We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient volcano and rainforest hideaway” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilauea Volcano Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilauea Volcano Cottages
Ranked #17 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient volcano and rainforest hideaway”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

Our family stayed at the Forest House. The location is beautiful and private, set in a lush rainforest just a few minutes from the Volcano National Park visitor's center. Volcano Village, the small town where the house was located, was very sparse and food/groceries were very limited, but if you want to visit the volcano, it's worth it to be so close. The 2-bedroom house has VERY dated furnishings and appliances. And, in addition to a musty/stale smell in much of the home, there were cobwebs around every window. The size and layout of the house is great for a family--large open spaces, an open kitchen and large dining table. However, there's no central a/c or heat, so to circulate the air and make the temperature more comfortable, you have to either open all the windows in the afternoon to cool the house or use space heaters or a wood-burning stove to heat the rooms. We did appreciate and make use of the washer and dryer in the house, and the shower heads were brand new with great water pressure. The manager is difficult to reach through the office number, but she was easier to reach with her cell. Because there were some clothes hanging in the closets, books on the shelves, and food in the refrigerator, we think this house has owners that visit somewhat often. We had mixed opinions about this house, but recognize that there are other houses available to rent with this property. I wouldn't recommend this specific house unless they did some updating and more thorough cleaning, but the overall location was beautiful and great for visiting the volcano. On a related note, be sure to pack clothes for cooler weather because the elevation here is about 4000 ft and it's very cool in the mornings and evenings.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmayen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KilaueaCottages, Manager at Kilauea Volcano Cottages, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
We appreciate the feedback from this customer.

We operate a variety of rentals in Volcano from Budget , Moderate, to Luxury Homes, older, newer, and brand new homes, and yes, this customer happened to book an older more reasonable home in Volcano.

We believe that this customer was unfortunately not priviledged to review the extensive photos and descriptions we have on our website for each rental unit, as they booked through a third party online reservation service that just provides a brief description and rate, resulting in the apparent dissapointment upon arrival.

However, the customer did not voice anything about their dissapointment or any other concern to us , in which case we would have been able to take care of any issue at hand immediately, or even upgraded them to another newer more expensive house at not additional charge. Since this post we have hired two new housekeepers to insure nothing is overlooked at any of our houses in the future.

Our advise to every traveler out there.. if you don't like something or there is a problem at a rental house .. let management or the owner know right away.. Only that way they can try to take care of anything that is an issue, and then you are more likely to enjoy your stay. If you don't tell them you and the business both loose. You are not happy and then you write a negative review, which in turn hurts the business.

Aloha,
Management
Kilauea Volcano Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    7
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lander, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

Stayed at the Honeymoon Retreat ...a huge 2 bedroom home, gorgeous yard and setting
amidst a classic rainforest experience. Wonderful kitchen facility, Extremely quiet and comfortable rooms with a deck right outside the bedroom overlooking the grounds, but a very very private setting. Hot tub was a marvelous addition, but on top of that, a high quality Finnish sauna in a separate building (What a treat). Real easy to be comfortable and feel safe in this home. It was a magical stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bisonwilliam53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

30 miles from Hilo and next to the Volcano park, close to a great inn/restaurant, this 2 bedroom/2 bath home was a Garden of Eden at the end of the road, Idyllic , quite, with lush surroundings. Fine kitchen, exterior hot tub and separate sauna, all the requirements for a couple or close friends. Bring your fresh fish, cook and drink wine overlooking this grand private 2+ acre landscaped back yard. It is a place worth coming back to.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baba-Kahawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

My best friend & I are on a 9-month adventure to travel the world and write a book. And we chanced on Kilauea Garden Cottage online, quite by chance. SERENDIPITY. The cottage was private, had a private garage, cosy living room with TV/DVD set that swiveled to face both the living area and bedroom, a clean and well-stocked bathroom and kitchen, free wireless Wifi. We had all the utensils, cutlery, spices, eggs, pancakes etc stocked in the cottage, so even though we are not cooks by nature, we found ourselves cooking breakfast every morning! It was a marvelous experience, and Beate was a delight! She took great care of us and even came round to help us out personally when we needed her help. Personal touch, Personal details, BEST. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporePam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

This paradise is located in Hilo. We had a 3 br/2 full bath lr, dinning room and a kitchen filled with food i.e. juice, milk, eggs, bread, pancake mix, and coffee everything to make you mornings wonderful. The grounds were maicured and lush and every morning you were awakened by the sounds and songs of the birds of Hawaii. There were fresh orchids in the dinning room when we arrived. The house was immaculate.
It was a house I would build and the price was cheaper then any hotel in Hilo. It was 20 minutes to downtown Hilo.
There was a fireplace with all the wood you would need to build a fire...and we did...

I hated to leave and say Aloha to Bea who was very kind and made our stay joyfull
Renee and Phil

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fsurenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

We had the most wonderful stay at the Honeymoon Chalet on the Big Island. We visited three islands while in Hawaii and the most wonderful stay was here at the Honeymoon Chalet. The kitchen is fully equipped, the shower in the bathroom is terrific, the hot tub in the rainforst was so romantically special, the place was well cleaned and well maintained, the wooden interior is fabulous and the wood burning stove adds that little extra romance. I would highly recommend staying here for your visit to the Big Island - it is remote enough for privacy and completely quite evenings and yet close enough to Hilo to get what you need for touring highlights.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TriplettR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

First of all, the location is great and the innkeeper is very friendly. Nevertheless, I had to give this place two stars - the cottage itself is a moldy, musky old house (albeit in a beautiful setting). The worst part was not even the state of the property, but the fact that it was just not cleaned well at all. On top of that, the bed was a double instead of a queen and there was no breakfast to speak of (other than what, if anything, was leftover by previous guests). Considering that there is no real civilization around for like 50 miles, the latter point kind of becomes important.
We paid $145 a night for the "privilege" - should have packed after the first night and went elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyiris709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volcano hotels
0.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
0.2 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#12 of 31 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Volcano Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Volcano Cottages

Property: Kilauea Volcano Cottages
Address: 11-3980 Lanihuli Road, P.O. Box 108-309, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilauea Volcano Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Kilauea Volcano Cottages Hotel Volcano
Kilauea Volcano Cottages Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing