We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal touch could be improved”
Review of Kilauea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilauea Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We've been traveling for a few weeks across the US and while the hideaway apartment we had was fine we felt that the service could have been much friendlier and was probably the least welcoming of our trip. Pros were: big apartment, well equipped with DVDs, games etc, nice location. Cons: apartment and bed felt damp when we arrived, overly soft bed, disappointing meal (hunter soup and risotto awful).

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
There are newer reviews for Kilauea Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 926 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great accomodations, lovely grounds, great service and a wonderful onsite restaurant - this lodge has it all! Hands down - the best place to stay near the park (only 5 minutes away) and the best and from what we could see the only good place to eat near the park. The restaurant has wonderful atmosphere and the food was great, along with the friendly service. We ate all our meals here while staying for a two day visit. We wanted to try other places, but kept coming back to the lodge as we knew we couldn't go wrong. The room was very spacious, we had a nice patio/deck as well. The area is extremely peaceful, you almost feel like you are in a rainforest. The temps are a bit cooler at this elevation so it was so nice to sleep with the windows open! Top notch experience!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JH3970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

With just 5 minutes drive to the national park, the Kilauea Lodge is perfect for staying at, when visiting the volcano.
The room was nice, and getting home at bit wet and cold in the evening, it was great to warm up by the fireplace we had in our room.
The breakfast is à la carte, and was very good, but portions are rather small.

The restaurant on the premises is very good, and is open on all days. On the days we stayed in the hotel (a Sunday and a Monday), this restaurant was the only one open, so it was pretty crowded. Reservation is recommended, although it seemed to me that everyone who came also got a table in the end, after some waiting-time.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed a night while visiting volcano. Everyone was friendly and the place wss clean. I es pecially enjoyed the fireplace and heated towel rack. We only had breakfast which was good too. They thought of even the small things like umbrellas and a great book with tips for the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We loved this B&B that used to be a YMCA camp. We stayed in the Kehau Room - it was huge, comfortable, had a fantastic view, an automatic gas fireplace, a big bathroom, and a beautiful Hawaiian quilt on the king-sized bed. We loved it and will request it again next time. It is located at the back of the back building (Hale Aloha), so it was isolated from the parking lot and quiet. The huge windows looked out on the rainforest, and there was a little porch off the door with chairs and a Hawaii bird guide to refer to. At the center of Hale Aloha is a gathering room with a fireplace, and out back is the hot tub. You have to walk through the parking lot to get to the restaurant, and others on here have complained about that walk, but it was nothing!

The whole property is situated in a lush, verdant tropical forest, and is practically across the street from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. We stayed for two nights and ate breakfast and dinner in the lodge, and while dinner was a little pricey, it was delicious, and the free breakfast made up for it. Even the gift shop was choice - we bought quite a few unique items there. We are looking forward to going back as soon as the volcano erupts again (which it is due to do again soon!)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camberic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were not there 24 hours, but we did enjoy our short stay at Kilauea Lodge. We got there around 4pm and apparently, i booked a room for the following week! Luckily, they had the same room available so crisis averted! We were in the Hale Aloha building and the room and bathroom were pretty large. The bed was comfortable and the towel warmer was a treat. In the room was a form to request packed lunches for the next day, which we did. Simple, turkey and cheese with chips and a bottle of water ($10)

Breakfast is included and all the offerings sounded great. I had the french toast on their local sweet breads and it was great, especially with coconut syrup. We had eaten dinner at the restaurant the night before and the food and the service was enjoyable.

It is a bit pricey but there are so few places that allow a one night stay. I'm glad this was one of them.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hale Aloha building, lower level. I didn't realize there was an upper level, bu...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our family of four stayed in one of the lodge's cottages - The Hideaway - for two nights while exploring Volcanoes National Park and really enjoyed it.

The Hideaway- The Hideaway is located right next to the lodge. This makes it very convenient to have breakfast first thing in the morning without getting in your car. The Hideaway itself is very cute and spacious with a full kitchen, a nice living room with a gas fireplace, a bedroom with a queen sized bed, a little lofty room connected to the main bedroom with a twin rollaway and two futons, and a decent sized bathroom. The bedroom is big enough to fit in two futons if needed.

The Hidewaway has cable TV and wifi, and also a collection of DVDs, books, and games. Coffee, hot tea, and hot chocolate are also provided. The kitchen also has a water cooler which comes in very handy. We would fill our bottles with water everyday and take it with us while exploring HVNP.

The queen bed we slept on was decent and had nice warm blankets, which are absolutely necessary as it gets very cold at night in Volcano. There is a gas fireplace in the living room, which we found to be sufficient to heat the entire place enough for us, but there are also heaters in the bedrooms and a heated towel rack in the bathroom.

Breakfast- We had breakfast both mornings at the Lodge's restaurant. Breakfast is included in the room rate, and as others have noted, the options are somewhat more limited than the full breakfast menu. Basically, they have two different menus-one is for people who come to the lodge from other places and one is for in house guests. Of course, you are more than welcome to choose from the other menu as well but it comes at a price.

Since we do not eat pork, we felt that we were limited in our choices. Upon arrival every morning we were asked if we were staying at the lodge and then were seated accordingly. Our boys, ages nine and five, were given a choice of hot chocolate or orange juice and us adults were given a choice of freshly cut papaya or orange juice as well. Our boys enjoyed their hot chocolate with whipped cream and we enjoyed the freshly cut papaya. One day my husband wanted two fried eggs in addition to the oatmeal he had chosen from the menu and the lodge charged us $2.50 for that. I thought this was ridiculous since we paid $545 for two nights...now come on they could waived those charges for us.

Service- The service was good but not overly friendly. They kept to themselves and were not really interested in what you were doing or where you were from etc....

Location: The location of "The Hideaway" is perfect. It's proximity to the lodge is a big plus. If you are travelling with a family with small children it is a good choice because you do not have to drive to the lodge for breakfast in the morning. Overall, the location of Kilauea Lodge is wonderful. It is only 2 minutes from all the restaurants in the Volcano Village. Restaurants in close proximity include Thai Thai, Kiawe Kitchen and Lave Rock Cafe. It is also close to a general store where you can stock up on some regular grocery items like milk, bread, frozen waffles, nuggets etc...The lodge is also only 5 minutes from the HVNP. If you plan to eat in the village make sure you get there no later than 8pm because some of the restaurants have a long line and their last seating is at 8:15p.

Overall, we had a nice stay here. If you are planning to come and relax after a full day at the park, this is a good place to relax. I hope my review helps. If you have any questions please feel free to message me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shazqazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.8 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
911 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 21 in Volcano
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 32 in Volcano
707 reviews
54.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
1.2 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Lodge

Address: 19-3948 Old Volcano Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: $179 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kilauea Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Lodge is located in the quiet village of Volcano a mile from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The Park, home of Hawaii's active volcano Kilauea, offers miles of scenic overlook and trails. Romantic rooms and cottage are available with private bath, towel warmers, central heat and some with fireplaces. The off property homes have full kitchens, gas fireplace, TVs and phones. Full breakfast is included. Hot tub and Wi-Fi available on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Kilauea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilauea Hotel Volcano
Kilauea Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing