We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mystical Forest retreat listening to the evening rain on the roof.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lotus Garden Cottages
Ranked #1 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2011

The Lotus Garden cottages can be a little hard to find if you aren't paying attention... and that's just perfect. You cannot even see the cottages from the road, as they tucked away neatly in the fern forest offering a great sense of seclusion.
You walk along a neat stepping stone path the cottages which are all raised up on posts, so that even in the midst of a cool wet forest the cottages are warm and dry. They are equipped with gas fireplaces, which will you will use.
The cottage comes equipped with a kitchenette that includes fridge, microwave, sink, coffee maker ( but no utensils or toaster.) Also included are good quality wi-fi, cable tv, and a four poster bed that is the most comfortable I have slept in outside of a Fairmont hotel.
Also included is the Cat, who will, if you open the door, come in to make sure that you are nice and comfy before going to bed, and will drop by at breakfast to taste test for quality. It is a difficult and fattening job, but he does it without a mew of complaint.
Breakfast, by the way, is just right. Plenty of fruit, baked goods, juice and coffee... not too much and not to little and with plenty of variety, delivered right to your room at the time you request.
Overall a wonderful blend of mountain cabin, forest spa retreat, and luxury hotel. Pefect for a romantic or relaxing get a way.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54north
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 544 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2011

We stayed here in early March for 2 nights.

Positives:
- The hosts were very polite and nice. They were not intrusive at all, which is what we liked. We actually barely even saw or heard them at all.
- Breakfast was brought to our room every morning and included: freshly cut fruits (arranged in a bento-style) ranging from pineapple, strawberries, and so many other kinds; pastries (coffee cake, turnovers, bagels, etc.); coffee, juice.
- The room we stayed in was the Hula Moon. It was beautiful and the Japanese decorations were lovely. The surrounding forest was beautiful. Never heard any noise the entire time!
- Cleanliness was superb. As clean as our own home, so it was perfect!
- Location was great. Didn't take long for us to get to the Volcano, and the nearby restaurants were only 5 minutes or less away.
- The chubby kitty came to greet us every morning. It is very cute.
- Free high-speed internet and free parking.

Negatives:
The only slight issue I had was that the pillow was very firm and plump (high), so my neck was kind of achy from sleeping. The bed itself was very comfortable, but not the pillow I had.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaMartinOriginals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

The Lotus Garden Cottages is a quiet relaxing haven set amongst lush vegetation. When we arrived we were greeted by “Hello Kitty” the cat who is adorable and often came by to say hello during our stay. John and Induck are very gracious, friendly, hosts who gave us a phenomenal recommendation for a lava tour which was an amazing experience we’ll never forget. The cottages are clean and spacious, and breakfasts were delicious - fresh fruits and pastries every day. This is the perfect place to stay when exploring the volcano national park and surrounding area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JK27nm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

The place is unique and charming. The hosts are very pleasant people. We've never stayed at B&B before and this one proved to be a great choice. We had Korean style room which was a new experience to us and that's why totally unforgettable.
And the main star is the Cat of course! He came to check on us twice and naturally attended our delightful breakfast (share some cream with him).

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V01ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

I am indebted to Trip Advisor reviewers for guiding us to the Lotus Garden Cottages. Everything in our beautiful cottage was exquisite and contributed to our serene and lovely stay. (One suggestion would be to include some dinnerware and utensils in the kitchenette.)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GammyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

I picked this spot randomly from Google and was initially a little bummed because it was off the main road of Volcano Village but turned out to be a blessing in disguise. To tell you the truth, once we arrived and settled in to our room, it was so nice we didn't even want to go to Volcano National Park. The Japanese architecture and decor was so relaxing and calming and the breakfast was great. John was a great host and you wont be disappointed, just read the guestbook in your room and see all the amazing notes people have left from all over the world. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stayed here for one night while in Volcano. The location is perfect! The room is very spacious and pretty. The bed was the best bed we had on the whole island. We stayed in the Aloha Moon. The private lanai looks over the driveway so it is not so private. There weren't any glasses or silverware in the room. Great fireplace. The breakfast was pretty good but nothing special. We had a nice time here but I am not sure if it was worth the money. We were lucky to get a good deal but I probably wouldn't pay $200 to stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceangirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.4 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
428 reviews
52.7 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.4 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 32 in Volcano
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
2.1 mi away
Volcano Rainforest Retreat
1.2 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 22 in Volcano
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Garden Cottages

Address: 19-4245 Kekoanui St, #213, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: $288 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lotus Garden Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Volcano Village, Lotus Garden Cottages Bed and Breakfast on the Big Island of Hawaii, offers an exquisite collection of luxurious hideaways, perfect for romantic getaways and retreats. Conveniently situated in Volcano Village, minutes from dining, galleries, this wonderful getaway offers a genuine and quaint experience of deep relaxation for visitors and local Island guests as well. Lotus Garden Cottages offers an elegance guests will enjoy year after year. Our private Volcano Hawaii Bed and Breakfast lodgings are replete with contemporary amenities you find in a fine hotel. Rich furnishings, plush king size beds and linens, outdoor hot tub, fresh local breakfast treats, private bath and wrap around lanai. Our unique cottages and suites provide the ultimate environment for complete relaxation and tranquility in exceptional comfort. We want to take the “work” out of your travel, and pamper your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lotus Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Garden Cottages Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing