We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aloha Crater Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
$122
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arnott's Lodge(Hilo)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$296
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kalaekilohana(Naalehu)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveler rating
98
112
34
13
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
112
34
13
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslava tubeyogurtramennational parkhot tubafter darkstay closelocation was perfectroom was largelocal fruita king size bedfern forestbreakfast itemstucked awayminute driveshannonlodge
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 274 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Aloha Crater Lodge. It was the 1st time we had ever stayed at a bread and breakfast and were very pleased with our large room and private bath. The kids loved the lava tube tour. They thought it was so much more exciting than the Thurstan Lava tube at Volcano national Park. The rain forest is beautiful. The kids also loved playing with Dan and Shanon's dogs and Shanon even let them feed her rabbits and check out the tree house. Overall a wonderful adventure in Volcano.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We booked room #2 for one night in Feb 2014. The location is only about 5 minutes from the National Park. The room was well-kept, and the kitchen was stocked with continental breakfast items so we could have breakfast whenever we wanted. Danny provided us with a tour of the property upon our arrival, including the hot tub and the lava tube, and made us feel welcome for our stay. Everything worked as expected with the room, and we did not have any problems during our stay. Would recommend to anyone interested in visiting the National Park or anywhere on the south side of the Big Island as a more convenient and better-priced alternative to either Hilo or Kailua-Kona.

Room Tip: All rooms have photos and descriptions online, so just pick which one looks best to you and fits your needs.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 982ryanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed in the family suite in February and were extremely pleased to find such a comfortable, welcoming place in the "jungle". Well stocked kitchen, you can prepare your meals (but shop in Kona or Hilo before arriving because Volcano stores don't have much to offer). The host provided eggs, bread, fresh orange juice, milk cereal and muffins, and fresh tropical fruit for breakfast as well as locally grown coffee. The best part was a personal tour into the lava tube by Danny. This was much more amazing than what we saw in the nationsl park! It really made the stay unique. The location is perfect to spend the day or days exploring the national park and to drive after dark to see the glowing cauldron of Kilauea. We will go back there for sure.

Room Tip: The family room has two separate bed rooms but there is also a couch in the living area and fold out mat. The unit has its own bath and kitchen.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank becky_fallcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Located in Volcano Village, Aloha Crater Lodge is minutes away from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. For us, this was a last-minute decision to allow more time at the park. It was easily booked online and quickly confirmed. We didn't take advantage of all of their amenities, but the facility includes a guided lava tube 1/2 hour tour, hot tub and in-room Jacuzzi. The rain-forest atmosphere added to the experience.
The bed was comfortable and the room clean. It included a lanai that was nicely stocked with local fruits. There were plenty of breakfast choices. The European-style hand-held shower was a bit awkward for us. Others might take better advantage of the tub instead.

Considering the competitive price, we felt this was a very good experience when you include all of the extras.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike_n_Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our flights was left at 10 pm from Hilo. After 3 hrs on the tar mat the airline informed us that our flight was canceled and find your own accommodation for the night. 2 taxi's in town and 200 some odd passengers. My traveling companion found Danny at Aloha Crater Lodge. Danny even came and picked us up at the airport at 4AM.

Thank you Danny

The accommodations at Aloha Crater Lodge were very nice and clean. The kitchen was nicely stocked with coffee, snacks and breakfast making. Even delicious homemade buns were waiting for us that morning! Yum. It was very nice and peaceful at the lodge.

There was a nice hot hot tub that was so relaxing an a huge lava tube that you can walk in. It is also near the national park.

We are planning on returning to Aloha Crater Lodge next summer as it was such a nice place.

Sincerely,
P.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PJones2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews