 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The rooms that we wanted were already booked at the main lodge, so we reserved the Pi'i Mauna House for our family of 4 adults, and were more than satisfied. It is exactly as shown on the website and is immaculately kept. The kitchen area in the right building is well stocked for meal prep, the bed very comfortable, the living room gas "fireplace/stove" gives plenty of heat to warm up the room, and the space heaters in the bedroom are toasty as well. The bathroom, nicely done in italian tile, is quite small, but adequate. We just wished the stall showerhead was placed a bit lower; the stall is small, which would be okay if the showerhead was lower or was more moveable. The way it is currently positioned, one can not rinse the soap off of the bottom half of the body. The stall shower in the left building seems to be set a bit lower and swivels a little more, so less problems there. The left building has the tv and a smaller bedroom, but is also beautifully done with wood and lots of windows. The entry door to the left building does have problems locking and unlocking as there must be a moisture problem causing the door to swell, otherwise it is comfortable as well. The hot tub, between the two buildings, is a joy. We used it everyday, rain or shine. No worries about being warm enough. We were there at the end of December. When the temps drop at night, we simply turned on the space heaters, and towel warmers in the bathrooms, and we were toasty as can be. Plenty of extra blankets too.

We had breakfast and dinner at the lodge restaurant. Distance from the lodge itself is the only drawback to staying at this house. It is a 6 mile drive each way; would have been nice to be able to walk to it instead, but otherwise, we were very pleased with our stay at this carefully appointed house. Chickens and pheasants are constantly walking around the property; quite entertaining, but they did not bother us at all. It is a short drive to the park entrance from the house.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PokeyPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
400 reviews
1.8 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
303 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Lodge

Property: Kilauea Lodge
Address: 19-3948 Old Volcano Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kilauea Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Lodge is located in the quiet village of Volcano a mile from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The Park, home of Hawaii's active volcano Kilauea, offers miles of scenic overlook and trails. Romantic rooms and cottage are available with private bath, towel warmers, central heat and some with fireplaces. The off property homes have full kitchens, gas fireplace, TVs and phones. Full breakfast is included. Hot tub and Wi-Fi available on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kilauea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilauea Hotel Volcano
Kilauea Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing