We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aloha Crater Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano House(Hawaii Volcanoes National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveler rating
97
112
33
13
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
112
33
13
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslava tubeyogurtramennational parkb bhot tubafter darkstay closelocation was perfectroom was largelocal fruita king size bedfern forestbreakfast itemstucked awayminute driveshannon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 272 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We spent 1 night here. It was a great experience, clean rooms, and in-room breakfast. There is a lava tube that runs right under the property. We got a personal tour from the owner, Dan who patiently answered all our questions.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Siddarth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We only stay for one night, they allowed us to check inn prior to the check inn time, the room was very spacious, a little outdated, but comfy. The lava tube tour it was a little scary. The owner took me and my husband inside the lava tube, but he made us very uncomfortable. He got waaaaaaay too close for comfort many times. I do not recommend the tour for women, even if you go accompanied.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roselis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Good location near the park, tucked amongst lush landscaping. Lava tube on sight was far better than the one at the park. Room was adequate for 2 adults/2 children. Breakfast was provided & fresh fruit was waiting for us upon arrival. Overall all good experience!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank coloradogirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Can you imagine having a Lava Tube in the garden of your hotel? That's what Aloha Crater and it's forest atmosphere has to offer. Danny and Shannon will welcome you very friendly and you will feel at home, literally, the breakfast is already inside your room with croissants and a cake! Way to go to stay and visit the volcanos!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adriano O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The room was spacious. This was the only B&B we stayed at that had a continental breakfast; not as personal as having breakfast with the host/hostess and conversation over a home cooked breakfast, but good, ample fruit & food in the fridge, had a small sink, etc. We asked to see the lava tube advertised on the property and were surprised when the owner took us through the trees to a hole in the ground, gave us flashlights and gloves, told us to climb down the ladder and be sure to go to the left not the right, told us to take our time and went back to the house. We climbed down and explored the lava tube on our own, climbed back out and returned to the B&B - seemed a little strange. Adequate accomodations and near the Hawaii Volcanoes Natl Park which was our goal for that night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny F, Owner at Aloha Crater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Mahalo for staying here with us at Aloha Crater Lodge. We know there are many options for visitors to stay in the Volcano area and we appreciate you for staying at Aloha Crater Lodge.
Our in room, continental breakfast is clearly defined on our website as well as online bookable sites. We have offered this type of breakfast since we opened our doors to our first Guests in 2007. It's always best to contact the Inn directly for any clarification regarding your visit. In the past 7 years of operation I have only had 2 Guests ask "What time is breakfast served?" Of course the answer is... "Whenever you want, it's here for you when you are ready."
Aloha Crater Lodge is a unique property in the fact that we have a lava tube cave entrance on site to Kazumura cave. Kazumura cave is the longest lava tube cave system in the world mapped to date, about 40 miles. This is why many people want to stay with us. While we try to communicate information about Kazumura cave with every Guest who stays and regarding the cave tours we have recently decided to allow the Guests independent access. Of course we need to assist some Guests who need the help, physically, there are also Guests who speak different languages. When there is a language barrier we need to assist Guests personally. I hope that any future Guests reading this response will simply let us know "I would appreciate your guidance into the cave" We understand the adventure is not for everyone but it's worth the effort.
God bless you to all our past and future Guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews