We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing to say the least”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Volcano Village Lodge
Ranked #2 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spicewood, Texas
Level Contributor
302 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Disappointing to say the least”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

From the many highly rated reviews, we were expecting much more from the Volcano Village Lodge. The location inside the beautiful rain forest was the only good thing to say about our 2-day stay.. The bed and bedding were in need of an upgrade, the breakfast put in the refrigerator the day before arrival was frozen and not eatable. The large humidifier placed in the bathroom was loud and took up too much space. The bath towels needed to be replaced. Also, keeping the room at a constant temperature at night was a problem and the advertised hot tub was a joke. We thought about checking out a day early and trying to get our money back but decided to stick it out.

Room Tip: We will not return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Number1green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayLeeVVL, Owner at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Upon reading your review we were heartbroken that we weren't able to please you during your recent stay with us.
We appreciate your taking time to share with us your displeasure and we are going to address each and every issue you mentioned to discover what went wrong.
We put our heart and soul into our piece of paradise and it is our goal to provide our guests the most wonderful experience possible.
We understand how a stay can be disappointing when expectations are high.
The guidelines for B&Bs in Hawaii require us to provide only limited, cold items. When we learned that your meal was not only cold, but frozen, it made me sad and disappointed as well. We are so disappointed that something like this went wrong during your stay. If any future guests experience this egregious disaster, please let us know immediately. We will do everything in our power to remedy the mistake. We want our guests satisfied and fully nourished before starting their day.
While we normally receive rave reviews for our beds, sheets and towels evidently something went wrong in this area as well. We are so sorry to disappoint.
One of the problems with living and running a business in paradise is the time frame for getting supplies. We ordered a replacement cover for our hot tub several months ago. Yes, several months ago. We are still waiting for delivery. Paradise can be beautiful, but also inconvenient.
Thank you for taking time to share with us your disappointment. We have been saddened by your disappointment. But, in every situation we learn and strive for continual improvement.
We want to assure you and our future guests that we will look into these concerns and more.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our little place in paradise and we will go to great lengths to provide you a better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    56
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
125
497
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We only stayed one night at the Lodge, so we didn't get to fully experience all that is has to offer. However, the location is lovely and peaceful, the individual accommodations tranquil and well situated on the property (the layout affords lots of privacy even though the units are somewhat close together). The inn keepers were very helpful and welcoming. Our only major criticism is that the food was not great, and there was not much offered for breakfast (lots of snacks, however). Overall, it is a lovely place to stay and very close to the National Park.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayLeeVVL, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking time to review our property. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our location and your guest room during your time with us.

We appreciate your feedback regarding our breakfast foods. At Volcano Village Lodge, our daily breakfasts consist of a plate of fresh tropical fruit, a plate with a main breakfast item (i.e. Quiche, French Toast, Breakfast Burrito, etc), and a basket full of cereals, oatmeal, granola bars, fresh fruits – as well as some snacks to enjoy during the day. We encourage our guests to let us know if they would like more of any of these items (or all of them!). It is our hope that you will visit us again to allow us to perfect your memory of your Hawaiian rainforest getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I can't say enough about this gem of a property. To wake up to the light filtering through the rain forest as we looked out at our floor to ceiling windows was breathtaking! Breakfast was delicious and our room, Hale Kilauea, is the least expensive however, the picture of our breakfast nook is featured in the website photo for TripAdvisor and we think it's the nicest room and closest to the hot tub. It may seem confusing to get here, but it's quite easy and very close to the Volcano National Park entrance and local restaurants.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend Hale Kilauea. Spend the additional money on a great dinner at Thai Thai or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

It is a special place to stay near Volcano National Park. The property is small with only 5 units spread over the property connected by walkways. I haven't ever reviewed anything on Trip Advisor, so I'm not sure what to say about what was my favorite place I have ever stayed.
I know that making a statement like that is a lot so here is why I found the Lodge to be our best part of our trip.
1. Location close to the Volcano National Park
2. The unusual structure of the B&B
3. Having breakfast waiting for us in our room every morning
4. The soft, warm robes
5. The staff
6...The owner thought of every detail from slippers to DVDs to flashlights
What can be done to make the place even better:
1. More information on the area in the rooms
2. Alcohol for purchase on premises
Even with those two minor things, this was the best part of our trip to Hawaii. I will come back and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ZeroTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I feel in love with this place. The location, environment, staff and comfort of the Volcano Village Lodge made us fall in love.
The rainforest environment was a romantic setting for a not so typical retreat.
Thanks to all.

Room Tip: I suggest a larger room as the small one is too small. Spend extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PsiWyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I found this B&B through Trip Advisor and chose it because of the high ratings given it by other travelers. They were right! Let me say at the outset that of all the reviews I have written I have rarely awarded an "excellent" rating. I tend to be picky about accommodations and service. That said, this B&B warrants the high rating for both the room/cabin/bungalow and the service. We stayed here for two nights as part of a two-week visit to the Big Island (we have a time-share in Waikoloa).

You can read the basic property descriptions in other reviews so let me just say that they are accurate and move on. We stayed in the largest cabin, Mauna Loa, and it was very comfortable. This cabin has two bedrooms and a loft so was larger than we needed but it was all that was available in our time frame. We enjoyed all the glass and did not find it disconcerting as some others did. We enjoyed the feeling of being IN the rain forest, and were able to use the shades to accommodate the occasional need for additional privacy. The cabins are situated such that we never saw any other guests so did not feel the need to lower the shades except at night to block the somewhat annoying spotlights that were on all night on adjacent cabins.

The breakfast food was good and we loved being able to heat it up when WE were ready to eat. The selection of teas and snacks was impressive, though we didn't try any (too many carbs and sugar). Bathroom amenities were very nice but the best was the heated towel warmer! We were chilled to the bone after watching the Halema'uma'u Crater display at the Jaggar Museum and Volcano Observatory (do NOT miss this!), so a hot shower and hot towel were very much appreciated! We both have minor back problems so sleeping in a "strange" bed can be a challenge, but this bed was very comfortable and we both slept like babies. Of course, the soft rain on the roof helped. The warm robes an slippers were also much appreciated.

The staff were very accommodating, as others have said, and gave us their cell numbers in case we needed anything after or before hours. When we returned from the VNP the first full day here, the room had of course been serviced. However, and this is my sole quibble, the wine glass we had used in the bathroom (because the wine glasses are the ONLY ones provided) was still there and dirty; it was not replaced as the other wine glass, left on the counter with the breakfast plates, had been. I found this odd for a place of otherwise stellar quality. Had we gotten back to the cabin earlier and realized there was only one clean wine glass we would have called one of the numbers provided, but I was simply not comfortable calling late for something so minor. There needs to be a cup of some sort provided for the bath. Period.

We come to the VNP every time we are on the Big Island and will return to this lovely B&B. Mahalo!

Room Tip: The Mauna Loa is the largest cabin (and therefore the most expensive) and very comfortable for two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jacqueet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
291 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Tucked amidst the rain forest, this small, quaint bed and breakfast has a total of five rooms and is approximately 1.5 miles or 2.4 kilometers from the Volcano National Park. It is quiet and the first time arriving we were not sure if we were in the right spot.

The B & B has a small common area that serves as a reception that has books, DVD's and other items. Each room has a TV, DVD and nice bathroom and large closet that holds a mini-refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The staff places the breakfast in the refrigerator that is stocked with waters, juices and snacks. The breakfasts were either quiche with fresh fruit and cereal. The other breakfast was french toast made with Hawaiian bread and syrup along with fresh fruit and juices. On the night table is a snack basket that had health bars and fruit.

Given the travels, we did not see the staff much; however, they were cordial on our check in and departure and made it very clear if we needed anything to call them. They even provided their personal cells numbers.

It may be more than what people may want to spend; however, considering the ambiance, the amenities included along with the breakfasts, snacks, water and juices, it was worth stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hale Manaluna room, which turned out to be great as it was a bit away from the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JDSoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.3 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.1 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Village Lodge

Property: Volcano Village Lodge
Address: 19-4183 Road E, 19-4183 Road E, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Village Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heaven on Earth. Welcome to the paradox of fire and tranquility. We created the Hawaii Volcano Village Lodge for people who want more out of life than a whirlwind tour of the island. Located just a mile from the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, our lodges and retreat are where you will wake up in peace and beauty. Stroll through the sacred rainforest and rest in your deluxe lodge with every comfort, including the plushest bedding, a fireplace, DVD, CD, private telephone, wireless connection, tropical breakfasts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Volcano Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Village Hotel Volcano
Volcano Village Lodge Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing