We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volcano Guest House
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 24, 2010

I have never stayed in a "B&B" where the breakfast, no matter how meager, was not served; breakfast here was a toaster, a bagel and a jar of peanut butter (creamy). The "cottages" were under-heated and apparently "sun dried" towels equates to sandpaper.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookiexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vgh, owner at Volcano Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2010

We are very sorry you were disappointed.

It is true, we do not serve breakfast. Our Breakfast Lanai is open for breakfast and snacks all the time - bagels, muffins, cream cheese, butter, local jelly, and yes, peanut butter and honey, cereal, milk, half & half, cocoa, local papayas and bananas, coffee, tea, orange juice, popcorn. We put them out in the early morning and put the chill stuff away mid-morning in the little fridge right there, so during the rest of the day and night, guests can help themselves, and easily clean up after themselves by putting their dishes in the dishwasher, and their food scraps in the bowl for the ducks. Our Zojirushi Thermal coffeemaker keeps coffee hot all day without a heating element. The spa is right there, so it is easy for groups to hang out together. We go for casual and flexible, for people who get up early to go hiking or late-rising teenagers. Or groups that want to cook together.

We provide heated mattress pads as well as room heaters, to keep guests toasty and to be environmentally responsible. We do ask guests be mindful. We have been doing eco-tourism since 1986, and pride ourselves on using 1/3 of the fossil fuel energy per comfortable guest.

Our towels were scratchy, because they are line-dried. We have done a lot of research and replaced them with towels designed to be very absorbent and still quick drying on our clotheslines. They are custom-colored by local fabric artist Lori Pasco. And they have turned out to be less scratchy when right off the line, for people not used to line-drying. We like them so much, we are thinking of getting more to make available for sale to our wonderful green guests.

We want happy guests. if you want upscale luxury and romance we can recommend some great places in Volcano. If you want casual comfort in a beautiful, private, sustainable setting, at a great price, we welcome you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Volcano Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 182 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2010

The Mahalo Hawaiian Retreat is a very nice setting, a bit remote, and very quiet. On the bad side, the bathroom was not clean, full of black sand from earlier guests. The water kettle in the kitchen was so rusty, we decided not to use it. The worst was that they promised breakfast, so we did not bring any from one of the big towns. However, the caretaker insisted that it was not included, even though we had a print-out of the email that promised the breakfast. Finally, he brought us breakfast for one morning (as a courtesy, he told us). As we stayed for four nights and as in Volcano there are only two rather small supermarkets, overpriced and not with a really good selection, basically, we ran out of food.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmorgens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I would recommend this to a large group or someone who is looking for a quiet spot for reading or meditation. That said, personally, I wouldn't stay here again. Next time, I will pay more for accommodations that are a little cleaner, fresher-feeling, and more charming.

We enjoyed the fact that the grounds are very secluded and peaceful. Here's a few additional items to add to what has already been written about this place:

1. Gary, the property's caretaker, is great. We really enjoyed listening to his stories about the property. He took time to show us around and provide recommendations about the local restaurants. Everything that he said about them turned out to be true.

2. It is important to note (and this is mentioned on their website) that you're just renting a room in a house. You will definitely run into your housemates if there are any. We were lucky enough to have the whole Mana house to ourselves; however, we likely would have not enjoyed our stay as much had there been any housemates.

Either of the houses would be ideal for a large family that needs private sleeping areas but still wanted a common space to eat and talk.

3. The Rainforest suite is a little stuffy. The big windows in the bedroom do not open (although the sliding door does), so it is not possible to get a cross-breeze through the room. As a result, the room felt a little stale.

In addition, there were old toenail clippings on the bathroom floor. Honestly, this grossed me out and kind of ruined the place for me.

4. In the Mana house, there is a community kitchen available for use. Full fridge, range, oven. No microwave.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theregularguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

This lovely 3 bedroom house with a yoga dojo was just what we needed as a retreat from our busy lives. The grounds were luscious rainforests with a tranquil harmonious energy resonating within. We felt very at home and welcomed. The yoga studio was beautiful and our family did yoga almost every day. We would definitely visit this unique property again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Java395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

My wife and I stayed in one of the twins for two nights. Place was big, own kitchen, fridge, parking space...setting is in a lush plant filled environment. Its pretty quiet located about 5 minute drive from the volcano national park. GET DIRECTIONS!!!! if it is foggy at night, it is difficult to spot the road... other than that, yes they could use softer towels, but all in all considering the proximity to the park (which we wanted) thought it was a good, solid choice....

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

We loved how roomy the Ohana house is at Mahalo, we were able to invite another couple from Kona to come up and stay with us for a few nights. The setting is perfect and tranquil, the accommodations are perfect. Everything we needed was right there! Gary was a great help and made us feel welcome. I don't think I've had as good a night's sleep in months! Very romantic.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslandBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

The good - proximity to volcanoes national park (less than 5 min.); quiet; very friendly staff; breakfast and snack foods available

The bad - lack of heat/hot water;

I was unprepared for the cool weather. the handbook in the unit advises you to conserve electricity because it is very expensive there. There was only an electric radiator heater in one of the rooms and i felt guilty for running it. Luckily there were electric blankets for when i went to sleep. The hot water was almost non existant because it was solar, with an electric back up. I may have not worked the back up system right, and once again, felt guilty for doing so.
the unit had a nicely stocked kitchen, so for longer stays, cooking is an option.
It may seem a bit pricey, but i am convinced it is a good deal for the area.

In summary, if you are a B&B person and into the eco thing - this is a place for u. If you are used to four star accomodations - look elsewhere

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marieatta_pman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
3.4 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
911 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 21 in Volcano
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 21 in Volcano
309 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lava Pond Lodge
Lava Pond Lodge
#9 of 32 in Volcano
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Guest House

Address: 11-3733 Ala Ohia Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: $115 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Guest House is 12 acres of high-altitude tropical rainforest and farm, with three cottages, two apartments, and two big houses that rent whole or by the bedroom. Ten minutes from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, perfectly placed eco-accommodations to enjoy the wonders of an active volcano, and the native environments in this International Biosphere Reserve. Line-dried linens, solar-assisted hot water, free breakfast/snacks 24/7. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Guest House Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing