We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique B & B - home from home”
Review of Aloha Crater Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloha Crater Lodge
Ranked #13 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Unique B & B - home from home”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Delightful B & B in the middle of volcano land. Just delightful and quaint. Comfy bed, fantastic spa bath. Owners Shannon and Dan made us feel so welcome. Delicious freshly cooked muffins, fresh fruit to eat - so many extra touches. Old world charm and so close to the volcanoes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NieseK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    104
    32
    12
    17
See reviews for
99
115
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We arrived at the lodge early in a misty evening in May, and we felt like floating through a fairy tale. I had to drive carefully around trees, plants and flower pots which marked the meandering driveway. When backing up the car I almost run over a bush (watch out when driving). Were we arriving at the castle of Snow White?

The lodge is ideally located close to the entrance of the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, and not far from several restaurants in Volcano. Only four rooms can be booked; we were in Room 1 on the ground floor and stayed for two nights (and heard our neighbors in their room above us).

Our room was cozy and furnished with love. We liked the breakfast with the ingredients already ready in the kitchen corner when we arrived (However we would have preferred to find an empty trash basket at arrival, and untouched portions of butter and fruit preserves).

We found a number of broken things (pieces of furniture, power outlet, sliding door of bathtub). And WiFi did not work consistently in our room (we tried it with two devices).

As we used the lodge as our base camp for hiking the national park, we did not find time to try out the tree house or accept the owner's invitation to visit the lava tube which is a pity (actually the lodge has a private entrance to the Kazumura lava tube system extending for 41 miles).

Before you decide to stay in Aloha Crater Lodge be sure that you are ready for something special, or that you have a gardener's soul, are with kids, or have time and interest to see the tree house, and to visit the cave. Beside that you should not expect professional lodging in all the details. After all, also for Snow White the world was not perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank proftourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The most comfortable bed in the world, well it felt like it at the time.
Room 1.
It almost felt like staying in someone's spare room actually. Shannon is friendly.
The place could do with a bit of a makeover really, but it was fine, everything we tried, worked.
Breakfast was a bit light though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steveblower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Except for this B&B, we stayed at upscale resorts on both Oahu and the Big Island during our 2-1/2 week vacation .... and we just loved this B&B the best! We stayed in the Hale Ohia vacation rental ... very spacious with all the amenities we needed. Close to VNP but very secluded and peaceful! Dan & Shannon are wonderful folks, so down to earth! Dan was a great tour guide of the lava tubes; at his suggestion, he took all kinds of family photos of us with our camera during the tour ... such keepsakes! And being there on Earth Day, we asked at VNP if there were any earth-friendly projects planned and there wasn't, so Dan & Shannon came up with a project for us to do as a family. Of all of the many, many things we did, saw, and experienced while on this vacation, this B&B was one of our family's favorites ... it was my oldest son's #1 pick!

Room Tip: Look at the photos ... they are exactly what the accommodations are like. NO surprises!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Live4Traveling2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Room was a little funky but host, Steve, was extremely nice and accommodating. Property is lushly landscaped and well off the road. Very convenient to restaurants and park.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbss_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this lovely place in the middle of a rainforest jungle on near the Volcano National Park on Hawaii. The owners are very friendly with the typical Aloha laid back style. Yeah...there could have been a better job done on the floors and sure a couple of cobwebs in the corner but otherwise I loved it.

The breakfast was quite varied I felt, with homemade "Tropical" pineapple/banana bread each day, bowl of fruit, nice granola, OJ, Milk, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and hot cereal for those who wish it. Also Ramen noodles and microwave popcorn for a snack.

We used the spa a couple of times and it was lovely to sit in the warm water after the sun went down and the mist descended. We put on the 'disco' lights and enjoyed it!

The only downside was on our last morning the upstairs was used by a family with teenagers who decided to play their ipod LOUDLY at 7am...luckily we did have to get up, but frankly that was more the parent's issue than the lodges. It's not terribly sound proof, so if you get a loud family or people in the other rooms I can see that being annoying. Though the other nights we were there the others were fine.

My husband did the Lava Tour and loved it. It was too much for my knee, but he said it was really great.

Room Tip: For couples, the downstairs rooms were very cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Beach, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed one night at this location and truly liked the surroundings and jungle feel. The property sits back off the road and is very private.
Pros
-nice location
-lava tube on property
-comfortable bed
-large room

Cons
-Room extremely musty and damp feeling (it was raining but there are ways to warm it up and freshen)
-linens were old and needed freshening
-room was not cleaned very well ... cobwebs in all corners and bathroom floor not clean. Also, the trash can from the previous guest not emptied.
-just a continental breakfast ... not a full one as suggested

We were greeted by one of the kids when we arrived and he checked us in. He was very sweet and helpful. When we returned to get in our room we discovered he gave us the wrong key so we had to go disturb the family. It was bad timing as they were having a crisis so the husband was rushed (totally understandable). We did enjoy the free lava tube tour but I want to caution people who are not sure- footed that this can be dangerous. A gal who was hiking with us fell and cut her hand and chose not to go any further. I think the owners should offer gloves because the lava is very sharp. Overall, we had an enjoyable time but one night was perfect. There are many B&B's around that area and others offer a full breakfast which is a better value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erinsam42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.0 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
2.1 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Crater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Crater Lodge

Property: Aloha Crater Lodge
Address: 11-3966 Lanihuli Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloha Crater Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Hawaiian fern forest at the edge of kazumura cave and crater, Aloha Crater Lodge welcomes you. Located next to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Our rooms are designed with your privacy in mind. Every room has private entrance and bath. An outdoor hot tub is situated in the heart of an ohia tree and fern forest. Kazumura cave is a treasure to behold. Breathe in the beauty and majesty of days of old when lava created this incredible sight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Aloha Crater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Crater Hotel Volcano
Aloha Crater Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing