We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay in Lush Tropical Surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Volcano Inn Cottages
Ranked #15 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Friday Harbor, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay in Lush Tropical Surroundings”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had the great fortune to find the Volcano Inn family cottage quite by accident, after a long day of touring Volcano National Park. The roomy one bedroom "Gecko" cottage was tucked away in a lush tropical jungle, replete with anthuriums and giant tree ferns. We were delighted to have a well equipped, nearly full kitchen (minus a stove, but with a microwave). We loved the privacy, and admired the decor and excellent craftsmanship displayed throughout the cottage. The cottage had everything we needed, and we hope to return next year! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eclipse41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    19
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
13
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the Volcano Inn for six nights in early November. The purpose of our stay was hiking Volcanoes National Park. We could not have chosen a better location nor a better property. The large, corner room we had was a few blocks away from the main inn in a quiet, beautiful spot complete with a hot tub! Everything about our stay was top notch! The room was clean, comfortable and cozy with a full kitchen and gas fireplace. When I researched the Inn online, the "more you stay, the less you pay" benefit helped me decide to stay there (plus the positive reviews on TripAdvisor!). I must say, though, the photos on their website don't really do the rooms justice. I was prepared for more humble accommodations. When we walked into our room, it was a "wow!" moment. Conveniently located near the park, great restaurants nearby, and a serene setting. A truly exceptional experience!

Room Tip: Volcano Inn has a wide variety of room types. We chose a large, corner room because of the length of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

There are no hotels in Volcano Village. Lots of B&Bs to choose from but the most interesting ones apparently get booked several months in advance. The national park hotel on the edge of the crater was closed for renovations so that may have had something to do with the scarcity plus it was the week after Ironman and we saw several racers having some downtime with their families. Plan ahead.

Volcano Inn is a good value at its price point. We spent two nights there. Inexpensive, simple and clean. For a few dollars more we stayed in two rooms on the top floor (3rd) of the main building. Very spacious rooms. Breakfast is not included but very good. Bed seemed overly firm to us. There is a hot tub but we didn't try it. Recommend dinner at the Kilauea Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanCalypso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandler
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Volcano Inn for three nights while hiking at Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park. The room was beautiful. There is a table in a corner window that looks out over a lush tropical space. We had a small room with two beds. It was the perfect size since we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. There was no air-conditioning but we didn't need it; there was a dehumidifier that made the room quite comfortable. They have a "take off your shoes" policy that I wasn't crazy about until I realized how clean the room was without us tracking in mud and dirt from our daily hikes. The owners are nice and obviously love what they do. The room was decorated with maps of the volcano from the geological survey (I ordered one when we got home). One day we had breakfast at the Inn and found it to be too slow. However, the food was wonderful and the presentation outstanding. I would love to go there and spend the whole morning lounging over food and coffee, but it didn't work for us since we were in a hurry to go hiking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuna, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I just returned from 8 days on the Big Island, all of them spent at Volcano Inn. There are several buildings with rooms available in the Inn complex. With direction from Ron, the owner, we chose the "Volcano" room. This was a lovely, very large room on the 2nd floor of one of the buildings across the highway from the main building. It had a very comfortable king size bed; a full kitchen with all utensils and cookware needed; walk-in shower; gas fire place; and windows around 3 sides looking onto the rain forest. Ron loaned us a cooler, so we were able to use this as our home base to explore most of the island. One of the main reasons we chose this Inn was the "longer you stay, the less you pay" price, but found it was truly a gem. Probably the only real negative, (which is in no way the owners fault) was the neighbor dogs that would start barking every morning about 6 AM, and would not let up. Otherwise, this was a truly wonderful experience, and we would recommend this Inn to anyone, regardless of the length of stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njl6d80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed one night in a room on the ground level of the main building. Our room had a large mirror on the ceiling! We thought it was fun, but maybe this room isn't for everyone! Otherwise nothing fancy, but a nice atmosphere and great location. In response to other reviews commenting on noise- I didnt notice any disturbing noise from other guests or the highway. No fridge in room ,but you can use one in the common room. The rooms are not heated, so it was a little chilly in the evening. Guests are asked to run the in room dehumidifiers, and by morning it was necessary due to condensation on the windows. The bathroom was small but adequate. The Inn gets its water supply from rain runoff from the roof (I assume it is then filtered and heated) ,and asks guests to be mindfully of water overuse.This is nice ecologically. There is a hot tub which some in our party did use. Available Breakfast in the morning was fantastic -a delicious omelette and muffin. We were ready for a day of exploring after that!

Room Tip: Room on the ground level of the main building has a large mirror on the ceiling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaltimoreBetty11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My family stayed here for 2 nights as we traveled around the big island and wished could have stayed longer. This is a beautiful place, close to the national park. There is a small farm next door but the only evidence of this is a rooster that crows in the morning. The room was airy and the most comfortable bed I have slept in besides my own. Soft comforters, gorgeous woodwork and the best coffee on the island! Friendly staff, too and a terrific breakfast for a decent price.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parishes654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
404 reviews
2.3 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
870 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
869 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#7 of 31 in Volcano
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Inn Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Inn Cottages

Property: Volcano Inn Cottages
Address: 19-3820 Old Volcano Rd., Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have nine cottage-style units beautifully nestled in the rain forest of Volcano Village, Hawaii. All rooms have private bathrooms, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Our larger, family, units have kitchenettes and gas fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Volcano Inn Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Hotel Volcano
Volcano Inn Cottages Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing