We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Volcano Guest House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Volcano
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano House(Hawaii Volcanoes National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
93
59
25
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
59
25
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwin cottagesvolcano villageb btropical paradisegrounds are beautifulfive minutesalanecolanaisettingunitinnkeepersprivacywoods
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 182 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Beautiful setting and peaceful. Good location for Volcano NP. We stayed in the Cottage. Breakfast was disappointing after having lovely fresh fruit and yoghurt at our last place of stay in Hilo before going to Volcano. We didn't get a set of keys to lock our door but didn't worry about it in the end as the place seemed safe enough. Comments about the owners not being over friendly were true. We found you could only access the wifi if you went to the sign in lobby. Laundry facilities were good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masterofthemkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Lovely location in a residential neighborhood. A 10 minute drive to the park. The property and gardens Beautiful , and the common room for breakfast provided nice morning coffee,ripe papaya (I love the papaya ripening closet) as well as hard-boiled eggs and peanut butter and bananas and toasting bagels.We had The twin bedroom in Okala. While the room and the kitchen&common space was fine, the bathroom& sheets clean, our actual beds were extremely uncomfortable. That is my only complaint.

Room Tip: Ask if there any bedrooms with new mattresses.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We rented the Akala guest house for five adults; it allowed us to have a good 'home base' for exploring volcano national park. The breakfast lanai offered sufficient 'self serve' breakfast and snacks (cinnamon bread, fruit, cereal - the basics).

Like all structures in such a climate, the rain forest is eager to 'take it back' and there is some tendency for the place to feel a little damp.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyeager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for four nights, in the Upstairs in the main building. The choice of staying in Volcano Village was a good one as it allowed us 1) to visit the national park any number of times, including at night time, without any need for planning; and 2) to drive down to the Puna coast in a moderate amount of time, for instance to take a lava boat tour (driving to the coast takes about 1-1.5 hours, depending on where you want to go).

The guest house is nicely tucked away in the rain forest, quite a distance away from the highway and the "downtown" part of Volcano Village. While we were there we saw both Alan and Bonnie a couple of times, and although they were certainly friendly and answered all our questions, they either did not have the time, or were not inclined for longer chats. Except at breakfast time we also did not see much of the other guests, so that in the end it almost felt as if we had the entire place to ourselves.

It rained quite a lot, although not heavily, and temperatures felt chilly in the night. Being such a wet place, it was necessary to keep the windows open during the day to keep the mould out. Unfortunately, open windows + fresh air = cold rooms when you get back from a day trip in the evening.

A few other points:
- Good breakfast with fresh fruit. The breakfast lanai is a large room, if you look around you will find plenty of food.
- Small kitchen in the Upstairs so you can prepare your own food (we only made soup)
- Extremely (!) comfortable and cozy beds, making it even harder than usual to get up in the morning
- Free wi-fi
- Friendly dog :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank herzbube102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were in one bedroom in a separate cottage for just one night but it was like feeling at home. Extremely clean and with everything you may need! It is not in the center of volcano village but you don't miss that much as there is no life there either.
They have an open room for breakfast and snacks where you an cater during all day long... Really a detail!
The place is charmful , in the middle of a great garden...

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Pepaypepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews