We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a Dream”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Volcano Village Lodge
Ranked #2 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Like a Dream”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I and our adult son stayed in the Hale Maleluna. The room is spacious and therefore the roll-away bed for our son fit fine. The lodge and its setting are heavenly, like another world. They have thought of every detail to make the experience pleasant and soothing, and the buildings and landscape aesthetic. For example, there are scrolls with uplifting and contemplative sayings on the grounds. The ambiance is like a natural outdoor spa in that it encourages you to relax and feel peaceful. Plus, there are no mosquitos because they cannot survive the altitude and cool weather. So you can walk the grounds without applying insect repellent (a big difference from Hilo). The Hale Maleluna room and bathroom are exquisite. The bathroom sink is outside the bath/toilet room, so this is an extra convenience. There is also a huge walk in closet. Plush robes and slippers are provided for your use. The Hale Maleluna is is where the former owner used to stay so as you can imagine, it is comfortable and lovely. And then, at night, the guest library/lounge (with its sofa, armchair, and large table with chairs) becomes yours to enjoy! We brought back a pizza and ate our dinner there. The library has lots of books, including travel guides. During the day, you can still hang out in the library, but it is open to all guests. Not a single guest came in the library/lounge while I was there, but one of the Lodge employees does man the desk. I enjoyed eating my breakfast there and talking with her. The included breakfast is very substantial and included a slice of homemade quiche, as well as lots of snacks you can take to Volcano National Park for sustenance during your long day in the park. The park was very interesting, but unfortunately in September 2011 there was no surface lava flow. We went back to the park at night and saw the red glow of smoke coming out of the volcano. Volcano Village Lodge is pricey, however, and requires a two-night stay. We had an ambitious itinerary for our vacation, which included all the sites on the Big Island and Oahu. As a result I only wanted to stay one night at Volcano Village Lodge. Fortunately, there was a single night available between two other bookings for Hale Maleluna so the lodge allowed us to stay there only one night. If we had been required to stay there two nights, I might have decided against it, given the high cost.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    56
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
128
504
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed two nights with our two boys (15/8) and had an absolutely fantastic experience. We can't fault the staff, the location, the room, the forest, the cat, the breakfast, the snacks and the atmosphere. We even liked the low cloud cover and the misty rain that was with us for the first evening. So to get to the crux of this review... Yes, you might think it is expensive but you need to look past comparing this place to your average Hilton or B&B and think of it this way... you are paying to segment yourself from the average hotel experience (and the other guests) and so with this in mind we found the price point spot on. My wife is a vegetarian and she was very happy with the food, eating in the room at our own pace and timing was perfect. Our room had the extra double bed in it (seperate room) and also a small loft where the kids loved to relax, there are DVD's, books and games to borrow, a hot tub and fast WiFi included. We loved the gas fire in the room and it was more than enough to heat the place up and gave us a focal point rather than the TV to gather around as a family to drink some hot chocolate and chat about the day. We will go back if we are ever in this part of the world again and we will personally recommend a stay here to our family and close friends.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TripTravela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My daughter and I stayed in the Mauna Loa unit last month (May 2012) when we visited the island for her 30th birthday. We couldn't possibly have been happier with the accommodations. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated and spacious, the beds very comfortable and the kitchen furnished with just about everything you might need, including wonderful local coffee. As Kathryn, the innkeeper, alerted us beforehand, it does get chilly in the evenings. Both bedrooms have floorboard base heating and mattress warmers (what a treat!) to insure comfort. And there is a gas stove in the living room to take the chill off while you're having breakfast. Kathryn is very friendly and knowledgeable, and her pre-trip advice was completely accurate. (Think: Prepare for wet weather, which will NOT interefere with your enjoyment of the island unless you have a high intolerance for humidity.)

The inn is very convenient to the national park and other natural attractions -- we stayed on the Hilo side and thus didn't get to any of the beaches) -- and a truly great restaurant that I recommend with unreserved enthusiasm (the Zagut-rated Kiawe Kitchen). And it's easy to get to a regular supermarket for food, etc.

I would definitely stay there again.
I

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bk1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The rainforest is incredible and the volcano area are a treat. We have stayed at many places during visits to Hawaii, but this place is un..be..liev..able!
I think the simplicity of the small 5 unit place makes it a great place to stay. I also think that it is so different from what I expect to find in Hawaii that makes it un..be..liev..able!
My only way to describe it....un..be..liev..able!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HipTravelCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed in the Mauna Loa room, which has a main bedroom with king bed and a smaller room with a double bed (perfect for our son). The room is 80% windows and looks out onto the rainforest and yet is still very private. Delicious breakfast provided. We booked a picnic lunch for our tour of the national park, which was delicious and generous. Meghan was also very helpful when we had questions. Overall one of the nicest places I have stayed. And I almost forgot to mention the hot tub!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kristenw1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Our family of four, including two teenage boys, stayed in the Mauna Loa cottage while visiting Volcanoes National Park. Wow. Hard to tear ourselves away from our wonderful lodging each morning even though an amazing national park was just minutes away. The cottage was beautiful, private-feeling, a bit of eco-luxury. Great breakfasts and friendly service. Especially loved the resident feline, Gino -- whom we renamed Gizmo, ha ha! -- who visited our porch most mornings. Lovely, warming stove. Comfortable bedding and nice amenities. Just book it!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Juja80301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

There are a lot of hotels and B&B's in this world, but this hotel got me motivated to write a review.
It was an experience.
The lodge was like no other I've experienced. Rainforest location. Lots of windows. Wonderful staff.
No interaction with other guests.
The beds were comfortable and I slept incredibly well.
Breakfast in the room in the morning was romantic.
A friendly cat guarded the grounds and welcomed us.
Very nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angie2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.3 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
403 reviews
2.1 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
861 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
519 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
866 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Village Lodge

Property: Volcano Village Lodge
Address: 19-4183 Road E, 19-4183 Road E, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Village Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heaven on Earth. Welcome to the paradox of fire and tranquility. We created the Hawaii Volcano Village Lodge for people who want more out of life than a whirlwind tour of the island. Located just a mile from the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, our lodges and retreat are where you will wake up in peace and beauty. Stroll through the sacred rainforest and rest in your deluxe lodge with every comfort, including the plushest bedding, a fireplace, DVD, CD, private telephone, wireless connection, tropical breakfasts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Volcano Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Village Hotel Volcano
Volcano Village Lodge Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing