We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Old Hawaii-Very cool"”
Review of Aloha Crater Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloha Crater Lodge
Ranked #15 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had an excellent stay at the Aloha Crater Lodge. Danny was very helpfull with things to do in the area. Nice clean room and fresh breakfast was very nice. Very close to the park and some nice beaches. Thanks!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for Aloha Crater Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 265 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great room, clean, hot water, huge tub, fresh breakfast inside the room, great service, kind owners, lava tube close by, crater close by. this is the perfect quaint spot for anyone! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Get the room on the top floor with the tub for 2
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonPana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We felt right at home at the Aloha Crater Lodge. Very comfortable accomodations. Great, healthy breakfast that included local fruit. The room was large and there was a big patio. The lush vegetation with many beautiful birds was particularly wonderful. The bonus was an authentic lava tube tour with Danny that was quite thrilling. No frills. All lava tube as it is meant to look.
The location was perfect. Minutes into the national park. Great place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bjsrubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The secluded atmosphere was right up our alley. The setting was beautiful and peaceful. The accommodations were great. Danny was very pleasant and helpful with area information. Our lava tube experience was very cool. We would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the structure provide the best view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Very friendly owners who went out of their way to help make our one night stay very enjoyable.
Quiet and green location in the rainforest close to the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Room was comfortable and spacious with simple kitchen facilities and a selection of breakfast goodies provided in the room that let us eat what and when we wanted.
Borrowed helmets and torches from the owner to make a self-guided visit to the outstanding lava tube that passes under the lodge grounds. Infinitely more interesting than the Thurston Lava Tube inside the N.P., but some care and the right clothing are required.
Would like to stay here if we visit the area again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Walkalotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We spent two nights here while touring Volcanoes National Park. It's super convenient to town. The rooms aren't fancy, but ours was spacious and comfortable and homey, with a little living area and a nice bathtub. A little fridge and microwave and dishes make it easy to feed yourself if you're on a budget. Free wifi. Danny, who runs it, is super friendly. The property is located over a giant lava tube, which is a must see. In fact, the lava tube is reason enough to stay here. Danny will take you down in the lava tube and show you around. Make sure you're OK scrambling over rocks a bit. It's amazing--much cooler than the lava tube that everyone goes to in the National Park. Definitely some Christian imagery in the rooms, but the proprietors never brought it up in conversation, so that was fine by me. If you like fancy resorts, this may not be the place for you. But for anyone else, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

A friendly welcome with fresh fruit, breakfast goodies and home cooked muffins was a pleasant change from hotel stays.

Overall a comfortable three night stay with easy access to VNP.

The lava tour was very dark and a bit scary, Danny gets a bit excited down there and very keen to have the memories on camera which is the only way to actually see the surroundings!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pauline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.0 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
2.0 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
911 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 21 in Volcano
926 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 21 in Volcano
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Crater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Crater Lodge

Address: 11-3966 Lanihuli Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: $135 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloha Crater Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Hawaiian fern forest at the edge of kazumura cave and lava tube, Aloha Crater Lodge welcomes you. Located next to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, our rooms are designed with your privacy in mind. Every room has private entrance and bath. An outdoor hot tub is situated in the heart of an ohia tree and fern forest. Kazumura cave is a treasure to behold. Breathe in the beauty and majesty of days of old when lava created this incredible sight. Experience Aloha from the edge of Kazumura cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloha Crater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Crater Hotel Volcano
Aloha Crater Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing