We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique rainforest cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lotus Garden Cottages
Ranked #1 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay in the Aloha Moon room 2 weeks ago. The room was nicely and uniquely decorated, clean and cozy. Breakfast was delicious, more than we expected. The only downside was the slow-draining bath. Other than that, it is a nice place to lodge in the midst of the rainforest.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khoo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 540 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

We very much enjoyed our brief stay at the Lotus Garden Cottages, near Volcano Naitonal Park. We had the Aloha Moon Cottage, which was beautiful, clean and uniquely decorated.

Large windows surround the room and you feel as if you're one with nature. A nice fireplace came in handy during the cooler evenings. There's a loft with two chairs for reading.

Breakfast was delicious - there was also a Keurig in the kitchen and bottled water. The sheets were clean and smelled nice. Towels were a little musty - but I'm known to be a little picky.

Overall, I'd highly recommend this place for your stay.

The owner was also very nice.

Room Tip: The Aloha Moon Cottage was the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aranchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Cozy, clean, and accommodating. After a day at Volcano park, it was great to come home to our hideaway in the rainforest. We stayed in the Moon room and it was very comfortable. We enjoyed breakfast on the lanai overlooking the strange and exotic foliage. We had some leftovers from dinner so the fridge was helpful, but the microwave did not work very well.

FYI, almost everything in this town closes by 7:30 so make sure you get anything you need early.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We only had one night at Volcano, and are so glad we found this gem. The breakfasts were fantastic, more than we expected, our host was most gracious, and informative! The grounds are a paradise, and the room was super comfortable, private and the bed was amazing. It was so quiet, we got the best night's sleep we had on the Island. This is THE place if you are looking for a wonderful bed and breakfast with interesting construction, great amenities and a quiet retreat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneAnneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed a few nights for a base for Volcano National Park. The room was warm and comfortable, great fire place and comfy bed. We stayed in the front cottage and didn't see or hear anyone during our stay and it was very private. Breakfasts were absolutely delicious and set us up for a big day in the park, and for when we returned there is a leg massager in the room. We got back when it was dark and a light had been left on in the room for us so we could find our way easily. It really was a wonderful stay and we'd be back again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTee180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this hidden property, inmidst of the rainforest. The owner is very friendly and prepared every morning a delicious breakfast which he brings to the room. The room is very comfortable, surrounded by a nice lanai. It is very close to the volcano. We can only recommend this place and are sure nobody will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and were really enjoying the hospitality of John and Induck. They are very caring hosts and always have a good advice when you are planning your itineraries in the island. The rooms are just great and the whole location is really remote and relaxing. We can strongly recommend the Lotus Garden Cottages to any couple staying on the Big Island.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.4 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
423 reviews
52.7 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.4 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 32 in Volcano
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 22 in Volcano
1,012 reviews
53.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
20.3 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Garden Cottages

Address: 194245 Kekoa Nui Blvd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785-0213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: $287 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lotus Garden Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heavenly Paradise! Nestled in the heart of the Volcanic Rainforest lies Lotus Garden Cottages. Zen-like luxury accommodations immerse guests in the peace of paradise. Conveniently situated in Volcano Village, minutes from dining, galleries, and the unforgettable Volcanoes National Park. This wonderful getaway offers a genuine and quaint experience of deep relaxation for visitors and local Island guests as well. Lotus Garden Cottages offers an elegance guests will enjoy year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lotus Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Garden Cottages Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing