We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aloha Moon Cottage was Fantastic!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lotus Garden Cottages
Ranked #1 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Aloha Moon Cottage was Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2008

This B&B was exactly what I was looking for. The room was beautifully decorated, and the bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! The whole setting is private and relaxing - which is exactly what I needed in a vacation. The innkeepers were very nice and the breakfast that they served was the perfect way to get ready for a day of hiking in the national park.

I was very impressed with the quality of this B&B, especially considering how reasonable their rates are. All in all I loved Lotus Garden Cottages and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bigislandfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    60
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
41
409
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2008

I stayed at the Lotus Garden Cottages for three nights based on a recommendation from a friend who had stayed there during her last two trips to the Big Island. She claimed it was basically an oasis, with beautiful rooms, great breakfasts and attentive innkeepers.

She was 100% on point. The rooms were decorated so gorgeously with Hawaiian and Asian decor. The bed was AMAZING. It took so much determination to get myself out bed in the morning. I could have laid there forever.

But once I got up, I was greeted with a luxurious breakfast. Delicious pastries, island fruits, rich coffee, etc. I read in some past posts that inn wasn't serving breakfast and giving gift certificates instead, but it turns out that that was because the owners were remodeling their kitchen. The breakfasts are back and wonderful!

Above all, for all that you get, the rates were lower than I thought they would be. If you want to get 5 star island accommodations at an affordable price, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sloanie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

The Lotus Garden Cottages is clean, spacious and quiet. Having the tv sitting area, bar stools at the counter and sitting area in the lanai was a plus.

When we arrived, the owner was busy remodeling his kitchen. No breakfast and we were given gift certificates to the lodge down the street. No biggie, we used them for dinner instead of breakfast.

The reason I am giving the Lotus Garden Cottage an OK rating is because the single futon mattress was missing from the loft. I specifically chose this B&B because of what was advertised on their web site - "Loft space with two single Futon mattresses". I was travelling with my Aunt and wanted the extra sleeping area. When I asked the owner about the futon he gave me the following answer "we used to cater towards families. A majority of the visitors do not need the futon." I told him he should update his web site because it is false advertising. If the owner is reading this review, maybe you should remove the children's video and ladder leading to the empty loft. I ended up sleeping on the couch.

If you are a couple or need just one bed, then this place is for you. If you need the extra sleeping space, then you are out of luck. I would call the owners before booking if you need the futon.

Overall it was ok - but no breakfast, no futon in the loft, no tea in the cottage, towels and water were left outside our cottage and they did not tidy up inside. I think if the owner was not remodeling their kitchen we would have had a better stay at the Lotus Garden Cottage.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank BayAreaTraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Lotus Garden Cottages for 3 nights during our honeymoon and really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the middle cottage which is attached to the other two cottages by a long deck, but we never saw or heard another person. We actually only saw the owner once!

The room is decorated in all of these asian tapestries and wall hangings and the bed is enormous and really comfortable. There's also a fire place. It was a very romantic, rustic place to stay in the volcano area.

We got vouchers for breakfast at the nearby Kilauea Lodge, which did get a little old by the third day, but hey, it's free breakfast! And the cottages are right down the road from all of the restaurants in Volcano. Definitely go to the pizza place - it was as good as NY!

  • Liked — Privacy, decor, bed, fire place
  • Disliked — same breakfast every day
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica_from_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

We stayed three nights in the Aloha Moon Cottage. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was clean. But that was really the only positives for our stay at the Lotus Garden Cottages. It was a great location for exploring the Volcano National Park and the surrounding area, but there were better options.

Be forewarned, the great breakfasts everyone raves about here and on the website are no longer being served. Instead, we received gift certificates to the Kiluaea Lodge for each night we stayed. That's nice I suppose, but completely defeats the purpose of staying at a B&B. We wanted to be able to wake up, have some coffee and breakfast, then shower and go out for the day. Ms. Kim explained it was due to stricter health code laws, but this would have been good to know prior to booking our room there... we would have just stayed at the Kilauea Lodge and cut out the drive for breakfast.

Overall, our stay was just ok. The room seemed to be missing a lot of the little things. We could not turn out the flood light in front of our door, so there was a lot of light pollution, even with all of the blinds closed. Not good when one of the reasons we chose this place was its seclusion in the middle of the rainforest. There is a lot to like if a few things were corrected or the price was a little lower. But we paid more than average for a B&B in Volcano, and we did not receive more than average stay. But if the breakfast issue is fixed along with the lights and a few other (very minor) issues corrected, this could easily be worth the money.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Bri_in_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the Lotus Garden Cottages in the Aloha Moon Cottage, which was very beautiful and private. The cottage had vaulted ceilings and the bed was the most comfortable of all the places we stayed on our visit to Hawaii. There was also a small loft area upstairs with two twin futons. This cottage also had two private lanais off of the room for our use. The owners were very friendly, helpful, and delivered breakfast to our cottage each morning. There is also a coffee maker, teas, and a mini fridge in the room.

We would definitely stay at the Lotus Garden Cottage again, and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a nice secluded place to stay.

  • Liked — Beautiful accomodations
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2008

We spent 2 days at Lotus Garden Cottages. The hotel was fully booked but we didn't meet anyone.

We spent time in the jaccuzi (outside in the jungle), it was wonderful.

The hosts were both cordial and respectful of our privacy. The breakfast was delivered every morning at our requested time.

The owners were very nice and helpful.

  • Liked — jaccuzi
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karine184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.4 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
403 reviews
1.9 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
861 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Volcano
700 reviews
53.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
2.1 mi away
Volcano Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Garden Cottages

Property: Lotus Garden Cottages
Address: 194245 Kekoa Nui Blvd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785-0213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lotus Garden Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heavenly Paradise! Nestled in the heart of the Volcanic Rainforest lies Lotus Garden Cottages. Zen-like luxury accommodations immerse guests in the peace of paradise. Conveniently situated in Volcano Village, minutes from dining, galleries, and the unforgettable Volcanoes National Park. This wonderful getaway offers a genuine and quaint experience of deep relaxation for visitors and local Island guests as well. Lotus Garden Cottages offers an elegance guests will enjoy year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lotus Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Garden Cottages Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing