We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Volcano Village Lodge
Ranked #2 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gleason, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Romantic”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed as a couple for three wonderful days in Volcano Village Lodge. It was simply fantastic! Decorated with colors of the rainforest with attention down to the smallest detail. Loving is the service the ladies provide.
The beds are the most comfortable. The bathrooms are designed modern and comfortable for the traveler who is here looking to explore the volcano park.
The location in the rainforest is really cozy and warm.
The spectacular large windows open up the room and give you the feeling of being directly in nature.
The breakfast is appealing yet simple. The breakfast is served directly in the room. Each day the fridge is filled with fresh fruit and baked treats, and even individual requests such as vegan.
We conclude that one can only say that there is no better place to call home while traveling on this side of the BI.
The ladies were kind and nice when we needed help or assistance.
We did find the parking a little tight, but that was only when all the rooms were occupied.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BirdLoverUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Your kind words have brought a smile to our faces on a beautiful (although rainy) Hawaiian morning! We are happy to hear that you had a 5 star experience at our property. Our Innkeepers love to share local knowledge and inside information on places to see, so we are happy that you were able to spend some time with us.

We welcome you to come back anytime! Mahalo nui loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    56
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
125
500
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We are so happy that we splurged for two nights at the Volcano Village Lodge. Our family of four truly enjoyed all of the amenities provided by the innkeepers. Movies, books, cookies, etc, available in the reception lodge. The breakfast was delish- quiche one morning, egg casserole the next- and lots of extras, like yogurt and amazing fresh fruit. Our private bungalow was tucked in the lush grounds. We never saw any other guests. So quiet and tranquil. They have it all covered... robes, slippers, heated towel rack, snacks, water, juice, coffee and tea. If you want to spend a couple of days on this side of the island- you can't find better accommodations. Very convenient. There aren't a lot of restaurants close by to choose from- but the Thai place was excellent.

One note- we stayed in Haleakala. Queen bed and a sofa pull-out (which was all beautifully made up when we got there). The sofa bed was perfect for our 7 and 9 year olds to share, but would be better for one person if any older than that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlyAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Aloha and thank you! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review upon returning home. The futon bed in Haleakala is only set up by our staff for 2 younger children or 1 adult - never 2 adults/older children - so we appreciate you making that note in your review. :) We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Volcano for two nights while on honeymoon. The Volcano Village Lodge was a beautiful B&B where we had our own private little cottage. We stayed in the Mauna Kea lodge which came with private bathroom, fireplace, and outdoor patio. It was completely private for the most part, except that you could see the neighboring lodge a little bit outside one of the windows. Other than that, it was a private retreat in a jungle oasis -- and only 10 min from the Volcano park!

Very beautiful romantic setting. Only complaint is that for a B&B, I did not find the food that well done. Your breakfast is actually stored in the mini fridge in your room which you heat up in the microwave the next morning. There is also some cereal, yogurt, and snacks. The fruit plate was stellar, but if you are looking for a good hot breakfast, this does not rank very highly in my experience of B&B breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your spending time at our lodge. Your comments are welcomed. We work very hard to provide our guests a wonderful vacationing experience within the B&B laws and regulations of our area. According to our local area regulations, B&B's are not allowed to provide a traditional hot breakfast.

We would love to provide our guests a wonderfully hot morning breakfast, but we also must operate in line with the local laws or face the wrath of local authorities. It is our goal to provide our guests a healthy, fresh, and flavorful breakfast while adhering to the guidelines we are suppose to follow.

We have tried to make our guests aware of our restrictions and then make the breakfast a highlight of their stay in a non-traditional way. When you read many of our reviews and talk with many of our guests it is also evident that they prefer not having to leave their room for their breakfast. The breakfast in room pleases the majority of our guests.

Our lodge is positioned as a 'unique lodging experience' more than a traditional B&B based on what we have found our guests to prefer over our years of operation. We really appreciate your thoughts and will work hard to improve all areas for future guests.

We appreciate your comments and strive for continual improvement to provide and please our guests the most wonderful vacationing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This place is tucked deep inside a rain forest. Our room had glass walls on three sides. We would be woken up to birds singing every morning. It is always nice to wake up with a smile and this place makes you do that . We stayed there during the full moon nights last month and the moonlight through the tall trees as seen from our rooms was just unbelievable beautiful!
This place is very well maintained given that it is surrounded by so many tall trees. It is also very convenient with a 10 min drive to volcanoes national park.

We stayed here for two nights but would have loved to stay for longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SudeepaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Mahalo for taking the time to write a review ! The rainforest is a majestic place and even more amazing during a full moon! We are happy that you enjoyed your time in Volcano Village and hope that you will return someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Probably the BEST place to stay in this location in the vicinity of the National Park vocanoes. The drive was only five minutes to the main attractions. So much to see and do in the area. We only stayed 2 nights and could have stayed 4 nights had we only planned.
Volcano Village Lodge is the charming property you dream about when traveling. The lodge is a collection of little cottages in a quiet area side street in the middle of a kind of mini jungle.
The breakfast is waiting in the fridge the night before. The selection is very varied. Definitely eat in moderation as the ladies place a lot of food for you in your room. The papayas taste as good here as anywhere else in the Hawaiian islands.
There are more papayas waiting for you outside the main lodge. Simply take one if you are hungry and want fresh food.
Really enjoyed the lodge and the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CL2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Mahalo and thank you for choosing Volcano Village Lodge! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

First of all, the surroundings are impressive! Suddenly you are in the middle of a rain forest with lush vegetation. Our room had big glass windows and a glass door to a small balcony that made us feel in the middle of the forest but at the same time with privacy and comfort. Due to the high altitude it was cold at night while we were there in March. The bed heating was a nice touch and we slept very well during the two nights we spent there.
The Lodge is only a short drive away from the Volcanoes National Park, making it perfect to explore the park.
The place was delightful and relaxing and we had such a nice view that it is one of those places where you enjoy every minute in your room! Spend at least two nights to enjoy the place and the surroundings with no rush.
I highly recommend it for the beauty, comfort, location and the forest.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sleser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Mahalo nui loa for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Volcano Village Lodge a few weeks ago and we had a delightful stay. It was a nice place with beyond expectation romance.
The room we had was a dream come true. We had a view of the rainforest out of our window that I couldnt get over.
Our only issue was that parking was a little tight for our car. When you get 6 cars in the lot it is cramped. We parked on the street one day and that was no problem at all.
We enjoyed the breakfast in the room, the soft robes and slippers. the comfortable bed, and the service. The place is quiet, romantic, and a perfect island retreat.
The famous cat was recovering and locked in the lodge when we were there. Had a chance to meet Gino once.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time in the last of the Hawaiian rainforest. We appreciate your feedback regarding our parking lot. We are working on a solution to make the area more efficient for the number of guest vehicles. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.3 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.1 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Village Lodge

Property: Volcano Village Lodge
Address: 19-4183 Road E, 19-4183 Road E, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Village Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heaven on Earth. Welcome to the paradox of fire and tranquility. We created the Hawaii Volcano Village Lodge for people who want more out of life than a whirlwind tour of the island. Located just a mile from the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, our lodges and retreat are where you will wake up in peace and beauty. Stroll through the sacred rainforest and rest in your deluxe lodge with every comfort, including the plushest bedding, a fireplace, DVD, CD, private telephone, wireless connection, tropical breakfasts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Volcano Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Village Hotel Volcano
Volcano Village Lodge Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing