We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Claudia's Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volcano Guest House
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Claudia's Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

This review is simply to provide fellow traveler's a little more information regarding Claudia's Place than appears on Volcano Guest House's website.

Overall, VGH did well as a B&B for the area. The location was very convenient to the town (not walking distance though) and Volcano national park. The breakfast, while not prepared, certainly had enough options and was enjoyable. It's availability throughout the day was convenient. Fresh papaya and apple bananas were a nice local touch. The room itself was clean and the bed comfortable. If you desire any form of privacy, however, I would recommend one of the other cottages. The website floorplan shows what appears to be a cute two room place with a private bath and a porch shared with the main house. In reality, the porch is used as a lobby for the property and is where all other guests come to check-in, check-out, ask questions/directions and peruse the travel books available for use. The porch does not contain a table or chairs and cannot be used as a place to sit and relax. In addition, the location just off what functions as a lobby means you will hear people coming in/out starting at 6-7 AM when the owners start their daily routine. The walls are very thin so you'll be able to hear any conversations between the owners and other guests in the morning about checking out or things to do in the area. On our one night stay this meant being woken up throughout the moring. You should not expect to sleep in or have a quiet leisurely morning. The reverse is also true....most of your noise will be heard by anyone in the porch/lobby area (the bathroom shares a wall and window with the porch). I would have no problem recommending the VGH to other traveler's and hope the owner's update their website to make sure people have an idea what to expect.

I would ask the owners to consider removing the porch from the description or replacing it with common area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogalland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    58
    25
    2
    3
See reviews for
65
62
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

This is a great, reasonably priced B&B close to the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Super clean and with very friendly owners. Much of the B&B was recently built and is located on a lovely space right outside of Volcano. A+A+.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoscoePinscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed one night and were quite pleased. A bit hard to find but worth it (also, we forgot our directions). Room opala 1, 2 twin beds, private bath, shared kitchen facilities (if desired). The breakfast lanai is open 24/7 and we went and got milk about 11 pm. Breakfast is self-serve and consists of oatmeal, cereal, fruit, bagels, english muffins, juice, coffee, etc. Very laid back and relaxed. Would have appreciated a bit more info on seeing volcano at night but other than that, really nice and a great value for the money ($105 per night).

Stayed January 2011
Helpful?
Thank tnnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

We stayed in the Olapa house at the Volcano Guest House. The house was immaculately clean and well stocked with the basics -- dishes, cups, glasses etc. Also several unexpected amenities such as TVs in the bedrooms with DVD players and an assortment of DVDs available at the check-in office. A very nice breakfast including fresh local fruit was available on the breakfast lanai. After a day of hiking at nearby Volcanoes National Park, it was terrific to come back and luxuriate in the jacuzzi hot tub which was very clean, nice and hot, and adjacent to a shower stocked with soap, shampoo and towels. The grounds are well maintained with gravel paths meandering through tall ferns with antheriums and statuary. Our hosts were very friendly and accomodating. We loved our stay and told Bonnie, our host that we would come back whereupon she invited us to take a look at all the other rooms. We had stayed in the Olapa house which I would say we liked the best but every other option was equally clean and well stocked. In summary, you can't go wrong at Volcano Guest House. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaAo683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

I did not find this place in most of the Hawaii books I read, and the authors are missing a real find. Only a couple easy miles from VNP, but I would consider this as a place to stay if I wanted a unique, away from it all place to park myself for visits to the Hiio area as well. For a group, Olapa was great - three rooms (two with a king bed and one with two twin beds) - and three bathrooms - all decorated very tastefully and with touches of Hawaii. Comes with a ktichen and a great front porch with a table. It rained when we were there, but it didnt matter since the inside of the house was so inviting and there is a hot tub in the breakfast lanai. Some reviews speak to an unsatisfying breakfast, but for the price we were satisfied with the simple choices of yogurt, oatmeal, cereal, muffins, bagels, fruit, and juices. Tea, hot chocolate, and popcorn were in the house, and we took full advantage of that when we arrived. We all wished we had spent more than one night there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNcustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

We only stayed one night in the Olapa House, and we wished we had stayed more! It was perfect accommodations for my 3 kids, my mom and my husband and me. It was clean and comfortable, and the grounds were lush and beautiful. This property is kept up very neatly and the owers were very attentive. We stayed here to see the Volcano National Park which is super close! SUCH a good, hospitable experience! We would definitely stay here again! Mahalo!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broad Run
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed in one of the cabins at this property. The hosts were friendly and helpful and the property is kid friendly with a very kid friendly dog! The beds were comfortable and the blankets were heavenly. Just minutes from Volcano National Park, we had easy access to sightseeing but enjoyed the quiet of this pleasant property nestled in the beautiful, abundant flora native to this area. Kindof no frills but perfect B&B for visiting the park.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank futureHIresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
2.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
3.4 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Guest House

Property: Volcano Guest House
Address: 11-3733 Ala Ohia Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Guest House is 12 acres of high-altitude tropical rainforest and farm, with three cottages, two apartments, and two big houses that rent whole or by the bedroom. Ten minutes from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, perfectly placed eco-accommodations to enjoy the wonders of an active volcano, and the native environments in this International Biosphere Reserve. Line-dried linens, solar-assisted hot water, free breakfast/snacks 24/7. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Guest House Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing