We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE DON'T WANT TO LEAVE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Volcano Village Lodge
Ranked #2 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Such a great little place in the mountains of Hawaii. An escape from the traffic and insanity of Oahu, the stop and go of Kona, the madness of the mainland. Truly a jungle gem with great service, breakfast prepared nightly so you can eat on your own each morning, comfortable beds, hot showers- I could go on. It's perfect. I can't compare to the others, bc we only stayed here, but I did hear a gentlemen tell the receptionist "we stayed somewhere else last time and it didn't compare."
If I had to find a negative it would be that the entrance to our room was in the back of the "lobby" so it was a dark walk when we came home late.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jpflaum325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 709 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

We traveled to Volcano for a few days during our two week stay in Hawaii, and we wished we had spent more time here primarily due to our great experience at the Volcano Village Lodge. This lodge provides such a unique type of lodging option that it in itself should be a reason to travel to Volcano. The lodge is a bed and breakfast, but the units are still sectioned off inside of the surrounding rain forest. The rooms also have many windows and really bring the foilage into the room visually. With all the shades open, this creates one of the more peaceful and submersive experiences we've ever had. The balconies have chairs and candles, and during a dry, dark night will give you a quite, peaceful glass of wine that won't be forgotten soon.

The lodge also has standard amenities, although they are executed with a small boutique feel, which is part of the charm. The rooms, bathrooms, and facilities are clean, functioning, and have a polished feel to them. The management team is also very responsive and eager to help. The one small issue we had with scheduling a massage, the staff went beyond the call of duty in rectifying the problem.

I should emphasize that this isn't a big hotel experience. Although I believe this is one of the nicer (or likely the nicest) place to stay in Volcano, it is a small boutique lodge that gets its value from being such. If your budget allows and you're staying in Volcano or around there, I think this is the only place you should be looking at.

Room Tip: Talk with the staff about which room might make sense for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We loved this place. We spent 2nights in the Mauna Kea room. Although all the rooms were fully booked, we never saw anyone else. It was like our own ultra luxurious tree house. Private lanai. Also, they adjusted our breakfast to accommodate my wheat allergy. Delicious breakfast. Great place. Book early.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dolceduet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here after getting married on the other side of the island, and loved every minute of it. It is so peaceful and secluded, so a car is a must, and it was handy for viewing the glowing volcano at night. They provide plenty of food in your room for breakfast and snacking, and even cater well for vegetarians. We hardly saw anyone in our 2 nights there, but could go and get advice if we needed. I recommend booking well in advance to get the pick of your room. We stayed in the Mauna Kea, which was the only available room when we booked, but even that was AMAZING! Thnk you!

Room Tip: Book well in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Skyb0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We recently stayed three nights at the lodge. I was very happy with the unit we stayed in - plenty of room and the only noise we ever heard were birds and the occasional rain. Great access to the park - only about 5 miles. This place is a little pricey, but it is a romantic spot that my wife really enjoyed and is a very comfortable place. The breakfasts were always good (not great - but good and convenient). The ladies in the office were very helpful and friendly. An hour in the hot tub with a beer during a rainstorm is highly recommended. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank senatorsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed in the Mauna Loa cabin with our family of four. We enjoyed every minute of it. In the very quiet setting surrounded by large tree ferns and flowers, it feels as if you are in the middle of a rainforest. We very much enjoyed to come back here and rest after our excursions and hikes into Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Every morning you find a great breakfast in your refridgerator. Simply heat it up when ready and enjoy. A great relaxing way to start the day together. Service was great and friendly with every detail taken care of. Checkin and checkout was a breeze. Best place we stayed on the Big Island.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dutch_Travel-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just to add to the long list of superlatives. This really is a great place run by lovely people. I happened to mention, in passing, that I had come to Volcano to spend my 60th birthday with the volcano and found they had left a bottle of pineapple wine (very good, by the way) in our room on my birthday. They also picked up and passed on accurately a message from an outside company, something that most hotels are woefully bad at.
When we arrived there was nobody around except the cat. They had left instructions on the notice board to let ourselves in. This was typical of the relaxed atmosphere of the place. After that my partner was tickled by the idea that the only permanent member of staff was the cat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank granville callan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
2.1 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
1,000 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 21 in Volcano
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
532 reviews
0.8 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#6 of 32 in Volcano
429 reviews
53.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Village Lodge

Address: 19-4183 Kawailehua Road, 19-4183 Kawailehua Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: $339 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Village Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heaven on Earth. Welcome to the paradox of fire and tranquility. We created the Hawaii Volcano Village Lodge for people who want more out of life than a whirlwind tour of the island. Located just a mile from the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, our lodges and retreat are where you will wake up in peace and beauty. Stroll through the sacred rainforest and rest in your deluxe lodge with every comfort, including the plushest bedding, a fireplace, DVD, CD, private telephone, wireless connection, tropical breakfasts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Volcano Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Village Hotel Volcano
Volcano Village Lodge Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing