We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B in the rainforest”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volcano Guest House
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Beautiful B&B in the rainforest”
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed in a wonderful room in our own cottage with a kitchen, living area, bathroom and comfortable bed. The innkeepers are very conscientious about leaving a smaller ecological footprint, which was very refreshing when travelling. The self serve Breakfast Lanai was well stocked and we were encouraged to help ourselves to snacks whenever we wanted. Volcano Village was close by, and the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park was about 5 minutes away by car. Beautiful, quiet location in the lush tropical rainforest!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    58
    25
    2
    3
See reviews for
65
62
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
milano
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

One of the best hotel (guest house) ever seen !
i've been here for 4 days.
they offer wonderful rooms with shared kitchens
a grat breakfast and all the amenities and conforts you will ever need
It's like to be at home and you will never get disturbed by owners, they privede also self check in and out, you you will feel really free to do what you want.
I just suggest to check the rooms map in their website and choose the biggers, because they are really amazing for a bit more price
you will find all you need: complete kitcken, refridgerator, microwave, coffemaker, free wireless internet, television, dvd, books, stereo music, umbrellas, flashlights, SPA, washing machine and much more.
the position is 1 mile from volcano visitor center

all is perfect !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thor_odt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed in one of the "Twins" cabins and my sister's family stayed in the other for a 3-night stay during a family reunion. The kids ran around safely and happily - it felt like we were camping but it was much more comfortable than that. The cabin was clean, well-equipped and comfortable and Bonnie and her husband were very accommodating. It was close enough to Volcano National Park that we could just pop over to the park for various programs. We made use of the kitchen facilities, hot tub and snacks and we also enjoyed meeting fellow guests, including previous reviewer PZJazz.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyinghikoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We rented the Akala cottage for our family of 6 -- grandparents, parents, children (8 & 3). It is cosy, neat, and immaculate and very reasonably priced. While it is not big or luxurious, there's a full kitchen, 3 bedrooms, 3 baths, plus loft and lanai. Also has washer/dryer. Owners Bonnie and Alan are helpful, available, and friendly. There are books and toys to borrow, plus plenty of umbrellas (it is in the rainforest after all). Breakfast lanai offers plentiful supply of food, with fresh fruit always available, and opportunity to meet other guests. Convenient headquarters for visits to national park, lava viewing site, and observatory. We were all very pleased.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PZJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Room was well equipped with full kitchen. Close to Volcanoes National Park. Loads of delicious fresh fruit . At 3500 ft. elevation, it was nice and cool for sleeping. Very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We actually stayed October 2008. If you are looking for a place to stay in the middle of a RAIN FORREST this is your place! With that said, yes it is a much cooler temp then in Kona. HELLO you are in the middle of a Rain Forrest! Yes, it does rain here, A LOT, again, Rain Forrest people! We stayed in Claudia's Cottage. It is perfect if you are looking for a comfortable bed, kitchen and private bath. No, this is not The Sheraton but then, you are not going to pay Sheraton prices. Bonnie, the owner is wonderful and very accomodating. If you need something just ask, she will likely be able to provide you with what you need. Yes, they do provide breakfast, no they don't "serve" breakfast. If you are looking for a 5 star restaurant, look elsewhere. We stayed for 15 nights and we will be returning in April/May 2011 for another 18 night stay. Bottom line, it's cozy, accomodating and very affordable. We love the place and the owners!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannieDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alameda
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Great place especially if you want to visit the Volcanos National Park.
This place has EVERYTHING to make your stay happy! Their little "basic necessities" are great. They even have board games available! Bonnie & Alan (innkeepers) are great sources of "local info!"

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beebopthetop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
3.4 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
860 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
402 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
863 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
305 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Guest House

Property: Volcano Guest House
Address: 11-3733 Ala Ohia Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Guest House is 12 acres of high-altitude tropical rainforest and farm, with three cottages, two apartments, and two big houses that rent whole or by the bedroom. Ten minutes from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, perfectly placed eco-accommodations to enjoy the wonders of an active volcano, and the native environments in this International Biosphere Reserve. Line-dried linens, solar-assisted hot water, free breakfast/snacks 24/7. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Guest House Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing