We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lotus Garden Cottages
Ranked #1 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Tranquil Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Aloha Moon Cottage. The cottage is well furnished and spacious, with a wrap-around deck where we enjoyed the two excellent breakfasts that John brought us. There's a foot massager in the room, for those coming back with weary feet, and some interesting books in the kitchen (I recommend the book titled Volcano by Hongo, although I only read a few snippets).
Lotus Gardens is very close to the center of Volcano (definitely eat at Thai Thai, and if you're brave, ask for your food to be "Thai Hot", it was delicious!). It's also just a 10 minute drive to VNP, so we were even able to drive to Jagger Museum at midnight to gaze at the red glow of the crater.
My last morning at the cottage John lent me a handheld vacuum cleaner so I could get the alternating spots of white and black sand out of our rental 4WD.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    59
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
41
398
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed in the Aloha Moon Cottage and everything was perfect. There is not a single improvement I could suggest. We will stay here when we return to the Big Island in the upcoming years. John (the host) was fantastic and accommodating; breakfast included the freshest fruit we had during our trip to Hawaii.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We got to the Lotus Gardens late at night. The instructions were clearly marked on the front door and were super easy! Loved the secluded atmosphere, breakfast was great in the morning! Such a relaxing a great opportunity to stay at our first B & B. Thanks John

Room Tip: Dont believe there was a swimming pool and fitness center, had to mark something on trip advisor tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland, Colorado
Level Contributor
214 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Aloha Moon cottage, nestled amid the lush foliage of the tropical rainforest just a couple miles from Volcano National Park. We were greeted by Louie (the feline), who led us to innkeeper John. With its peaked ceiling, loft over the bathroom, fancy coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, foot massager, gas fireplace, overhead fan, and comfortable furniture, this spacious Hawaiian-homey “cottage” was a quiet, private retreat for us. John’s breakfasts, featuring Hawaiian fruits, were wonderful to enjoy at the private table on our extensive lanai.

We wish we could give it five stars, but can’t quite because of several lapses. Though connecting to the internet was a low priority for us, John tried but failed to enable us to connect to his wifi with a standard Windows XP laptop, an iPad, or an iPhone. The tell-tale failure, however, was when John couldn’t connect from the vicinity of our cottage with his own iPhone. Another problem was when we returned from an arduous hike across the lavas to watch molten rock pour into the ocean. We both needed a hot bath, but the hot water supply didn’t provide one full tub of hot water, let alone two. And, a minor additional point, but worth mentioning given the high price of Lotus Gardens, we had no coffee or tea cups the second morning.

Despite these modest lapses, we very much enjoyed our stay at Lotus Gardens, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on our trip to Volcano and Volcano National Park. The cottages are in a great location, very close to the handful of restaurants in town and only 5 minutes away from the park. It is located on a quiet street and is a very relaxing place to stay. We stayed in the Aloha Moon cottage, which was very accommodating. The cottage had a number of amenities that we appreciated, such as a Keurig with tea and coffee, wine glasses and cork screw, a foot massager and a binder full of information about the volcano and the surrounding area. The bed was incredible and we probably had the best two nights sleep of our trip here. The owner John was very friendly and provided us with a great breakfast each morning at 8am. After a long day at the volcano, we enjoyed having some wine outside our door in the comfortable and quiet nighttime weather.

Overall I would recommend this place to anyone coming to visit Volcano.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We travel a lot and would be very happy if every BnB was as good as Lotus Garden Cottages. Our room was spacious, clean, well-appointed and very comfortable with a king-size bed. The location is excellent, in a quiet street, lovely garden and close to the entrance to the National Park. Much more reasonably priced than accommodation in the park and the best views of the lava flow are outside the park anyway. The owner, John, is very hands-on, always available, helpful and accommodating (variations in breakfast time etc.). Breakfast was very tasty with fresh fruit, pastry, (sausage and egg-roll on first day only; we did not ask why), with big coffee and tea selection throughout day. Nearby restaurants are good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Hula room but did not look at the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calaria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Lotus Garden Cottages is more like a home with rooms than an actual cottage. My wife and I stayed her and found the place to be clean, spacious and quiet.

When we arrived it was rather late in the evening. I liked the room and the setting. It was a nice place to stay for sure.

My wife and I picked this B&B because of what was advertised on their web site. And, it was exactly what we thought it would be.

If you are a couple traveling to Volcano then this place is worth considering. There are many nice B&B's in Volcano. We picked it because it wasn't as expensive as a few others.

Overall it was a nice place to stay. I think it is about average for the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Born2TravelWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.4 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.9 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Garden Cottages

Property: Lotus Garden Cottages
Address: 194245 Kekoa Nui Blvd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785-0213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Garden Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heavenly Paradise! Nestled in the heart of the Volcanic Rainforest lies Lotus Garden Cottages. Zen-like luxury accommodations immerse guests in the peace of paradise. Conveniently situated in Volcano Village, minutes from dining, galleries, and the unforgettable Volcanoes National Park. This wonderful getaway offers a genuine and quaint experience of deep relaxation for visitors and local Island guests as well. Lotus Garden Cottages offers an elegance guests will enjoy year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Lotus Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Garden Cottages Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing